Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chargrilled.co.uk funny t-shirts

• 21-09-2016 12:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭

They have a 3 for 2 on everything on their website and then I found a 20% off code SORRY20, so for 3 t-shirts it came to £23.92 and they've free shipping to Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Are they good quality shirts? How's sizing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭alastair_doom

If you're feeling lucky, you can order 9 random shirts for £23.92 using the offers in the first post:

https://www.chargrilled.co.uk/t-shirts/Mystery-T-Shirts-t-shirt.m

If you're feeling lucky, you can order 9 random shirts for £23.92 using the offers in the first post:

Yeah, was thinking the same thing..

.. though there's only a handful of ones on the site I'd probably wear.

In saying that, it does work out at €3 a shirt... but the chance of getting 9 vests is the worry! :D

EDIT: Ah feck it.. ordered 3 x Black, 3 x Navy, 3 x Grey for €3.21 a shirt via Paypal... am concerned that the invoice didn't indicate colour so might pop them an e-mail on that:

"Product Name: Mystery T-Shirts
    Quantity: 1
    Unit Price: £14.95
    Product Name: Mystery T-Shirts
    Shipping : FREE!
    Discounts : £20.93
    Grand Total : £23.92"

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

ordered, thank you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

Don't know about the quality etc to be honest, just trying to get organised nice & early for the C word. I give my brothers a funny t-shirt every year as part of their presents, so I can cross that off the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭fdevine

I don't need one funny t-shirt let alone NINE but I've ordered nine anyway. Thanks OP :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Basq wrote: »
    Yeah, was thinking the same thing..

.. though there's only a handful of ones on the site I'd probably wear.

In saying that, it does work out at €3 a shirt... but the chance of getting 9 vests is the worry! :D

EDIT: Ah feck it.. ordered 3 x Black, 3 x Navy, 3 x Grey for €3.21 a shirt via Paypal... am concerned that the invoice didn't indicate colour so might pop them an e-mail on that:

"Product Name: Mystery T-Shirts
    Shipping : FREE!
    Discounts : £20.93
    Grand Total : £23.92"

Mine was the same but when you check on your order now it will have colour in description etc.

jonnycivic wrote: »
    Mine was the same but when you check on your order now it will have colour in description etc.
    Cool. See that now alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭davidom2513

Great deal, thanks OP

Ordered 9 mystery t shirts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,001 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

took the plunge on the 9 for £23 , looking through the various, probably about half I would wear, hopefully will get lucky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

None of those are very good, and I'd say the 9 shirt deal is an excuse to shift the worst of the tees.

At €3 a t shirt, its still good value regardless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

Yeah, 3 quid for potentially a yellow " if found return to pub" vest doesn't seem to be that good a bargain.

€3 for plain t shirts would be a good deal.

€3 for a t shirt with a mystery slogan is not a good deal.
    You could get 9 "how I met your mother" stripper pole tshirts.

It's nearly winter. We can wear them under our jumpers/hoodies/sweatshirts :D

They even have a t-shirt specifically for under ones Crimbo jumper LOL

Once I don't get a "granddad" one I don't mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

It's reaaaally not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,554 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Was going to buy as well, but reading some bad reviews on trustpilot about the quality of the shirts has made me change my mind.

Sounds like they use the cheapest shirts they can which is unacceptable for the prices they have listed..

Oat23 wrote: »
    Was going to buy as well, but reading some bad reviews on trustpilot about the quality of the shirts has made me change my mind.

Sounds like they use the cheapest shirts they can which is unacceptable for the prices they have listed..
    Can only see one negative review about quality of shirts on TrustPilot..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,554 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Can only see one negative review about quality of shirts on TrustPilot..

I see two from 14.
    When the t-shirts arrived they were cheap thin material with an iron on transfer which I could have produced myself for half the price. Although I didn't pay the full asking price, these t-shirts normally sell for a whopping £17.95! For that price I would expect Fruit of the Loom quality. Overpriced rubbish. Do yourself a favour, go to a supermarket and buy a t-shirt for a couple of quid and buy a transfer for a pound and you will have the same result for a fraction of the price.
    One wash, no tumble dry, shirt loses two sizes. Do not buy from here.

I've had cheap shirts from aliexpress do the same on a 30C wash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭bigmike99

jonnycivic wrote: »
    ordered, thank you :)

Ya i think id prefer 9 plain tshirts. But i guess if there is even 2 that you really like and one or two more wearable and rest for bed its a good deal.
    It probably all the older slogan prints that arent trending anymore.

Please report back on what you got and the quality. maybe even a picture of the lot if someone can do that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Ah the classic 'I have no imagination or original thoughts so I buy t-shirts with over-long "witty" paragraphs written by other people in order to look like I have a personality of my own' wardrobe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Ah the classic 'I have no imagination or original thoughts so I buy t-shirts with over-long "witty" paragraphs written by other people in order to look like I have a personality of my own' wardrobe.

Said the guy who uses a phrase from Digitiser teletext as his username, real retro dude. Stop boasting that you used teletext :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Those shirts are so cringe...

bigmike99 wrote: »
    Ya i think id prefer 9 plain tshirts. But i guess if there is even 2 that you really like and one or two more wearable and rest for bed its a good deal.
    It probably all the older slogan prints that arent trending anymore.

Please report back on what you got and the quality. maybe even a picture of the lot if someone can do that :)

Yeah, this would be great, just to see the calibre of the slogan.

Just received shipment notification there.. quite quick!

Will post back here when I receive with what I got... could be potential for swapsies too if anyone is up for it! :D

Same here. Quick turnaround. Any granddads on boards to swap with if I happen to get 3 or 4 grandfather slogan Ts?

Got my shipping mail too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Eoin247

Unless you really don't mind what's on the shirts you get, i'd really advise against getting the mystery t-shirt deal. 99% of the time these kind of deals are used to get rid of "dud" items that didn't sell. Also while there are some nice t-shirts on there, i think most people on here wouldn't wear the majority of the t-shirts on the site.

Good man, thats the spirit. Strangely I'm very excited to see what people got.

Yeah, meh. Fine for under jumpers.

1 related to Modern Family, 1 related to Sons Of Anarchy, the rest are either evolution of man to cycling / emptying bins / some strange wrestling grapples, 1 saying I Heart My Mouse (:confused:). Most seem to be in the remit of cycling or hockey! :)

Yeah, meh. Fine for under jumpers.

1 related to Modern Family, 1 related to Sons Of Anarchy, the rest are either evolution of man to cycling / emptying bins / some strange wrestling grapples, 1 saying I Heart My Mouse (:confused:). Most seem to be in the remit of cycling or hockey! :)

I eagerly await getting home to see what mine turn out to be haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

You already received? Cool, hopefully mine will be there when I get home so. Do they feel like crap quality?

Oral Slang wrote: »
    You already received? Cool, hopefully mine will be there when I get home so. Do they feel like crap quality?
    They feel like the same quality as you get from most printed T-shirts companies.. probably not quite as good as Qwertee, similar to Teebusters.

EDIT: Just an FYI, from a quick search, I'd say most of the ones we've gotten aren't even on the website anymore / being printed..

Can they be returned if you don't like them?

Edit: Yes you can.

"If you are not entirely satisfied with the product please return your unworn and unwashed item within 30 days of checkout to:

FREEPOST CHARGRILLED CLOTHING LTD"

Where's the rest of the address? Will that suffice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,155 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Can they be returned of you don't like them?

Yes, but you will have to pay for the return. Faulty goods are returned for free, change of mind usually requires paying.

It states this on the Mystery T-Shirt page:
    All mystery items cannot be returned for a refund or to be exchanged.

I got a few "Hodor" ones, an evolution of a cyclist, "I have too many bicycles said nobody ever" and a few other ones. Not too bad overall.

Mixed bag as expected. Happy with 4 or 5 of them.

Wrestling (is the answer....), drumming (eat, sleep, drum....), evolution of swimming..... all for painting in, sleeping in or under jumpers unless the big multi-coloured chargrilled swap shop thread starts LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,001 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

meh too, 3 or 4 evolution ones, a couple of keep calm ones. the t shirts do seem decent quality though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭obriendj

same as me
    4 evolution ones
    1 keep calm
    the bike one.
    SAMCO

Quality seems ok.
    Also the colours are random and not what I ordered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭peckerhead

I recently bought a 10-pack of heavy duty plain FOTL tees (don't ask me exactly what thread count or grams/m2, but they're damn well made) for £17 on Amazon (with free delivery). I still reckon that's a better bargain at €2 a pop than these yokes... and I got to pick my colours. A man my age can't be going around in anything too flamboyant! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭pinksoir

"funny" t-shirts.

Did anyone think it was worth it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Kat1170

peckerhead wrote: »
    I recently bought a 10-pack of heavy duty plain FOTL tees (don't ask me exactly what thread count or grams/m2, but they're damn well made) for £17 on Amazon (with free delivery). I still reckon that's a better bargain at €2 a pop than these yokes... and I got to pick my colours. A man my age can't be going around in anything too flamboyant! :pac:

How'd you manage to get free delivery. Did you add stuff or was it someone selling in Az that offered free delivery ??

obriendj wrote: »
    Also the colours are random and not what I ordered.

Same here actually. Ordered 3x white, 3x light blue & 3x grey. Not one of the shirts are any of those colours LOL. Emailed their CS so see how that goes. I feel a PayPal dispute brewing.

In short, no, not worth it.

fdevine wrote: »
    Same here actually. Ordered 3x white, 3x light blue & 3x grey. Not one of the shirts are any of those colours LOL. Emailed their CS so see how that goes. I feel a PayPal dispute brewing.

In short, no, not worth it.
    They specified on the Mystery Shirts page that they can't guarantee colour..
    Please note that due to demand we cannot guarantee that any colour t-shirt will be available, regardless of your selection. All t-shirts are randomly selected. All mystery items cannot be returned for a refund or to be exchanged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Eoin247

How do people feel about the fit?

I wasn't expecting much tbh, but the dimensions of the t-shirts i got are a bit odd. They're fairly tight around the arms but extremely wide and long near the base of the t-shirt.

The actual quality of the shirts aren't bad apart from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭obriendj

Eoin247 wrote: »
    How do people feel about the fit?

I wasn't expecting much tbh, but the dimensions of the t-shirts i got are a bit odd. They're fairly tight around the arms but extremely wide and long near the base of the t-shirt.

The actual quality of the shirts aren't bad apart from that.

I am not a fan of the shape around the neck I think its too right but did go a medium, the rest fits well so a little stretch could help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭peckerhead

Kat1170 wrote: »
    How'd you manage to get free delivery. Did you add stuff or...?
    Sorry, only saw this now. Yep, threw in a couple of USB cables/rechargeable batteries or some such add-on items (I usually keep a few of these in my 'saved for later' list).