Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luck penny

• 17-09-2016 6:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭

Am I just to old fashioned or have people just given up giving a luck Penney when you buy stock off them? It's not the money, it's the sentiment of passing on luck that matters to me. I bought 4 lots of ewes at a sheep sale and it did not seem to occur to the owner to offer me luck. Your views?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Would always give a luck penny in a private sale. Never in the mart though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

The young lads made out like bandits when we were restocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

Wasn't a mart. Private farm auction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Out of yard I'd offer otherwise no. Don't ask for it when I'd buy either tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Cattlepen wrote: »
    Wasn't a mart. Private farm auction

A private farm auction seems a little like the mart in that it lacks the one to one of the buyer and seller.
    I would give luck in the yard but not in the mart although was pleasantly surprised to get some in the mart last year after buying a pen of ewes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

Id always give it in a private sale and the odd time through the mart if the farmer had bid on a few. I'd always ask for it too in a private sale not for the money but the sentiment. I got a five cent coin on the last deal I done for near three grand. I thought it miserable but I was happy to get it.

Dont give a luck penny if the buyer annoys me-doesnt pay on the day

Who2 wrote: »
    Id always give it in a private sale and the odd time through the mart if the farmer had bid on a few. I'd always ask for it too in a private sale not for the money but the sentiment. I got a five cent coin on the last deal I done for near three grand. I thought it miserable but I was happy to get it.

I'm guessing you had to ask for the 5 cent too. Must've broke the sellers heart.

Yeh and he lucked at me like I'd two heads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Who2 wrote: »

Ah for fook sake. 5 cent. Some people are fair miserable

sea12 wrote: »
    only for rounding it could have been 2 cent :)

sea12 wrote: »

That's the thing, I want the luck not the money but then again maybe I'm just a superstitious fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Hate the luck penny craic , but usually give something if someone buys in the yard . Especially annoys me when someone looks for a "good " luck penny , why not just make a good deal and be happy with that ?

Do many of ye spit on the luck penny?

Bullocks wrote: »
    Hate the luck penny craic , but usually give something if someone buys in the yard . Especially annoys me when someone looks for a "good " luck penny , why not just make a good deal and be happy with that ?

Sometimes the good luck penny can make the deal. On the one hand the seller can say they got X for whatever they're selling while the buyer can say they got the amount of good luck penny back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Always give it and expect it if private sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I'd normally give it even at the mart if I knew who bought them. One fella in particular buys a good few of our bull weanlings year in year out and I always throw him 20 quid after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

Generally give €10 on most sales from the yard. Selling pedigree stock bulls I always give €50. Never at the mart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

A Luck Penny for y'all. Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

Wouldn't care if I was only given 5c. It's only the luck passed on that I want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Base price

whelan2 wrote: »
    Do many of ye spit on the luck penny?
    Due to EU regulations I don't spit any more in case of a cross compliance inspection.
    Feckin difficult to find anyone with a good spit to seal a deal nowdays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Always give it here in some shape or form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Base price wrote: »
    Due to EU regulations I don't spit any more in case of a cross compliance inspection.
    Feckin difficult to find anyone with a good spit to seal a deal nowdays.

I accept that challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Always give a luck penny, if it's anything over €1000 it's usually €50 if I like the person, €20 if I feel they've robbed me.
    Have given it in marts too, if I had an animal unsold and knew who was buying that type of stock I'd go ask him to take a look at the anima and there'd be a luck penny if he bought.
    Any luck penny received with an animal will go towards the AI cost and if there's change then the remainder will be kept for the following year!

It's a nice tradition, no harm in it and I'd feel like a right arsehole/stingebag if didn't have the generosity to even hand over a fiver.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭restive

Bought some cattle at Roscommon Mart a few months back. When I paid by cheque the girl behind the counter gave me €10 luck. Was surprised to get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

restive wrote: »
    Bought some cattle at Roscommon Mart a few months back. When I paid by cheque the girl behind the counter gave me €10 luck. Was surprised to get it.

Must of been a lot of cattle you bought or else she fancied you. Would never see anything like that in the marts I go too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Must of been a lot of cattle you bought or else she fancied you. Would never see anything like that in the marts I go too

The odd fella (usually an older gentleman) would leave in a tenner or fiver to go with the man who bought an animal.
    Seen the auctioneer in Drumshanbo announce a tenner luck off the rostrim as well, must have been handed up by the seller!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Jonny303

Not quite the same but does anyone know can you buy "lucky penny" insurance here? I've only ever seen it at UK sales