Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Horse let into field

• 14-09-2016 8:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭

A piebald horse let into one of my fields on purpose. It's beside my parents house and farm yard. The owners are not the type you want around the place. Want to get rid of it straight away as these are not good people.

Can't catch the horse. As soon as you enter the field it goes racing. What's the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,205 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

let it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭tom_k

As soon as possible, contact the veterinary department of your local county council, my understanding is that they administer the control of horses Act. This act covers stray horses on private land. They should be able to tell you how to proceed, Gardai, pound etc.

Act as soon as you can because as you probably know, it wont be one horse for long and you'll have plenty of visitors looking at horse, tending to horse etc.

Good luck with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Not sure what part of the country you're in but here's a link to a page from Dublin south county council. Report it to your co. council I suppose.
    They'll check it for a microchip as well.

http://www.sdcc.ie/services/environmental-health/animal-control/horses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Call the pound? If you turn it out of field and an accident happens dunno would you be liable. Have heard of some lads using the bullet but wouldn'the go that route myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Mooooo wrote: »
    Call the pound? If you turn it out of field and an accident happens dunno would you be liable. Have heard of some lads using the bullet but wouldn'the go that route myself.

Yea we are near a motorway so could cause an accident.

Won't go out the gate anyway tried to run it into yard but not a hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

Good points above. Just to add when ever you do get it out put a big ass lock on the gate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Pound/guards won't do anything. If you let it out and seen your liable for any damage.
    Happened me a few years ago.
    Checked out all the options.
    Knew well who owned them. After a fee days I penned them in tight against road gate with tape electric wire.
    Them let it be known locally and through horse channels and hunt that they were penned up and had no access to water for a few days..
    3 hrs later they were gone.
    Once there is free grazing and water they will never be moved...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭poor farmer

I was gifted a mare and foal on to a rough outfarm. A nice black mare and a rusty coloured good big foal.
    I made my enquiries and cant get an owner. I have them two months now and i am afraid of the trouble that the might cause if I let them out.

Any ideas??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I was gifted a mare and foal on to a rough outfarm. A nice black mare and a rusty coloured good big foal.
    I made my enquiries and cant get an owner. I have them two months now and i am afraid of the trouble that the might cause if I let them out.

Any ideas??

Sell them in the balinasloe fair . You must have some patients to let them graze two months

Any ideas??

Get them registered and microchipped and put them up on donedeal.:)

Then again probably a lot of horses sold on donedeal are not even registered.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Bullocks wrote: »
    Sell them in the balinasloe fair

And when lads in a Hiace come knocking say you never saw horses in that field :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭outinthefields

Put a sign on the gate "Horse for Sale"

Sell them in the balinasloe fair . You must have some patients to let them graze two months

I bet anything they'll be checking for chips this year.
    Powers that be just want that fair closed down.
    Already back to 3 days and no show and no lunging competitions and no opening night.
    Cash doesn't leave a trail and the revenue don't like that.

If they did check for a chip and there is none could plead ignorance but I don't think it would work. That said maybe the horse is already chipped and registered to someone?? Doubt it though.

Noveight wrote: »
    And when lads in a Hiace come knocking say you never saw horses in that field :P

They left letters hanging on our gates before after their horses went missing from our place before !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

They all drive 05/06 avensis s now less conspicuous

They left letters hanging on our gates before after their horses went missing from our place before !

This doesn't sound good.
    What did it say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I said wrote: »

Plenty of them around here still happy to flash the cash.

Must be great money in piebald ponies ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

The avensis is the scouting car

Great money inside them moving between borders alright.:P

Ok i'll stop now.:pac:

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    This doesn't sound good.
    What did it say?

Friendly enough actually , they were sorry for letting in the horses in and one of them wasnt actually theirs but they really needed the stallion back and left their number for me to ring on . They're still waiting :D

I said wrote: »

I think they swapped for the cars because they couldnt get the commercial tax on the vans anymore :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Any ideas??
    Sell.

You could ring your lacal station and report finding a loose animal on the road, and could they come take it away as you dont want to be accused of rustling by having it on your land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Friendly enough actually , they were sorry for letting in the horses in and one of them wasnt actually theirs but they really needed the stallion back and left their number for me to ring on . They're still waiting :D

You must be a hardy coon. There's not too many places they'd continue waiting without some bit of escalation.

Might be worth your while investing in a trail cam. Put it up inside your gate and get snaps of these folks trespassing.

The man with the name of rising early can stay in bed all day !
    We've had a few run ins with them down through the years and I think they just know not to bother anymore .

You must be a hardy coon. There's not too many places they'd continue waiting without some bit of escalation.

They insulted me on another occasion terribly hoping I'd start but I didnt and neither will they unless you strike first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,717 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Take the gates off the field and bring them home.
    I bet they are keeping an eye on the horses and likely move them when they realise the field isn't secure.

Contact the council and also guards explaining the field they are on isn't secure and your worried an accident might happen.

_Brian wrote: »
    Take the gates off the field and bring them home.
    I bet they are keeping an eye on the horses and likely move them when they realise the field isn't secure.

Contact the council and also guards explaining the field they are on isn't secure and your worried an accident might happen.

The guards put them back into our place when they were on the road because the gates were taken down . They said because of safety that they had to put them into the first that was open to get them off the road . I found the guards as helpful as an ashtray on a motorbike in this case and they even knew who owned them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I think they swapped for the cars because they couldnt get the commercial tax on the vans anymore :D

Traveling men taxing their motors, in your dreams bullocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Future Farmer

Round our way (close to Dublin) farmers tend to:

First time get horse(s) in a shed lock them up for a few days (with out access to food) (the hr or 2 this may take tends to be well spent).
    Second time load the horse(s) up and head up the Sally Gap and let them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Not sure what part of the country you're in but here's a link to a page from Dublin south county council. Report it to your co. council I suppose.
    They'll check it for a microchip as well.

http://www.sdcc.ie/services/environmental-health/animal-control/horses

yup the pound is the only place for them. Some bellend thinks he'll get away without stabling it for the winter.

The sdcc know the rules but are slow to implement them in some cases. Theres some commanage above tallaght with 15 horses on it that shouldn't be there at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Conelan

Hi OP,
    Can only give you tips from our own experience. Had a wild one on our land a few years ago. Asked a local lad with really quiet pony to bring pony over to our place for a few mins. Wild fella out in the field was attracted over straight away- no running around after him. Have a shed with entry and exit door, got neighbour to lead the pony through it and wild fella followed. Needed to be lively to shut the doors while he was inside but got him. Pound came to take him away. Big tip- when talking to pound or council say the horse was a danger on public roadway and that you were just avoiding an accident occurring. If they hear the animal was coming off private property they wont budge. Best of luck