Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Invite a radio host to dinner

• 13-09-2016 3:48pm

To counterbalance the 'worst presenter' thread, what radio presenter would you most like to invite to dinner, or go for a pint with.

For me, I thought I might choose Tom Dunne (nice guy with some cool stories), Pat Kenny (my devotion to Pat is almost Marian in fervour), but I'm going to say John Creedon.

He has the sort of easygoing intelligence that is neither combative nor competitive (here I deducted marks for Pat), and can chat away effortlessly about sports, language (I love his tangents about Irish placenames), music, and (I suspect) politics, although he is courteous enough to avoid being overtly political on his radio show.

So who would you like to go for dinner or a pint with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Alas he is dead but Humphrey Lyttleton (the musician not gunpowder plotter) would certainly be top of the list, though I suspect the encounter would basically be me saying "tell me another"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'd invite two, Artie Lange and Jim Norton. Those guys just kill me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,958 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Ray and jp on a night out would be great craic I'd say. Jp would leave early and then you'd end up going for a kebab to end the night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

I'd invite Ray D'Arcy round for dinner, just so that I could throw him out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Tom Dunne and Ivan Yates, albeit the latter being an ex host, but he'll be back eventually.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Paula McSweeney.

Not for the conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭badgersbelief

Chris Barry, Adrian Kennedy and Niall Boylan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Mark Coleman and Dil

Larry Gogan. I'm sure he'd have some stories to tell. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Paris Attractive Boar

Paul McCloone or Matt Cooper - Howard Stern but id say he's mellowed out over the last few years

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Karsini wrote: »
    Larry Gogan. I'm sure he'd have some stories to tell. :)

He's bound to have lots of good oul' stories to tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

Gerry Ryan. He knew how to party!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,051 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Tom McSweeney, ex of Seascapes.

John Creedon, for all the reasons given above.

And that girl who occasionally presents Late Date and sometimes Risin' Time (not Lilian Smith - Marian something, maybe?) so she could pick the playlist for the evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭SouthernBelle

I have dinner with a radio host every night. ;)

Outside of that, I'd invite either Ian Dempsey or Matt Cooper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,051 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I have dinner with a radio host every night. ;)

Outside of that, I'd invite either Ian Dempsey or Matt Cooper.
    Ah here.... you can't just drop that in, all casual like, and then leg it!

Spill!!

(or at least give a hint!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

HeidiHeidi wrote:
    Ah here.... you can't just drop that in, all casual like, and then leg it!

I think they mean they have dinner alone, with the radio on.

I'd invite Foley, but not JP as I'd just be a third wheel. Maybe someone like Simon Mayo from BBC. If it has to be Irish then maybe one of the Off the Ball lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭roroliam

Andy Kershaw . Music and motorcycle racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Maybe Wogan or John Peel.

Here's Peel telling an anecdote involving himself, Robert Plant and The Goodies

I'd love to hear more of his stories

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Clam

You might find it a little bit difficult to get either Wogan or Peel to dinner. ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Fuzzy Clam wrote: »
    You might find it a little bit difficult to get either Wogan or Peel to dinner. ;-)

Ah sure, who's any good that's still breathing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

John Humphrys from BBC Radio 4, he has a lovely voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Chris Barry and Adrian Kennedy.

I'd be serving carelessly prepared fugu to start. If that didn't work I'd follow with a dessert of truffles in a strychnine jus.

Or John Peel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

Anton savage, he is knowledgeable about most thing, seems to have a great sense of humour and great taste in music. Think it would be a night of many laughs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭sheep?

John Kelly. I flippin' love talking about music.

But....there's also the danger of his dulcet tones putting me sleep. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bureau2009

The maestro of radio, Mr Gay Byrne. He's simply the best. Beautiful speaker who knows how to use his voice expertly, great respect for his listeners and always makes wonderful radio. And he has a very interesting life and knows anybody who's anybody. Plus he's getting on in years and won't be around forever, so now is the time to invite him to dinner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,189 ✭✭✭✭L1011

bureau2009 wrote: »
    great respect for his listeners

Just not for his guests, as many years of excruciating patronising interviews showed us