Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flat Screen Repair?

• 13-09-2016 11:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭

I'm getting conflicting opinions on this one .....

Story is this: I have a bloody great flat screen. Along the top is a vent grill. A winters worth of turf dust settled there ~ unbeknownst to me. Come spring clean? I reached up and ran a duster across it. All that heavy dust moved 5mm to the right and dropped into my TV!

When next I turned it on? Red light. Green .......... Back to red :( That's all she ever wrote. I did have a mate come round and blast it all out with compressed air. No change.

This is what I'd tell a TV repair man. If I could find one. I don't live in Dublin.

What say you, Boardies?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

It would depend really how much the tv is worth and how old it is as to whether it's worth having it looked at, a general look see and basic €20 worth or parts could be €100 plus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Mmm. See, I asked a local bloke who's generally into electrics. Not being funny but, I wondered if being German influenced his way of thinking (I've had other German mates and they do have a different mind set, on some issues).

He just said to throw it away and buy another one! Flat out! His reasoning actually being pretty much as you're saying.

What I was rather hoping for would be to be able to put my case to a TV Repair man. And him so say something along the lines of; " Oh, yeah. That'll be ye diode fuse. It'll have over heated. It can be replaced. Cost ye ..... "

I'd obviously wish to avoid some character who'd want it in. Spend a few days with it. Then tell me it's shot beyond repair. He can dispose of it for me, save me coming back to get its dead shell. And his bill is in the post. €200.00 as standard!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

see if that model is on sale second hand , that gives you a rough cost of what it's worth

sounds like the PSU , is it clicking ?

if you are lucky and like gambling you might buy the exact same model with a broken screen and mix/match power supply and screen , but YMMV and of course if you aren't technical it's best to avoid the Kill-O'Volts inside ,

flat screens are getting cheaper all the time , if it's an old TV might be better to put the timing down as coincidence and go bargain hunting

as with any technical query make/model might get a better answer in case there's known problems or a simple factory reset

..... as with any technical query make/model might get a better answer in case there's known problems or a simple factory reset

That's a very valid point! Damn. I hadn't thought of that :rolleyes:

Okay. I'll dig the receipt out and should be able to give chapter and verse. It's a Hitachi. Bought it in Argos, some years ago. But, ye have to realise I only got a bare six months use out of it. Purely PS2ing. Hate to think of slinging it, just for dust :(

Sorry. I'm actually freaking out here, in real life! Some f**king thing just gave a two tone 'Pah, pah' sound. Followed by a ' Ding a ling a dinga linga linga ling' sort of melody!!! I genuinely have no idea what it was. Phone doesn't seem to have done it. PS3's on stand by. Must have come from the computer speakers? Weird sh1t!

:eek: F**k Me!!! Here we go!

Hitachi 32" LCD TV. €585.99. Bought 07/02/09 (What ever that means, on an Argos receipt? But, yeah; 2009) Not a cheap one then!

Now, I Know ye'd like me to look at the back and get the model #? I just looked. Almost wish I hadn't. I've just seen seven years of bloody dust! Where ever that label is, beneath it all? I'd need a scraper to find it!

Can we just go, for now, with the fact that it's 2009ish, very expensive TV? " HD Ready ". I remember they said that, back then. No idea what that mean't either. Only bought it for the PS2.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

Powercity sell 32 inch TVs from €200 and a very good smart HD Samsung for €400 - could look at a second hand one but them what are you buying?

OP's TV is 9 years old and pre-dates Saorview.

Ye couldn't make this up! There is No bloody label on the back!!! :eek:

Seriously, lads. I've just gone over every inch of it with a damp cloth. More buttons and plug holes than mission control. But, not a sign of a sticker saying what model and serial number it is. I'm completely stumped.

Sam; And there's you, heading Recycling! Me disappoint! Maybe I'm old fashioned. But, I'm from an age and a culture where things were fixed, where ever possible. Then broken down and salvaged from when they were beyond hope.

The concept of saying, 'Six hundred? Six months light use? Sure, ye could buy a new one for a lot less now. Sling that one out.' It's just anathema to me.

I'm sure some bugger out there can fix it. Why else would they still promote themselves as " TV Repairs " :confused:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,186 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

if you're near dublin theres a TV repair shop in main st blanchardstown.

Afraid not, Dr Bob. Now, I know this may seem all out of proportion but, maybe people round here ..... well, I don't know :confused:

I've asked about everyone I know now. They tend to mumble about one or two locations. And it just always seems to die on their lips. It's as if no one wants to actually be the one to 'recommend' either of these nebulous outfits.

One guy, much more local, was suggested. I mentioned him to a mates wife and she went into a mantra of " No! No! No! No! ..... " Could still be saying it now, for all I know!

I'd get onto google and look up a couple of not so stupidly far away places. Give them a ring. But, I wonder, would it suffice to say what happened, without knowing what model I have here?

I too have lived in a city. Open the phone book, or run it round the corner. Bloke in blue overalls would be there. Here? I'm sure it'd be easier sourcing highly illicit things.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

Stigura wrote: »
    The concept of saying, 'Six hundred? Six months light use? Sure, ye could buy a new one for a lot less now. Sling that one out.' It's just anathema to me.

I'm sure some bugger out there can fix it. Why else would they still promote themselves as " TV Repairs " :confused:

I am in favour of repairs where possible but the TV can be replaced for about the same price as to repair, but the replacement will be a better product. Do you know anyone to repair a light bulb?

It is not a matter of what you paid for your TV that matters, it is what the current cost of a replacement will cost vs the cost of repair - and will the new TV be a better product than the repaired one.

The €200 unit from Power City would be as good or better than the model you have, (because it will have Saorview), but the €400 Samsung will be much better with better picture quality, a faster processor and smart functions.

Alternatively get a second hand TV for €50 which is again less than the likely repair bill. Try Adverts.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

Why dont you get a screwdriver and open her up and take a look see?

Probably a blown cap, quick snip and solder and you;re done

:( Gutted, Sam. Just come off the phone from one of the two, more local, places.

Lady agreed that it sounds like 'something' will have over heated and blown. But, she wouldn't be having a clue what ..... until I brought it in and left it at their mercy.

Damn! And, having just read your last post? I'm seriously starting to wonder how many flies it must take before I too sample a little bit of sh1t. I mean, everyone's pushing me towards making this one a start in a you tube clip, featuring my shotgun. And 'just buying a new one'.

Bugger. And, now I think of it? There's still the consideration that I've not yet resolved the issue (on another thread) of whether I can run my PS3 through this monitor. Failing that, I have my eye on a 20" Bush TV in Argos. €150.00. That would do me.

My resolve's weakening, Sam ..........

What ye reckon? Bird or Buck shot? :o

Why dont you get a screwdriver and open her up and take a look see?

Probably a blown cap, quick snip and solder and you;re done

Damn you, Thomas! Just as I was getting used to the 'fact' ....!

Trouble is, I don't even know How to solder. But, I have a mate who does .....

Okay. Sod it. I'll compromise: I'll leave the bloody thing on the wall. One day, I might find myself talking to someone willing to open her up.

Meanwhile? I think I'll buy that bloody Bush and save everyone the heartache of this thread :o

Cheers, lads. We'd might as well leave it there, now.

I think I'll buy that bloody Bush and save everyone the heartache of this thread :o

Cheers, lads. We'd might as well leave it there, now.

I would buy a decent brand - Bush are an Argos only brand so not really a brand at all.

Oh :( How about this one then? Hmm? Seems to have everything I'd want ~ even speakers. And it's not extortionately priced.

Thing is ..... forgive me but, I bought a good quality, massive, f****** expensive set; And look where that got me?

There's no wall space available, in range, for a smaller TV. It'll have to stand. And that, believe me, will make it a walking dead tv. It'll only be a matter of time before one of my Dogs has it over. I have to be realistic.

Oh :( How about this one then? Hmm? Seems to have everything I'd want ~ even speakers. And it's not extortionately priced.

Thing is ..... forgive me but, I bought a good quality, massive, f****** expensive set; And look where that got me?

There's no wall space available, in range, for a smaller TV. It'll have to stand. And that, believe me, will make it a walking dead tv. It'll only be a matter of time before one of my Dogs has it over. I have to be realistic.

LG are OK, but note the external size of the TV may be smaller than the old one so it might fit - check that out and if not you can screw it down. Also that TV is described as 'Freeview' so ask them if it is also Saorview - it should be but do ask.

Good luck with it.

Also that TV is described as 'Freeview' so ask them if it is also Saorview

:confused: Sorry, Sam. I have absolutely no concept of what ye on about here. Is this all something to do with " Watching TV " ? Only, I don't do that. Only bought the Hitachi to play on. Only buying a new one to play on. Long as I can use it for my PS3? Happy man :)

Regards the wall mounting thing? No. I used to have the old PS2 on a little shelf I built, beneath the big TV. That's gone now. I'll stand the new one beside this desk.

Anyway, Thanks. Yeah, as long as it's worth thinking about? I'll get the LG, in due course. Maybe end of the month.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

Stop being a pus pus and open the god damn thing up

Absolutely no point, Thomas. It'd be like lifting a bonnet. I could stand and stare in there all day. Mean absolutely nothing to me.

Even if something looked obviously scorched? I wouldn't have a clue what it was.

You're welcome to drop by though, take a look. Ye can even bring ye soldering iron ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭davo2001

Absolutely no point, Thomas. It'd be like lifting a bonnet. I could stand and stare in there all day. Mean absolutely nothing to me.

Even if something looked obviously scorched? I wouldn't have a clue what it was.

You're welcome to drop by though, take a look. Ye can even bring ye soldering iron ;)

It's the only way you will learn! The worst that can happen is that he TV is still broken, the best is that it will be working again.

Don't be afraid to get your hands dirty.

davo2001 wrote: »

The iron!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

davo2001 wrote: »
    It's the only way you will learn! The worst that can happen is that he TV is still broken, the best is that it will be working again.

No the worst thing that can happen if you dont know what you are doing is that you electrocute yourself, even when its disconnected from the mains. The second worst thing is that you blow the shít out of the rest of the mainboard through static electricity.

If the OP is interested in doing this without electrocuting themselves, then take the TV down, disconnect it. Take the back off. Have a look at the boards at the back and look for expanded/bulging capacitors on the power supply board.

23206_Samsung_TV_Failure_Capacitors_Wide.jpg

Even then you will need soldering skills to desolder and replace these caps, with no guarantee that the rest of that board has faults.

You really need the model of the TV as you can get replacement boards. Thing is that you will need to identify which board is fecked and in most lcds there is a process of elimination test through disconnection.

Also by the way OP, the flashing lights sequence at the start is an error code that you should be able to determine the problem

Hitachi and JVC and some Mitsubishi TV are/were manufactured by Orion in Japan, so the replacement boards are cheap to buy on ebay.

To help you and given what you have described so far in terms of dust problems. Disconnect from mains and take the back off the TV. Dont touch any components. Get a high powered hairdryer and put it on the cold setting (NOT hot setting as this will kill the components) and blast the hell out of it until all visible dust is gone. Have a quick look for bulging caps or loose cables. Dont touch the board or components.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

STB. wrote: »
    To help you and given what you have described so far in terms of dust problems. Disconnect from mains and take the back off the TV. Dont touch any components. Get a high powered hairdryer and put it on the cold setting (NOT hot setting as this will kill the components) and blast the hell out of it until all visible dust is gone. Have a quick look for bulging caps or loose cables. Dont touch the board or components.
    Reminder about the Kill O'Volts.

Power supply capacitors are designed to store lethal amounts of electricity. If there is a problem with the safety circuits you can be killed to death even after turning off the power. Best to unplug the TV, press the on/off button to try to use up some of the power, then leave for a few hours before taking the back off.

Power supply capacitors are designed to store lethal amounts of electricity. If there is a problem with the safety circuits you can be killed to death even after turning off the power.

:eek: F**k This!!!

Right; Anybody want to buy a f**k off big Hitachi? In need of slight repair by someone who knows their capacitor from their diode. Going cheap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

:eek: F**k This!!!

Right; Anybody want to buy a f**k off big Hitachi? In need of slight repair by someone who knows their capacitor from their diode. Going cheap!

Only Reading all this now , where about on the planet are you .
    I loves me a scrap heap challenge .

Current TV is 48inch Sony Bravia , replaced Back light bulb and 2 capacitors ....Used a donor TV with a smashed lcd total cost €0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Joeface wrote: »
    Only Reading all this now , where about on the planet are you .

Given he's considering parting with €150 for a 20" Bush TV, I'd seek s a reply as to what specific planet he's on. :p

Joe; I'd might as well be on another planet, I'm that far from Limerick!

Is a ton and half for a Bush totally wrong then :confused: I've been warned off them anyway. Looking at that other one now.

It just seems like you're not getting a whole lotta value for money at that price.

The 32" TV below is delivered to your door for €175 approx & certainly represents more bang for your buck - Freeview HD, PVR, USB x 2 & HDMI x 3. (currently on back-order, but Amazon tend to way over estimate availability dates in my experience)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hisense-32-inch-Ready-LED/dp/B0193G6F32/ref=sr_1_7?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1474383355&sr=1-7&keywords=32+inch+tv

€260 approx would get you a 40" Hisense Full HD 1080p, Freeview HD, USB Media Player & PVR from Amazon (same set's €279 from Argos if a B&M store's preferable).

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hisense-40-inch-Ready-LED/dp/B01DUPUEPM/ref=sr_1_12?s=home-theater&ie=UTF8&qid=1474382635&sr=1-12&keywords=40+inch+tv

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/5669769/Trail/searchtext%3EHISENSE.htm

Yamanoto; That looks a hell of a TV. However, I really need a more like 22" ish sort of size now. My circumstances have changed since I hung that 32" on my wall. I'm used to playing beside this desk now. TV on a filing cabinet. 32" would go over the first time I walked into this room.

If ye have any further suggestions? I'm all ears. Thanks. I seem to be pin balling between a TV and an adapter. Only, TV's seem plentiful. All adapters, thus far reach brick walls.

Oh, and just to add: I'll never watch TV on what ever I get. It's purely for my PS3.

This one's a 2016 model LG 22", which is a customer return.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01F97Q7M8/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A2OAJ7377F756P

£107.79 / €130 approx incl delivery & Irish VAT

As per blurb 'Gaming and cinema modes - dedicated features to optimize viewing experiences (black stabilizer for spotting hidden enemies in dark areas, DAS Mode to prevent input lag, detailed cinematic picture even in dark scenes)
    Item is in original packaging, but packaging may come damaged. Item is pristine and without scratches

Belter, isn't it?! Unfortunately; " This item does not ship to Ireland. ".

That old favourite of Amazon, again :(

Belter, isn't it?! Unfortunately; " This item does not ship to Ireland. ".

That's if you buy it new.

The used item (which will be as good as new in my experience) does ship to ROI. Click on '3 used from £107.79'

:) Right ye are! That settles it then. End of the month, I'll have one of them.

How good's that, eh? TV made to play games on! Ooh! I can't wait! :D

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 zompie

Hi all
    Just a quick one on tv repairs I have a Samsung LE32D450G lcd tv that went blank recently ie: It has sound but no picture only a black screen to which I did a bit of googling and found that the inverter might be gone. So is ordered a used one from the net and stuck it in but it still is not working.Any suggestions welcome

" Placed on September 30, 2016
    LG 22MT48DF 22 inch TV 1080p Full HD (2016 Model) - Black
    Condition: Used - Like New
    Sold by Amazon EU S.a.r.L.
    Fulfilled by Amazon "

Sorry, Zompie. Maybe better start ye own thread?

Just showing the folks, on here, I just bought me that TV! :D