Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can anybody help me with this 'Art' - please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭The Wolverine

I actually thought you weren't being serious but it looks like a cardboard box or something alright :D

Then again it seems like you could **** on a blank envelope these days and it would be classed as "art"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

I like it. Way worse sells for way more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Subjective innit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

But what is it painted on?

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

supersonic-bass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Rather have a bowl of COCO POPS !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Coco pops box with personalised spoon.

Edit: Doh!... Beated to it.

Coco pops box with personalised spoon.

Edit: Doh!... Beated to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Looks like a magazine cover to me, with the title 'Spoon'. And Google says there is a fashion photography magazine by that name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

http://downtownvienna.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/12751403_963326367091535_372290633_n.jpg

I stood in front of this piece of pox in the Albertina in Vienna about a month ago, honestly wondering how the artist survived for 57 years without dying of repeated kicks in the hole. Sometimes I wish I had access to a time machine so I could go back and preempt the Warhols of the world, be acclaimed a genius, and die a very smug, wealthy and (hopefully) elderly man for a total of about 20 minutes work.

On the other hand, the painting did provoke an emotional response in me that the Cezannes and Matisses in the room above didn't. They were more 'oh. Isn't that lovely'. I had more of a visceral reaction to the big square of nothing. It's the one I remember, and the one I immediately thought about. I don't like modern art, but it has an effect on me. It challenges. I make a point of visiting IMMA once a year to get creatively annoyed. It's all daft, but provokes a response. The best yet has to have been a grainy, looped video of 'the artist' sitting against a red brick wall, pissing herself.

It's a load of mebollix. All of it. But I'm still here posting about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

You don't like his work? Grand.
    You whose work I don't really like? Pissarro.
    Thats fine, its all subjective.

It is like someone saying they like all food. Does not work like that.

Its likely a sketch he done which means anything to hand, be it envelope or cereal box.

Was on the site a few days ago, browsing.

Surprised the Percy French ones went so cheap, given the name recognition. The Jack B Yeats Christmas Card went for about 4 times the bidding as it stood last Friday.

It is - thanks everybody! I wouldn't have got that in a month of Sundays as I haven't eaten cereal for years. :D

http://cerealoffers.com/Kelloggs/Cornflakes/2010/Personalised_Spoon/personalised_spoon.html

endacl wrote: »
    http://downtownvienna.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/12751403_963326367091535_372290633_n.jpg

I stood in front of this piece of pox in the Albertina in Vienna about a month ago, honestly wondering how the artist survived for 57 years without dying of repeated kicks in the hole. Sometimes I wish I had access to a time machine so I could go back and preempt the Warhols of the world, be acclaimed a genius, and die a very smug, wealthy and (hopefully) elderly man for a total of about 20 minutes work.

On the other hand, the painting did provoke an emotional response in me that the Cezannes and Matisses in the room above didn't. They were more 'oh. Isn't that lovely'. I had more of a visceral reaction to the big square of nothing. It's the one I remember, and the one I immediately thought about. I don't like modern art, but it has an effect on me. It challenges. I make a point of visiting IMMA once a year to get creatively annoyed. It's all daft, but provokes a response. The best yet has to have been a grainy, looped video of 'the artist' sitting against a red brick wall, pissing herself.

It's a load of mebollix. All of it. But I'm still here posting about it...

I've love art but I'm afraid to visit IMMA as I might lose it altogether. :D

Del.Monte wrote: »
    It is - thanks everybody! I wouldn't have got that in a month of Sundays as I haven't eaten cereal for years. :D

http://cerealoffers.com/Kelloggs/Cornflakes/2010/Personalised_Spoon/personalised_spoon.html

Dates it at least.
    Does than mean it's fake given fact it's on such a recent cereal box .

I found it just...boring.

I really must get into the National Gallery at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I did something very similar to the toilet bowl this morning after the Guinness and red hot Indian I had last night

Was on the site a few days ago, browsing.

Surprised the Percy French ones went so cheap, given the name recognition. The Jack B Yeats Christmas Card went for about 4 times the bidding as it stood last Friday.

Percy French's paintings are still just about affordable but you don't get much for your money - size wise. There was a lot of worse abstract stuff in that sale than the Blackshaw and it nearly all sold - the Celtic Tiger is back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

If you do go, and see a tall guy, early 40s, walking around muttering to himself, slightly faraway look in his eyes, and possibly with steam coming out of his ears.....

... come up and say Hi! It's always nice to meet a fellow Boardsie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I did something very similar to the toilet bowl this morning after the Guinness and red hot Indian I had last night

Wow, she was that good it inspired you to do art.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

Shush, you're only encouraging them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I like it.

On another note, I've been to the IMMA and I think most of the stuff in there is awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

The modern art scene is pretty inexplicable. An exact copy of a piece of commercial sci-fi book art sells for millions because it's done by one of the darlings of the modern fine-art world while the original artist got a few hundred quid for the piece it was ripped off from http://www.newyorker.com/culture/culture-desk/the-5-7-million-magazine-illustration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Sprog 4

Then again it seems like you could **** on a blank envelope these days and it would be classed as "art"

Not getting much interest as of yet. Maybe if I keep all these smelly envelopes around until I die they'll be worth a fortune. I'll leave them to my grandchildren in my will.