Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teaching in Australia - any advice??

Options
  • 12-09-2016 8:25pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5

Hi!

I'm making the move to Melbourne this coming Jan 2017 - I'm currently a qualified primary school teacher working in Dublin and have been for the last 4 years.

I've done a three year Commerce Degree and an 18month H-Dip for primary teaching so I should be covered with their 4 year degree requirement and I've started the process of applying to the Victoria Teaching Board.

Other than that does anyone have any general tips or advice about teaching over there as I am finding a limited amount of information online!
    Are teaching agencies the best way to find work over there?
    Is there a lot of work going?
    How much would you generally make from doing supply teaching?
    Can you get sponsored by a school to stay longer than a year?

There's a few questions that come to mind!!!!

Thanks a million,

Bairbre

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 659 ✭✭✭KevinK

It doesn't look like the OP posts here anymore but one year on does anyone have any answers to these questions, particularly regarding agencies. I am hoping to travel in January 2018

I have gotten my registration with the Victoria Institute of teachers and am wondering what the next step should be? I only plan on staying in Melbourne for 6-7 months so I guess CRT work is my best option. Does anyone know anything about covering maternity leaves in Australia?

Have been in Melbourne for 3 months now, if anyone wants any advice on CRT work here just let me know.

Kevin

• Registered Users Posts: 1 stankira