Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Charley rams

• 10-09-2016 7:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15

Would a Charlie ram with a Suffolk cross ewe make a good factory lamb without much nuts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭DMAXMAN

yes. great powerful lambs, kill well thrive well and no dirty backends like the suffolk. thats our ideal cross here, but watch the weights when you go to weigh them they really catch you out how well they weigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Lanark

DMAXMAN wrote: »
    yes. great powerful lambs, kill well thrive well and no dirty backends like the suffolk. thats our ideal cross here, but watch the weights when you go to weigh them they really catch you out how well they weigh

Or wud Suffolk x ewes be better with a texel ram rather than a Charlie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Lanark wrote: »

CH become fitter faster but you always have the option of ewe lambs with the texel. Buy both sure :)
    Charollais are easier lambed too. Had a 9.5 kg texel lamb this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

CH become fitter faster but you always have the option of ewe lambs with the texel. Buy both sure :)
    Would you keep Charolais ewe lambs from that cross?

Lanark, just a note, Charolais lambs are not suited to cold weather compared to other breeds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭roosky

Im all open to the ch idea but can never get them to thrive like the texel....i have two ch rams and two texels, but 80 of the lambs left now are charolais

roosky wrote: »
    Im all open to the ch idea but can never get them to thrive like the texel....i have two ch rams and two texels, but 80 of the lambs left now are charolais

18 Suffolk 3 charolais 7 texel lambs left. The Suffolk was left with the ewes to mop up so that's why there's so many in comparison

Farrell wrote: »
    Would you keep Charolais ewe lambs from that cross?

Lanark, just a note, Charolais lambs are not suited to cold weather compared to other breeds

No . I'd keep the texels and slaughter charolais

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

No . I'd keep the texels and slaughter charolais
    For us that never used a Charolais ram before, why would you not keep a Charolais X Suffolk cross ewe for breeding?

Farrell wrote: »
    For us that never used a Charolais ram before, why would you not keep a Charolais X Suffolk cross ewe for breeding?

No milk, bad mothers, wild . bought a pen of hoggetts last year with one charolais ewe. When she lambed she had a great elder of milk ,the day after , a hell of a lot less. Spent evenings chasing her lams round fields to give them bottles. They were sweepers of lambs when they were born and she is a fine sheep herself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

No milk, bad mothers, wild .

Pretty much sums em up, Don't forget horrible to shear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Lanark

No milk, bad mothers, wild . bought a pen of hoggetts last year with one charolais ewe. When she lambed she had a great elder of milk ,the day after , a hell of a lot less. Spent evenings chasing her lams round fields to give them bottles. They were sweepers of lambs when they were born and she is a fine sheep herself

But maybe thats just that one ewe, that doesn't mean all charlois x Suffolk are bad sheep.

One ewe in particular. I don't see many charolais hoggettsfor sale either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Maybe, but the Charly gene in them makes it more probable that those traits will come out. Kept 20 Charley X ewe lambs here from my own ram a few years back. Think about 2 turned out to be good mothers. The rest were either just too flighty or had no milk or no mothering instinct. Their excellently designed for the butchers block though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Any of ye go to Kilkenny mart today ? The auld lad bought 2 rams up there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Cran

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Any of ye go to Kilkenny mart today ? The auld lad bought 2 rams up there

Popped in but didn't hang around for the sale, what was trade like

Cran wrote: »
    Popped in but didn't hang around for the sale, what was trade like

Good crowd with plenty of interest. 35-40 lots. Most expensive ram sold for €940. We bought 2 5star rams for €870

Each or altogether. Lambs or hoggetts

for the 2. born in January this year

Good price so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭mcgiggles

Jaysus I thought our biggest at 7.6kg this year was big :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Dickie10

yes charley x ewes are no good, had one here and she was very flighty i did however put her with my lleyn ram and she gave nice ewe lambs these would be 1/2 lleyn, 1/4 quater charley so quitened a lot and good milkers, on a side i also hapen to think the lleyn ram makes cheviot offsping very quiet and great ewe lambs. back to the charley ewe, she ended up eating a lot of silage i put out with them and found her one sat morning with her insides all out.

made the classic mistake of offering ewes too much feed last winter a few weeks before lambing. they had hay in a rack, fresh pit silage hand picked in a circle and ewe and lamb nuts. turned out this ewe was at the feeders all the time and in much two good of condition anyway, they seem to be fat over winter easily like texels.

came to the conclusion that sheep unless highly stocked need little feed until a month before lambing when lifeline buckets, ewe and lamb nuts and a pick of hay will do them. our sheep always get too good of a do leading to huge lambs etc

mcgiggles wrote: »
    Jaysus I thought our biggest at 7.6kg this year was big :O

She was a single and probably getting too much nuts. I was in school and the oul lad said he was very luck to get him out alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭mcgiggles

She was a single and probably getting too much nuts. I was in school and the oul lad said he was very luck to get him out alive.

Same as ours. Load of ours were scanned wrong. She was fed as a double! we had one that size that didnt make it and one that did! Ye were lucky alright at that size! And the ewe was okay after it?

mcgiggles wrote: »
    Same as ours. Load of ours were scanned wrong. She was fed as a double! we had one that size that didnt make it and one that did! Ye were lucky alright at that size! And the ewe was okay after it?

Yep. She got a shot of pebcillin to stop infection