Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nicknames for your tractor🚜

• 06-09-2016 7:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭

Hey guys
    Just bored and finished up at work for the night. Just locked up my tractor for the night in the store and said good night Deerdra aka a John Deere...what do ye call y'er wan?? :-) lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

I've a 1982 590 and I can't repeat here what I call it sometimes;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Lolamontez

tanko wrote: »
    I've a 1982 590 and I can't repeat here what I call it sometimes;)

Is she a Fergie :-) they are great when they behave, crikey she's older than me lad. Fair play:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Yeah, it's a MF alrite. In fairness, it does everything i need done and there's very little that can go wrong with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

That fckn cnut of a thing. Or that dirty bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Betsy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭50HX

you dirty horrible hungry cnut of a thing, the one fupping time, start you bithc of a thing or i swear........chug chug chug......go on ya good thing...ya.......(mile down the road)...... i never doubted ya.......(tapping the steering wheel:D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

whelan2 wrote: »
    Betsy
    My neighbour who is gone for the big sleep now once had a ford 4000 that he called Mary Kate :)

Sam Kade wrote: »
    My neighbour who is gone for the big sleep now once had a ford 4000 that he called Mary Kate :)

Awww we had one of them ours was Mollie...used to have a zetor called big Maggie. Ford 4000 was a little cracker of a trac

50HX wrote: »
    you dirty horrible hungry cnut of a thing, the one fupping time, start you bithc of a thing or i swear........chug chug chug......go on ya good thing...ya.......(mile down the road)...... i never doubted ya.......(tapping the steering wheel:D)

Haha I love it:-) she's every name under the sun until the pistons fire and then she's a great little one to go:-) lol

whelan2 wrote: »
    Betsy

Love it:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

The 69 or the six-nine although it's become confusing now we've a 6930 as well as the 6910.

tanko wrote: »
    Yeah, it's a MF alrite. In fairness, it does everything i need done and there's very little that can go wrong with it.

They'd go forever the MF...keep her going Patsy :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Keep it simple around here, Holly, Fergie and the 20 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

Ford 4000 is called the quad here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Giacomo McGubbin

Grueller wrote: »
    Ford 4000 is called the quad here.

you're a spoiled boy ! we would have given anything for tractor like that in our day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

Fiat f140 is called the "big Fiat"
    Fiat 110-90 is called the "small Fiat"
    Ford 5000 is called the "old tractor"

f140 wrote: »
    Fiat f140 is called the "big Fiat"
    Fiat 110-90 is called the "small Fiat"
    Ford 5000 is called the "old tractor"

Haha keep it simple and to the point...like go out to the red car or the black car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

you're a spoiled boy ! we would have given anything for tractor like that in our day.

Tbh she is the most worked tractor here at times. She has power steering and is a dinger to get in around tight sheds for clean them out. Power loader on her for the job with a tine grab. Handy out.

Grueller wrote: »
    Tbh she is the most worked tractor here at times. She has power steering and is a dinger to get in around tight sheds for clean them out. Power loader on her for the job with a tine grab. Handy out.

They are a great tractor, still worth a bit if in good order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,581 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Lolamontez wrote: »
    Hey guys
    Just bored and finished up at work for the night. Just locked up my tractor for the night in the store and said good night Deerdra aka a John Deere...what do ye call y'er wan?? :-) lol

OP are you jsut looking for names for the FI competition.

The Ford is call the blue tractor and the massey was called the red tractor, the case is now the red tractor

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Little donkey...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

The Ford is call the blue tractor and the massey was called the red tractor, the case is now the red tractor

Likewise here, but when neither are giving trouble ,Henry and Harry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭emaherx

Of coarse naming tractors is silly but..........

698T named "Donkey", as she does the Donkey work and isn't always graceful.
    26429001803_06d5e48b3f_c.jpg

135 named "Little Red Tractor" by the kids after their favorite TV show when they were very little.
    25792410122_9c6736d84e_c.jpg

390T named "Big Red" by the kids a variation on the above TV Show
    27528590825_55088045a5_c.jpg

365 named "Betsy" because she is the old cow that should have been culled years ago.
    27494210046_25dec07d26_c.jpg

205 named "Wall-e" by the kids because the front is square and yellow.
    24069004422_12f33a77fd_c.jpg

Call the tractor what you like BR, I was only initiating a thread on something different to see if there are othere farmers out there that call their ole Deere Deerdera and the likes, I don't be pet naming all my machinery btw:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Funny how a lot of farmers refer to their tractor as though she was female.
    Talking to an old neighbour one day and he telling me how he kept his old tractor even though the son wanted to get rid of it. 'She hasn't let me down yet.'
    I'd often find myself going 'come on girl' etc if I was trying to start it in cold weather or getting out of a stuck spot.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

Would call it "that ****ing yoke" or "Death trap" ... No kidding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭emaherx

Funny how a lot of farmers refer to their tractor as though she was female.
    Talking to an old neighbour one day and he telling me how he kept his old tractor even though the son wanted to get rid of it. 'She hasn't let me down yet.'
    I'd often find myself going 'come on girl' etc if I was trying to start it in cold weather or getting out of a stuck spot.:cool:

Don't think it is just farmers, it's common for all machines to be referred to as female, no idea why. Many languages assign gender to objects also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Just go on the number of it here . Don't really name the cows either . No imagination would be a problem of mine !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

We call the mf 35 we have here "the tick tock" dunno why really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Who2

emaherx wrote: »
    Don't think it is just farmers, it's common for all machines to be referred to as female, no idea why. Many languages assign gender to objects also.

Because they can be temperamental and their guaranteed to cost you money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Who2 wrote: »
    Because they can be temperamental and their guaranteed to cost you money.
    Because they work harder than any man :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Often called mine Woodbine....cos she coughs and splitters first thing in the morning