Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road legal Quad/ UTV

• 03-09-2016 6:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭

Looking for Road legal quad ... not even sure if new ones can be got road legal but id imagine some brands work around it? I would prefer buy second hand but if its the only way to get them road legal I would buy new. Reason i want a road legal quad is that I have a quad at the moment and its the handiest yoke on the farm but I have an out farm about 8 miles away and its far too risky to be driving it on the main road up. I would prefer a quad but Id look at UTVs also. I would like to compare everything at ploughing so do any of ye have a road legal quad or know of anyone with one and if so could you tell me brands and how it was done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Shuck

Hi mf310
    I'm new here. You can get road legal quads. I used to have a Honda 420 that was legal. It had all the necessary lighting , mirrors and licence plate. Was cheap to insure. Got rid of it cause it very rarely ever went on the road. There is a lad in baileborough he's d heery quads. He does have some road legal ones from time to time. He will defiantly be able to tell you how to register a non legal quad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Mf310 wrote: »
    Looking for Road legal quad ... not even sure if new ones can be got road legal but id imagine some brands work around it? I would prefer buy second hand but if its the only way to get them road legal I would buy new. Reason i want a road legal quad is that I have a quad at the moment and its the handiest yoke on the farm but I have an out farm about 8 miles away and its far too risky to be driving it on the main road up. I would prefer a quad but Id look at UTVs also. I would like to compare everything at ploughing so do any of ye have a road legal quad or know of anyone with one and if so could you tell me brands and how it was done?

10 years ago some county councils just weren' registering them , no matter what you had, I just bought an ordinary one and insured it on the chassis number, meet lots of guards when I'm on it too.
    8 miles is a long way to go on one and they are hard on petrol too and have some comfort, better to get a good trailer to bring it around,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭crossmolinalad

Can ‘Quad’ bikes be used on the road?
    A quadricycle is a mechanically propelled vehicle, which means it is a vehicle intended or adapted for propulsion by mechanical or electrical power. As such, irrespective of engine capacity, under Road Traffic legislation the user of a ‘quad’ in a public place must have insurance, road tax, a driving licence and wear a helmet.?
    From Garda site