Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Young lads wanting to buy cars immediately

• 01-09-2016 10:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭

Has anyone come across this. In the last 12 months I have been selling 2 old 1 litres on the internet, for very little, 2 to 3 hundred euro. Quite often late at night I get phonecalls from young lads who want the car right now for cash. I don't want some young "ruffian" calling late at night with his mates, who can often be heard in the background offering prices. but I have noticed a pattern of this. This happened again tonight, of course I said it is too late, call again tomorrow. Never do though

I wonder what do they want the cars for in such a hurry, my initial throught is maybe to do a robbery, but you would not get away too fast in a micra. Has anyone come across this, and can they shed any light ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

They'll all chip in, fill the tank, leg it from the filling station, rally it, and burn it. A night's craic.

The name you enter on the logbook and send away won't exist. You'll be stuck paying for the disposal of the carcass, as you wouldn't have had a reason to report it stolen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,547 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

You simply take their money, get them to enter their details on the logbook, you send it away and don't give a flying fook what they do with the car, it's not your concern.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Jerome77

Yes I suppose it is not ny concern but just curious as to why the urgent need. It is like you are selling a bag of coke and telling the caller it is too late, the dissapointment is similar. If they do rally it and burn it why would I have to pay for the "carcass".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Been wondering this myself.

Anybody on Faceballs who is a member of "Cork cars/ parts for sale and swap" must be wondering what people are doing seriously looking for "€150 tops to spend on a cheap runaround" type cars. These cars definitely dont go on to get maintained or insured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

You simply take their money, get them to enter their details on the logbook, you send it away and don't give a flying fook what they do with the car, it's not your concern.

That's assuming the details they give are legitimate (which is doubtful if they are buying the car for illegal activity).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

They used to just steal them

It's progress

GDY151

bazz26 wrote: »
    That's assuming the details they give are legitimate (which is doubtful if they are buying the car for illegal activity).

Yes most likely they are not but the current exchange of ownership makes no regulation on the seller to verify the identity of the buyer. I suppose the system could do with an overhaul to prevent fake details being entered but that would likely bring in a fee to sell your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

If the pay that little for a car they aren't going to be insured, and won't be putting their name to it in any log book.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/coroner-s-court/boy-15-died-in-crash-in-car-bought-for-400-online-inquest-hears-1.2650691

No way in hell I would sell it. You don't need the potential hassle.

Yes most likely they are not but the current exchange of ownership makes no regulation on the seller to verify the identity of the buyer. I suppose the system could do with an overhaul to prevent fake details being entered but that would likely bring in a fee to sell your car.

How do Shannon mitigate for a new owner giving false details on the change of ownership form? Shannon would obviously send out a new logbook but this would be returned to them if it goes to a fake/false name and address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭hadepsx

They used to just steal them

It's progress

The boom is back boys.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

'Back in my day' they were called stagers, people would just horse them around for a few nights and dump it when it dies/crashes. I thought that stopped when it became the seller's obligation to make sure it was registered to the new owner. I'd avoid selling it like that because AFAIK it's on your head if something happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Pique

How do Shannon mitigate for a new owner giving false details on the change of ownership form? Shannon would obviously send out a new logbook but this would be returned to them if it goes to a fake/false name and address.

They only send out a logbook now when the new owner taxes it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

endacl wrote:
    They'll all chip in, fill the tank, leg it from the filling station, rally it, and burn it. A night's craic.

endacl wrote:
    The name you enter on the logbook and send away won't exist. You'll be stuck paying for the disposal of the carcass, as you wouldn't have had a reason to report it stolen.

Wonder what they'll call the next one? Celtic tiger days only 10 years later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Pique wrote: »

Not true. I recently received a logbook for a car that was untaxed for a year.

Not only not true, but simply impossible.

Really, I thought that only applied to cars registered in Ireland for the first time where they were issuing the first Irish logbook? What happens if the car has 10 months tax left on it when it's bought? Has the new owner to wait 10 months before getting the new logbook?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Pique wrote:

Not true, bought a car only 3 weeks ago with 3 months tax on it and have the logbook back from Shannon already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Eh no they don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭carzony

It's amazing the good cars you can pick up these days for little money though. I see lads around my area driving focus's, punto's, Golfs, ect and all for little or nothing.

Most are uninsured and just drive until they get caught. One lad has had at least 10 cars taken on him so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,613 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

All as I'm saying is: young 'ruffians' like to travel. Scallywags they are.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,232 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

You know that are likely going to rally is about.
    You might you see in in the paper the next day, wrecked after breaking red light. A young family dead in the other car.

Of course, you don't give a flying fook, you got your €150
    I suppose the system could do with an overhaul to prevent fake details being entered but that would likely bring in a fee to sell your car.

Current system here (Australia) requires driver's license number to be entered along with name. It's not infallible, but it's a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

this doesn't ring true. Why would they go for a 1 litre car? If they wanted it for the purposes suggested, they'd go for something faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,232 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

this doesn't ring true. Why would they go for a 1 litre car? If they wanted it for the purposes suggested, they'd go for something faster.
    It's not that they going for a 1litre. It's that they are going for whatever they can get for 200. I'm sure they be more than happy to take a 2.0L Turbo at that price.

true I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I sold a car for 250 a few years ago
    Took a pic of the lads lisence and I copied his details onto the form from it
    I would t sell to someone who didnt show me their Id but it wasnt an issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭Vic_08

Apart from that being a generally sh!tty attitude towards society in general there is also the little matter that the car will still be registered to you and if the scrote crashes it the same evening the logbook will still be in your possession.

That there is some made-up name and address on it is hardly proof of anything, I am sure "I just sold it to some lad a few hours ago" is a story every Guard has heard from a driver who crashed their car and done a runner back home.

Tigger wrote: »
    I sold a car for 250 a few years ago
    Took a pic of the lads lisence and I copied his details onto the form from it
    I would t sell to someone who didnt show me their Id but it wasnt an issue

That's what I'd do also, that way they know the car is linked to them and if they do something stupid anyway and the Gardai come calling there is a nice pic and details of the lad to give them. Of course if they refuse then fine back to dungdeal with you, go find some other muppet to buy a runaround off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Pique

PrettyBoy wrote: »

Absolute nonsense, where did you even hear that :confused:
    Sorry, I remembered wrong. They only do that for imported cars. Mea Culpa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

carzony wrote: »
    It's amazing the good cars you can pick up these days for little money though. I see lads around my area driving focus's, punto's, Golfs, ect and all for little or nothing.

Most are uninsured and just drive until they get caught. One lad has had at least 10 cars taken on him so far.

I presume you're reporting each one as you spot them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Jerome77

Interesting

Vic_08 wrote: »
    Apart from that being a generally sh!tty attitude towards society in general there is also the little matter that the car will still be registered to you and if the scrote crashes it the same evening the logbook will still be in your possession.

That there is some made-up name and address on it is hardly proof of anything, I am sure "I just sold it to some lad a few hours ago" is a story every Guard has heard from a driver who crashed their car and done a runner back home.

That's what I'd do also, that way they know the car is linked to them and if they do something stupid anyway and the Gardai come calling there is a nice pic and details of the lad to give them. Of course if they refuse then fine back to dungdeal with you, go find some other muppet to buy a runaround off.

I nearly came a cropper this way. I sold a UK reg car that I had used to get me home with some of my late Mother's effects and the guy I sold it to, who was a bit hippyish, crashed and abandoned it on the way home..... cue the Gards on my doorstep! Fortunately they had picked him up walking the road and were happy with my version. (they did tell me I could potentially be in trouble for selling a UK car, but nthing came of it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,225 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

hadepsx wrote: »
    The boom is back boys.;)

Nah, I blame this :D
    Vic_08 wrote: »
    Not your problem as a seller. That's the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DakarVert

Sorry, What??

So I buy a car and the book is sent off... I won't receive a book until I tax it? When did that come in? Also what about SORD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

DakarVert wrote: »
    Sorry, What??

So I buy a car and the book is sent off... I won't receive a book until I tax it? When did that come in? Also what about SORD?

That poster already explained he made a mistake.

Nothing changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,606 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

What about signing off a receipt for payment, with the time and date of sale? Otherwise they can drive off in your motor and rack up all sorts of fines, tolls and God only knows what else. And you sit around holding liability until the log book goes back to them in the post? Assuming it is a legit address. Fook that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

What about signing off a receipt for payment, with the time and date of sale? Otherwise they can drive off in your motor and rack up all sorts of fines, tolls and God only knows what else. And you sit around holding liability until the log book goes back to them in the post? Assuming it is a legit address. Fook that.

I find its best to get the seller to time and date his signature (assuming all is above board) and keep a copy (atleast a photo of the book)

GDY151

Have logbook signed by new owner, take photo of it and then send off, the time stamp on the photo will show time new owner signed. The legit address is no concern of yours, there's no regulations to verify new owner lives at new address. I really don't care what someone wants to do with the car once they buy it, it's not my concern and there's no law to say I need to care what they do with it once it's out of my name. If someone walks in to a hardware shop and buys a sledgehammer to rob a bank it's none of their concern either what they do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,152 ✭✭✭Allinall

Have logbook signed by new owner, take photo of it and then send off, the time stamp on the photo will show time new owner signed. The legit address is no concern of yours, there's no regulations to verify new owner lives at new address. I really don't care what someone wants to do with the car once they buy it, it's not my concern and there's no law to say I need to care what they do with it once it's out of my name. If someone walks in to a hardware shop and buys a sledgehammer to rob a bank it's none of their concern either what they do with it.

There's no law, but you do have a moral responsibility.

If you had good reason someone was going to rob a bank, would you still sell them the hammer ? I would hope not.

Same goes for a bunch of young fellas buying a car for €300 cash at 12 midnight .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭Vic_08

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    You don't hold any liability whatsoever as the logbook clearly states the date that the car was sold.

No it doesn't. It is proof of nothing beyond the entering of a few details on a form.

Just like the lad who has a skinful, smashes his car and has the genius idea to report it stolen the next morning.

If the logbook is sent in and processed before the car is involved in something then maybe it points towards the change being genuine, if the buyer goes and has a smash the same night it is bought then your logbook with fake name+address means nothing.

Do you really think that registering a fake new owner has never been done to cover up a car involved in a crime before? Guards aren't stupid enough to just accept the form as gospel.

As said previously take copy of purchaser's licence and then if anything happens you have that to show if questions are asked, better still insisting on it will put off the muppets in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Knine

Was out in my back garden cutting grass when I heard a loud bang. Car hits a lampost, giving it some whack & with half the front of his estate car hanging off, he reverses back off the path - looking around to see if anyone seen him & away he goes. Very young driver & if a pedestrian had been walking along that path I dread to think of the consequences.

GDY151

Knine wrote: »
    Was out in my back garden cutting grass when I heard a loud bang. Car hits a lampost, giving it some whack & with half the front of his estate car hanging off, he reverses back off the path - looking around to see if anyone seen him & away he goes. Very young driver & if a pedestrian had been walking along that path I dread to think of the consequences.

So was it a stolen car?

Sure how would I know but the way he drove off I would suspect maybe no insurance. I would not like to sell some young lad a car & for him to hit some innocent person walking along the path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭grogi

That is very simple to verify. No driving license, no transaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I remember someone getting prosecuted for selling a car to a bunch of young lads knowing they were going joyriding

Knine wrote: »
    Sure how would I know but the way he drove off I would suspect maybe no insurance. I would not like to sell some young lad a car & for him to hit some innocent person walking along the path.

What did you expect him to do?
    Push the car away?

What did you expect him to do?
    Push the car away?

Is he not responsible for paying for the damage to the lampost? I guess not judging by the speed he drove off at & the way his head was spinning like the exorcist looking around to see if anyone seen him........