Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irritating Golf Habits.

• 01-09-2016 3:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

The 27 Absolute Most Irritating Golf Habits, Ranked

I'll admit to about 8 or 9 of these (ok, 10 :)) including the use of a poker chip (occasionally) - which only comes in at 23, btw. Plus, I do like a bit of 'tour sauce' - those habits, mannerisms etc that the tour players use such as the club twirl when you smash one. In that regard I'm a bit old school, nothing wrong in my view with the Seve fist pump when you drop a long putt, or the Chi Chi Rodriguez matador celebration for those extra long twisty ones!!

The worst one has to be club throwing temper tantrums - bad form, plus why treat what can be expensive kit in such an abusive fashion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Tom.D.BJJ

For me, the worst habit is not fixing divots or pitch marks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭curly from cork

Marking the card when you should be on the tee box drives me mad ... Hit and then mark the card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

For me, it has to be lads whispering, thinking I can't hear them when I'm about to putt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,948 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Tom.D.BJJ wrote: »
    For me, the worst habit is not fixing divots or pitch marks.

Or worse 'fixing' it arseways. I see a lot of lads using a tee or godknowswhat, some poking and stirring 'til it looks ten times worse then doing nothing with it. It leaves a friggin brown crater that will take weeks to go away. Some people haven't a clue and seem quite happy with it.

Not fixing it is just lazy or ignorant and I guess some old lads simply find it hard to bend down and 'work' down there. But to actually go to the bother and work on it only to leave a complete meal... Wtf is that all about? I really find that very irritating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭newport2

For me, it has to be lads whispering, thinking I can't hear them when I'm about to putt.

This. Whish..whish..whish. "Just because I can't hear what you're actually saying doesn't make the sound of your voice any less distracting!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

Starting to read a putt from both sides only when it's your turn to putt, when you could have done some/all of this when your playing partners were putting before you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Pitstop Pete

For me it's when I go for a ramble with the dogs, and ye have these feckers with golf sticks waving at you as they want to hit their little white ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭mjsc1970

Kace wrote: »
    Starting to read a putt from both sides only when it's your turn to putt, when you could have done some/all of this when your playing partners were putting before you.

This ^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Pitstop Pete

Actually chiefs, I misread the title of this thread! Carry on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭e.r

Has to be the call of great shot, when the ball is in the air!!!!! Then it lands in the water or bunker:( Wait till it lands !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Or worse 'fixing' it arseways. I see a lot of lads using a tee or godknowswhat, some poking and stirring 'til it looks ten times worse then doing nothing with it. It leaves a friggin brown crater that will take weeks to go away. Some people haven't a clue and seem quite happy with it.

Not fixing it is just lazy or ignorant and I guess some old lads simply find it hard to bend down and 'work' down there. But to actually go to the bother and work on it only to leave a complete meal... Wtf is that all about? I really find that very irritating.

Is using a tee seriously irritating :confused:

I've been known to use one and am very talented at fixing pitch marks.

The hole a tee makes i equal to a tool.

Sure you see lad using a tool and pushing from under up and are doing it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Halfprice

Saying great putt you have it an then it just lips out.. NEVER talk to a moving ball 😉

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Tom.D.BJJ

Halfprice wrote: »
    Saying great putt you have it an then it just lips out.. NEVER talk to a moving ball

Talking to a moving ball doesnt change the outcome :P

Ah i know that but ur hopes are up for that second :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Cody OHare

taking off your glove after the and only putting it back on after you have chosen your club and used the range finder.

Saying great putt you have it an then it just lips out.. NEVER talk to a moving ball 😉

This. EVERY time someone says it's in before it reaches the hole the ball starts to break.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Loire

Pet hate of mine - you leave a long putt 1-2 feet short and go up to knock it in and someone says "take your time" and you proceed to miss the putt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

People taking too long to hit their shot, 2 or 3 practice swings, lots of shifting and fidgeting while standing over the ball.. just hit the damn thing.

An amateur only needs one practice swing and a few seconds to get comfortable once they've addressed the ball.

Loire wrote: »
    Pet hate of mine - you leave a long putt 1-2 feet short and go up to knock it in and someone says "take your time" and you proceed to miss the putt!

Penalise them. Saying "Take your time" is giving you advice, two stroke penalty as per rule 8-1 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭cgh

people who leave the golf trolley at the front of the green to Putt, then release the next tee is behind the green. when they get to their bag they have to stop and mark the cards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Senecio

All of my pet hates could be summed up by poor etiquette.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

I'm a hoor for this - I even do it to meself!... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

WHIP IT! wrote:
    I'm a hoor for this - I even do it to meself!...

Plenty of good putts never fall in the hole imo.

• How's this for you - was playing a public par 3 course this morning and someone playing the previous hole hit my ball and strolled off. Thought they'd have the decency to return it on the next hole and explain their mistake but nope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Cody OHare wrote: »
    taking off your glove after the and only putting it back on after you have chosen your club and used the range finder.

Played this morning with a pair of visitors in an open four ball comp....

.....I assume the guy had just got a new rangefinder because he was zapping every bloody shot!

Even on the tees of the par 5s and 4s when he could see the flag!! I felt like asking him it really mattered whether the flag was 378 or 380m away when you're a 14 handicapper playing links golf in a pretty brisk three-quarter headwind???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Jawgap wrote: »
    Played this morning with a pair of visitors in an open four ball comp....

.....I assume the guy had just got a new rangefinder because he was zapping every bloody shot!

Even on the tees of the par 5s and 4s when he could see the flag!! I felt like asking him it really mattered whether the flag was 378 or 380m away when you're a 14 handicapper playing links golf in a pretty brisk three-quarter headwind???

I'm sure he wasn't zapping the flag.

Rangefinders most certainly speed up play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Chris_Bradley

I think plonkers in general take up golf as a way to do business on the course.

These people are just up their own swiss really.

Other than that I love the game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    I'm sure he wasn't zapping the flag.

Rangefinders most certainly speed up play.

Well it was a fairly featureless par 4 at one stage, so I don't know what he was zapping - fair play to him if he had the distance control to make sure he could leave the ball on the up-slope of the rolling hollows that cut the fairway. Straight up the middle as far as you can is the shot most play on the hole in question.