Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mad aul Hoors

• 27-08-2016 11:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭

The pub that I drink in has 4 or 5 of these mad yokes, sing at you at 3pm, pissed by 7pm, go home and are back by 9pm, and when you ask anyone they say, 'Ah he 's just a mad aul Hoor, does every local in the country have it's fair share of mad aul hoors or is it just in Dublin?

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Raging alcoholics you mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

uch wrote: »
    The pub that I drink in has 4 or 5 of these mad yokes, sing at you at 3pm, pissed by 7pm, go home and are back by 9pm, and when you ask anyone they say, 'Ah he 's just a mad aul Hoor, does every local in the country have it's fair share of mad aul hoors or is it just in Dublin?

If you're there at 3pm, 7pm, and 9pm to witness all this, doesn't that make you a mad aul hoor too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

"mad aul hoors"

You sure you're in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

s4uv3 wrote: »
    If you're there at 3pm, 7pm, and 9pm to witness all this, doesn't that make you a mad aul hoor too?

Nah this would be different days for me, but other locals tell me this

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Drunks???

More to be dried out than celebrated IMHO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Steve wrote: »
    "mad aul hoors"

You sure you're in Dublin?

If I said mad yokes they'd think I was on them

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

If it was any other substance they were addicted to, they would be called 'Mad aul junkies'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Elpurple

Seriously these lot are the best Craic esp in the country feels like it happens nowhere else esp in dub I'd love to find a place that that happens feels like home lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭GBX

uch wrote: »
    Nah this would be different days for me, but other locals tell me this

There telling ya porkies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Maybe it's just me but "hoor" to me means "whore" :pac:

Here in Kerry would know a few who would drink daily, yes, and a few who would be pretty much in the pub all the time. One fellow I know gets drunk early, drives home around 6, will eat, nap, and head back in about 3 hours later.

But he's not gas craic or a mad aul hoor or anything. He's a man with chronic issues who has a shell of a life, has a liver that must be held together by duct tape, looks like the living dead and is pretty much avoided by most except fellow drunks. Plus when he's driving home he's a pain in the arse cos he crawls and holds up other cars...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Here in Kerry would know a few who would drink daily, yes, and a few who would be pretty much in the pub all the time. One fellow I know gets drunk early, drives home around 6, will eat, nap, and head back in about 3 hours later.

But he's not gas craic or a mad aul hoor or anything. He's a man with chronic issues who has a shell of a life, has a liver that must be held together by duct tape, looks like the living dead and is pretty much avoided by most except fellow drunks. Plus when he's driving home he's a pain in the arse cos he crawls and holds up other cars...

Yeah don't you just hate it when drunk drivers hold you up by driving slowly? They should cop on to themselves and drive faster.

Another word for these type of people is a "character". Usually when I hear that about someone i immediately know that they are a loud mouth drunken gob****e. Makes them easier to avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,442 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

We still have a thing or ten to learn about mental health issues in this country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    We still have a thing or ten to learn about mental health issues in this country!
    Teach us ;) Do you think everyone that turns to drink have mental problems? I know a few that have and turned to drink but there are plenty that have no problems yet they still are fond of the drink. Plenty people also with mental problems that don't turn to drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

He drives in that state? You really have to love the Healy Rae's standing up for arseholes like him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,442 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Sam Kade wrote:
    Teach us Do you think everyone that turns to drink have mental problems? I know a few that have and turned to drink but there are plenty that have no problems yet they still are fond of the drink. Plenty people also with mental problems that don't turn to drink.

Cause and effect, and I prefer mental health issues. The term 'mental' comes across as being very disingenuous. We have a very serious problem with alcohol in this country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭HS3

My grandad would have been one of those types. Went to the pub as soon as it opened, came home for his dinner, went back out again and would stumble home in the early hours. I have great memories of him. He was as generous as anything, a lovely gentle soul and great craic. We got on great. He'd bring us to the pub with him sometimes and we got to sit up at the bar with him and he'd buy us a club milk and a bottle of coke. All his bar buddies would come in, he'd introduce us and we felt like superstars! I still love a club milk, it always reminds me of him and I only have one on very rare occasions so I don't become desensitised to the memory.

There wasn't a great turn out at his funeral which I thought was strange at the time, I was 13 when he died. And slowly but surely over the years I got a more well rounded picture. My grandmother didn't have the greatest of lives because he was always drinking the money so they hadn't a bean. My mam was always mortified because he'd stumble home more nights than not and he'd be the talk of the street apparently. I remember some times we'd stay over and he'd come back a little early. My grandmother would hear him trying to put the key in the lock and usher us all into the parlour. It was only years later I realised the sounds I was hearing was him falling over in the hall and her helping him up the stairs.

Probably a bit serious of a post for a Sun morning :pac: but you just reminded me of him. For any person that way inclined I'd say reel it in and don't be other people's entertainment. You'll probably have family who are dying to spend time with you and not just for the club milks :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭indioblack

HS3 wrote: »
    My grandad would have been one of those types. Went to the pub as soon as it opened, came home for his dinner, went back out again and would stumble home in the early hours. I have great memories of him. He was as generous as anything, a lovely gentle soul and great craic. We got on great. He'd bring us to the pub with him sometimes and we got to sit up at the bar with him and he'd buy us a club milk and a bottle of coke. All his bar buddies would come in, he'd introduce us and we felt like superstars! I still love a club milk, it always reminds me of him and I only have one on very rare occasions so I don't become desensitised to the memory.

There wasn't a great turn out at his funeral which I thought was strange at the time, I was 13 when he died. And slowly but surely over the years I got a more well rounded picture. My grandmother didn't have the greatest of lives because he was always drinking the money so they hadn't a bean. My mam was always mortified because he'd stumble home more nights than not and he'd be the talk of the street apparently. I remember some times we'd stay over and he'd come back a little early. My grandmother would hear him trying to put the key in the lock and usher us all into the parlour. It was only years later I realised the sounds I was hearing was him falling over in the hall and her helping him up the stairs.

Probably a bit serious of a post for a Sun morning :pac: but you just reminded me of him. For any person that way inclined I'd say reel it in and don't be other people's entertainment. You'll probably have family who are dying to spend time with you and not just for the club milks :pac:
    Perceptive post.
    "The life and soul of the party" was the description of a close relative as they brought him home and carried him in the door - usually to throw up at some point.
    Booze was an issue on both sides of my family, the English as well as the Irish - the problems it caused far outweighed the temporary "buzz" it gave.
    I followed the same route for years till I realized that just getting smashed was no fun for myself or anyone else.