Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newbie question about lay odds

Options
  • 27-08-2016 1:24pm
    Registered Users Posts: 15,017 ✭✭✭✭

I'm new to the betting exchange.
    I'm betting mostly on baseball games and trying to get a green book by hedging on the basis of "back high and lay low".

But I'm just wondering why the lay odds get so high when a team is loosing, and continue to go higher as the game progresses.

I had expected the lay odds to go lower as a team was losing as the chance of the .losing of greater.

Is it because the lay bets cannot be matched by back bets.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Division

I'm not sure I understand the question.

Take for example a betting market with 2 outcomes (no draw possibility).

A wins
    B wins

At the start of the game both teams are evenly matched - each has a 50% chance of winning - so the odds for each will be at evens.

Halfway through the game A is winning and has a 75% chance of being the victor so their odds are 1/3
    B has a 25% chance of winning so their odds are 3/1

The easier way to understand this is to use decimal odds

Evens = 2.0
    3/1 = 4.0

To Lay B:
    At the beginning you have to risk $100 to win $100 ... ($100 / (2.0 -1))
    Halfway through the game you have to risk $33.33 to win $100 ... ($100 / (4.0 -1))

Divide the amount you want to profit by (decimal odds - 1) at the time of placing your bet to get the amount you have to risk to win this profit amount.

The lower the chances of a team winning = the higher the odds = the less you have to risk to win $100