Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nothing Wrong With Nudity

• 24-08-2016 3:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭

Before someone makes some wisecrack about me being a nudist, i'm not. I've noticed that there seems to be a negative attitude towards nudity, especially in regards to nudity in tv shows and movies. Game of Thrones is one of the most popular tv shows going today, but more often than not you get people making complaints about the nudity and sex scenes in the show. I say that's it's all relative to what you might see in real life. Recently there was a story about people saying that they saw Conor McGregor's penis during his fight with Nate Diaz on Saturday. It was his thumb from a bad camera angle, but people were convinced they saw his penis and seemed genuinely grossed out by it. Generally nudity seems to be taboo, and people consider it inappropriate to see a person naked, but I disagree with this notion. I believe that nudity is not something to be grossed out by or turned off by. I just don't think there's anything wrong with seeing another human naked.

I can understand people's feeling towards nudity in regards to children for example, but for mature adults it seems odd to me that someone would be offended by it. If you're an adult then you've most likely seen a naked body before, you've seen a penis, or a pair of breasts, or a vagina. I mean when you think about it, your so called private parts are just body parts like your arms or your legs. From an artistic perspective an naked body is a beautiful thing and is often used as inspiration. Sure we all come in different shapes and sizes, and some of us might feel insecure about our bodies which is ok, but I personally I don't think there's anything to be ashamed about.

Don't get me wrong, i'm not going to stop wearing clothes, or start strutting around in the nip, but honestly I wouldn't be all that bothered if someone saw me naked. I'm quite comfortable with my body, although I don't have an athletic physique or anything, but I have no problem with being in a room naked with other people. If I was an actor on a tv show or a movie I would fully embrace doing a nude scene. When I hear someone complain about nude scenes I say "Grow up", because it's natural, and we're old enough to understand anyway.

I don't know, maybe it's the way humans are programmed. We kind've trained ourselves that wearing clothes is right way to be, and that the idea of being naked is wrong. There are various religious groups that believe the human body should be covered as well, and nudity is kind've taboo.

In ending this i just want to make the case that there is nothing wrong with nudity. There is nothing to be offended by, grossed out by, turned off by, or considered unnatural about nudity a general way. But that's my opinion anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

"Swing low, sweet chariots" is what I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

People should be allowed to fap in public too!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6 Hicham El Guerrouj

I like boobies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,770 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Sure when you watch naked attraction you know when it comes to the men, that all that matters is how big the penis is.
    Nudity doesn't offend me but I wouldn't be parading naked in public as I would be too shy and afraid it might turn me on too much :pac:

It's not uncomfortable, it's a question firstly of hygiene, and secondly of really not wanting to see some 70-year-old man's (or woman's) junk when I'm having lunch.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Riddle101 wrote: »
    In ending this i just want to make the case that there is nothing wrong with nudity. There is nothing to be offended by, grossed out by, turned off by, or considered unnatural about nudity a general way. But that's my opinion anyway.

Aye, for the majority of our prehistory, Homo Sapiens we were as naked as other animals. Then we began to cover up with animal skins and foliage, but we don't know the point at which nudity became taboo. Nothing wrong with it IMO. That said, I do prefer the t-shirt and jeans though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭valoren

It's ok watching two grown men pummel the sevens shades of crap out of each other as they roll around in a cocktail of their own blood and sweat but a flash of mickey and they're like

http://vignette1.wikia.nocookie.net/meme/images/b/b6/Scared_yao.png/revision/latest?cb=20141110120752

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Recently there was a story about people saying that they saw Conor McGregor's penis during his fight with Nate Diaz on Saturday. It was his thumb from a bad camera angle, but people were convinced they saw his penis and seemed genuinely grossed out by it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

It's not uncomfortable, it's a question firstly of hygiene, and secondly of really not wanting to see some 70-year-old man's (or woman's) junk when I'm having lunch.

Please do continue...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

Don't look so.
    There was an aul wan on the radio moaning about kids in shorts in mass.. again, don't be looking!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

I think it's incredible that you can be arrested for being naked.
    Why?
    It's the way everyone came into the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Nudity, meh... Although some at least will get sexual gratification from flashing etc.

However, where I disagree is where scenes can be debasing. GoT, in my opinion has been criticised, and not without justification, in earlier seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I don't think we have the weather for it.

Please do continue...
    Allow me to cite the recent thread on Skid Marks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

I've noticed that there seems to be a negative attitude towards nudity
    You only have to look at the reaction (and outrage among many conservative commentators) to even the thought of women being allowed to walk around topless here and on other social media a few weeks ago to see how far we have to go in terms of being accepting of full nudity for either gender in public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

It's not the bare bottoms that bothers me, it's the sitting down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

The Spike! :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,346 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Absolutely nothing wrong with the naked body. Society really has a ridiculous degree of hang up about nudity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

On the Naked Attraction show, you see the uncertainty from the women wondering if they're looking at showers or growers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,677 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Humans look stupid, we don't have enough fur and we've no tails. we look like those hairless cats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Nthing wrong with the human body. Nothing to be ashamed of. I'm a believer in privacy and the sanctity of nudity, though. A lot of the time this is brought up by exhibitionists who want to normalise their exhibitionism.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,346 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I've swam and sunbathed nude many times in the past and for me I like the freedom of the activity. I put up a thread on nude swimming and I was heartened by the positive responses that followed. Ireland may be pretty hung up on nudity but its not as bad as some people might suppose.

Continental Europeans - especially the Germans, Dutch and Scandinavians, are much less hung up on nudity than us Irish and the British. In Germany, you are expected to use a sauna in the nude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

It's grand when you're at home I suppose but I wouldn't be a fan of walking around with absolutely nothing on. Sleeping nude is the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭taytobreath

thats weird, theres a programme on right now on rte plus 1 "scannal" about nudity, there was huge controversy about an actor on some programme back in 1978 posing nude for artists to draw. the programme was axed because of it.

funnily enough they showed the nude scene just there a few mins ago and not after the usual 9pm time. so we have come this far at least.
    this is the programme http://www.rte.ie/tv/scannal/scannalthespike.html

There's nothing wrong with nudity at all, until one morning you step out on the hall and there's the back view of your 90 year old Granddad on his way to christen the toilet.

If everyone got naked, there'd be a lot of stuff you'd spend a lot of time trying to unsee.

Also, butt scratching, farting on chairs, touching bread in supermarkets (already does my head in), and not least, the weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

War of the Worlds, with Tom Cruise, was given a 12 rating even though it shows people being disintegrated by a hostile alien race and people being drained of their blood to feed the aliens.
    A film that shows bare breasts or has "f*ck" or "cvnt" said a number of times is considered suitable only for people who are old enough to legally die for their Country.

We have our priorities seriously fvcked up.

That said, I only want slim, attractive women to be naked. Some things cannot be unseen...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

To be objecting to nudity in a TV show seems whiney for no good reason all right, but in mundane situations clothes have a practical purpose - heat, protection, privacy and hygiene. They weren't invented by the church, they're not oppressive - they're just a thing that became the norm many thousands of years ago.

I do find it a bit bewildering when people go on about "hangups" in relation to nudity if a person just isn't into naturism/sitting in a sauna with a bunch of naked strangers (crikey, that seems like one of the least fun things ever).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭questionmark?

JupiterKid wrote: »

Continental Europeans - especially the Germans, Dutch and Scandinavians, are much less hung up on nudity than us Irish and the British. In Germany, you are expected to use a sauna in the nude.

Ah ya but they don't have good old catholic guilt like Ireland. My experience of the Germans and Swedes is that they are happiest when it's all hanging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

JupiterKid wrote: »

It's not that it is expected, it is just very unhygienic to wear swimwear in the sauna, so it's for a practical reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

The more normalised public nudity becomes, the more often people who possibly shouldn't take their clothes off in public WlLL take them off.

Always seems to be the way it works. Some heavy set lady or a guy with old wrinkled balls, on a beach in Dalkey, naked as the day they were born, staring out into the sunset drinking a coffee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Context is everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

we have to pretend to kids its a little bit naughty or they'd be pulling down their pants and running around butt naked all the time. that then sticks I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭rjpf1980

mzungu wrote: »
    Aye, for the majority of our prehistory, Homo Sapiens we were as naked as other animals. Then we began to cover up with animal skins and foliage, but we don't know the point at which nudity became taboo. Nothing wrong with it IMO. That said, I do prefer the t-shirt and jeans though.

Perhaps when agriculture began and land had to be passed on from generation to generation and when people began to live in towns and villages and evenrually cities. When a man's wife became his property - the origin of marriage - her nakedness became his property too.
    In hunter gathering societies a man with a well developed body was a natural hunter and leader and a large penis was a sign of status perhaps the origin of phallic worship?
    When property became the status symbol the man with property was no longer ripped but pudgy and fat and ugly. He could buy a beautiful wife but would be threatened by nudity as his wife would naturally be attracted to a man with a hot body.
    If a woman was too skinny or fat had small breasts or big droopy boobs or unsightly body hair her chances of getting a husband were slim or if she expected more attractive people to obey her orders if they were in subservient positions being naked was an obvious disadvantage.
    To keep working men focused on their jobs in the fields or working a trade women were covered up.
    Homosexuality and lesbianism were not taboos for the same reason until labour gangs of men and women had to be put together to work.
    Asexual clothing in the military religious orders or among slaves eliminates personhood and sexual urges as much as possible.
    A strapping muscular young man is less likely to take orders from a pigeon chested pale short sighted geek if he is naked.
    Women with status - who came from wealthy families with property - would have to be controlled made to be ashamed to be nude made to cover up and not be mixing with men so they would pure and virginal on their wedding night.
    Until a man had money and property he could not marry and have sex with a woman unless he was married to her and women did not have sex with anyone except their husband and only for the purpose of conceiving.
    Therefore nudity became taboo.
    This how it was possible for men like Hitler or Goebbels or Himmler to give orders to millions.
    If these monsters were naked they would have looked ridiculous talking about the master race.
    Put a uniform on a runt like Napoleon and he is suddenly transformed.
    A shrewish woman like Thatcher or Hilarious suddenly commands attention and obedience when she wears a power suit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

Don't get me wrong, i'm not going to stop wearing clothes, or start strutting around in the nip.

This bit killed my interest in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

No one is forced to watch game of thrones or naked dating,
    not everyone looks good nude,
    many people look better dressed and i,m not talking about fat people .
    Most people don,t have the ideal model type body .
    i,m glad that we have the 9pm rule on tv.
    Any teen can type nude pic into a browser on a phone or a laptop.
    i think nudity has lost its shock value .
    When i was 18 the web did not exist ,if you wanted to see a nude woman
    you ,d have to buy a magazine , or maybe watch a film on channel 4 .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,796 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

riclad wrote: »
    No one is forced to watch game of thrones or naked dating,
    not everyone looks good nude,
    many people look better dressed and i,m not talking about fat people .
    Most people don,t have the ideal model type body .
    i,m glad that we have the 9pm rule on tv.
    Any teen can type nude pic into a browser on a phone or a laptop.
    i think nudity has lost its shock value .
    When i was 18 the web did not exist ,if you wanted to see a nude woman
    you ,d have to buy a magazine , or maybe watch a film on channel 4 .

buy a magazine? did ye not find them in hedges like everybody else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

I'm glad we don't all go around in the nuddypants all the time. I don't want flappy boobies until I'm, say, 50?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,770 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Sure everyone loved Eurotrash, except with the parents present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭NikoTopps

I was in Greece a few months back visiting my boyfriends family, he brought me to this beach and all of a sudden the people around me started stripping off. It was a nudist beach! Very common in tourist areas there. He deliberately said nothing just to see my reaction and I wouldn't mind but there was signs everywhere in English saying about it :rolleyes: I was mortified at first but once you stop assuming nudity is something sexual then it's totally fine. Was a very freeing experience and great crack! (:pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

NikoTopps wrote: »
    I was in Greece a few months back visiting my boyfriends family, he brought me to this beach and all of a sudden the people around me started stripping off. It was a nudist beach! Very common in tourist areas there. He deliberately said nothing just to see my reaction and I wouldn't mind but there was signs everywhere in English saying about it :rolleyes: I was mortified at first but once you stop assuming nudity is something sexual then it's totally fine. Was a very freeing experience and great crack! (:pac:)

crack or craic.... just for clarification :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭na1

So if nothing wrong with nudity:

why do nudists object people fapping on them?
    why do people object someone take their child naked photo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭indioblack

I like being naked - the magistrate disagreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭NikoTopps

jester77 wrote: »
    crack or craic.... just for clarification :pac:

Spelling was intentional!:pac:

There was plenty of craic had and plenty of crack seen! Haha:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

It's a bit of a student confection that we're hung up on nudity.

I just don't measure how daring my sense of non-conformity and sexual liberation is against whether I have to see a panoply of flabby middle-aged bodies (including mine) in every facet of public life.