Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Jeep to Buy

• 24-08-2016 2:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭

Hi All, I am wondering what mid range jeep to buy that wouldn't be too bad on diesel and that would do some towing with a cow box. Price range would be 2000-4000 euro.

Any advise welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭feartuath

Any Hilux up to 05 model is in your price range extremely light on juice compared to my old discovery but don't be in a hurry towing anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭FeelTheBern

Early 00's Landcruiser would be my recommendation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭kk.man

A box van...Ford Connect etc....great savings on fuel by far better than any jeep..plenty of room..tow all day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Early 00's Landcruiser would be my recommendation.
    a clean looking 1 here

http://www.tomlane4x4.ie/viewanad.php?ad_id=1526991&r=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

sell you a clean 2005 pajero sport. in that budget

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

orm0nd wrote: »

That is a grand looking jeep. Impossible to wear them out I'm told

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Willfarman wrote: »
    That is a grand looking jeep. Impossible to wear them out I'm told

chassis is breaking down in some LWBs that age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

these wernt bad either, actually saw that jeep last year, very clean

http://www.cahir4x4centre.ie/viewanad.php?ad_id=1224945&r=

rangler1 wrote: »
    chassis is breaking down in some LWBs that age

😳 I wonder should a man get hi sprayed with some protective paint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

Willfarman wrote: »
    😳 I wonder should a man get hi sprayed with some protective paint?

I have an old shape 03 D4d LWB. I did the rear shocks last week and must say there was no corrosion of any description, even no surface rust. It is a clean jeep though.

maidhc wrote: »
    I have an old shape 03 D4d LWB. I did the rear shocks last week and must say there was no corrosion of any description, even no surface rust. It is a clean jeep though.

yea
    Two neighbours have traded them here for that reason in the last year, first one i heard surprised me, the owner just said, well you don't see many around from the nineties, suppose is true in Ireland anyway.
    His looked as fresh as the one posted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭foxer3640

A couple of neighbors of mine have picked up sangyong jeeps for that type of work in the last couple of years. Seem to be reliable enough with the Mercedes engine etc. Coming at handy money too at around 4 grand or so

foxer3640 wrote: »
    A couple of neighbors of mine have picked up sangyong jeeps for that type of work in the last couple of years. Seem to be reliable enough with the Mercedes engine etc. Coming at handy money too at around 4 grand or so

Anything but reliable... I honestly wouldn't take a gift of one! Land Rover discovery have a lot of merit if you don't mind tinkering and spannering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Squatman

Mercedes ml270. About 30 to the gallon. Auto very nice for towing with. Dont own one but did drive one a few weeks back. Seemingly reliable. Cheap too

Squatman wrote: »
    Mercedes ml270. About 30 to the gallon. Auto very nice for towing with. Dont own one but did drive one a few weeks back. Seemingly reliable. Cheap too

Plus u can get 5 seater commercial

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭ford4610

Lads, i was thinking a Hyundai santa fe or a KIA Sorrento. What ye think?

ford4610 wrote: »
    Lads, i was thinking a Hyundai santa fe or a KIA Sorrento. What ye think?

Toyota avenis would pull as much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Salrub

What do ye reckon about Toyota hilux around 08-2010? Looking into them but wondering any reliability issues with them? Also is now a good time to maybe bring one in from England with the way price with sterling is now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭queueeye

Salrub wrote: »
    What do ye reckon about Toyota hilux around 08-2010? Looking into them but wondering any reliability issues with them? Also is now a good time to maybe bring one in from England with the way price with sterling is now?

Great machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

One of the best jeeps going. A neighbour got one in from the uk with only 70k miles and had to fit a drawbar himself :P some good bargains to be got

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Would you want to get the 3.0 litre hilux for trailer work or would the 2.5 do?

I got great value in a new 2.5 because they're a poor seller, so maybe they're value secondhand as well. how much trailer work are you doing. They're both supposed to generate around the same horsepower/torque.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I got great value in a new 2.5 because they're a poor seller, so maybe they're value secondhand as well. how much trailer work are you doing. They're both supposed to generate around the same horsepower/torque.

How do you find yours towing ?

FIL said he had to service a 08 eng import hilux and he said it will never again pass the doe from rust.

Bullocks wrote: »
    How do you find yours towing ?

Happy enough with it, 2 ton fertiliser would be the most it tows, or 12 by 5 with 24 lambs so had no concerns when i was buying it. it was under 30k at the time cmpared with over 35 was the best i could do on the 3ltr in 2012, probably would've done better in kanes.

Just looked up the specs there, there is a big difference in their power, obviously i didn't think it important forthe towing i was doing.

http://media.toyota.co.uk/wp-content/files_mf/1351767083TOYOTAHILUXTECHNICALSPECIFICATION.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Salrub

Yeah suppose that's the risk with importing from England with all the salt on the roads over there. Would be looking for a close cabin one to carry tools aswell as farm work. Anyone any suggestions with any good dealers either here in Ireland or up north. Would be hoping to source one with low enough mileage without any hardship on it. Thanks in advance

Wouldn't be doing a whole lot to be fair. Won't be buying anything in the very near future, but kids starting to get older and a Crewcab would be ideal.

I like the crewcab, have a canopy on it as well and dirty stuff/dogs go there and no smells coming up to the driver/passengers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Grueller

Just be aware with the hilux that pre 2012 as far as I remember is tiny in its towing capacity. It can only legally tow 2.25 tonnes I think. Ifor Williams 12 x 6 box is almost 1 tonne, so two 650 kg cattle and thats it.
    In 2012 they increased to 2.5 tonnes I think. New model is 3.5 tonnes.
    This doesn't compare favourably to other brands like the Dmax which can tow 3.25 tonnes I think from 04 up to the current model which is rated for 3.5.
    Just something to keep in mind when buying a farm workhorse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Grueller wrote: »
    Just be aware with the hilux that pre 2012 as far as I remember is tiny in its towing capacity. It can only legally tow 2.25 tonnes I think. Ifor Williams 12 x 6 box is almost 1 tonne, so two 650 kg cattle and thats it.
    In 2012 they increased to 2.5 tonnes I think. New model is 3.5 tonnes.
    This doesn't compare favourably to other brands like the Dmax which can tow 3.25 tonnes I think from 04 up to the current model which is rated for 3.5.
    Just something to keep in mind when buying a farm workhorse.
    That is something well worth considering. Thanks. How are the Isuzi now? Have they improved since their reputation was shattered some time back?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Just looked up the specs there, there is a big difference in their power, obviously i didn't think it important forthe towing i was doing.

http://media.toyota.co.uk/wp-content/files_mf/1351767083TOYOTAHILUXTECHNICALSPECIFICATION.pdf

I could be off-base here but as I understand it power equates better to top speed and torque matches up best to acceleration/pulling power. Both versions seem to have the same peak torque but it looks like it's available over a wider rev range on the bigger engine.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »
    I could be off-base here but as I understand it power equates better to top speed and torque matches up best to acceleration/pulling power. Both versions seem to have the same peak torque but it looks like it's available over a wider rev range on the bigger engine.

Yea I see that, as I say don't pull heavy loads so the price swung it,

That is something well worth considering. Thanks. How are the Isuzi now? Have they improved since their reputation was shattered some time back?

I have an 06 dmax the last six years and find her ultra reliable. Not as snug as a hilux but not too bad either. The face lift model from 07 on has an extra 30ish bhp and is a better job to tow. The engine in these is not the 3.0 that gave all the bother. I know of one with over 400,000 miles on her and not pampered either. Solid workhorse with very few frills.

Grueller wrote: »
    I have an 06 dmax the last six years and find her ultra reliable. Not as snug as a hilux but not too bad either. The face lift model from 07 on has an extra 30ish bhp and is a better job to tow. The engine in these is not the 3.0 that gave all the bother. I know of one with over 400,000 miles on her and not pampered either. Solid workhorse with very few frills.

Hilux is very comfortable, I tried a Dmax and ranger as well,Dmax sprung too hard and ranger seats too soft...for me anyway

Couldn't disagree with any of that. Hilux was about €5 - 6000 more than the dmax at the time and the lower towing capacity made me decide against one. I am young though and the back doesn't mind hard springs, yet!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭poor farmer

I have a caddy van and a pajero the caddy will do 250 mile to €20 diesel tipping about. I put €25 in the jeep monday.done 96 mile mostly pulling a 12' cattle trailer and the fuel light is on.

Just wondering, would the fuel savings cover the cost of the second cvrt, insurance, tax and general costs of running a second vehicle?
    It wouldn't for me as I only do 10,000 miles per year.