Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do gardai were hats?

• 19-08-2016 10:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭

Like what's the purpose of it?

Damn can't edit title??? Wear hats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

So people can sh*t in them. That's the actual law. Also, a Garda can't arrest you without his hat on, that's another one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Like what's the purpose of it?

Dedicated followers of fashion.

Doh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

To keep their heads warm in the cold and to help prevent sun burn on one of our many days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Omackeral wrote: »
    So people can sh*t in them

Yer man from the green mile?

Why do any uniforms include hats?
    What's the purpose of it?
    Who knows, maybe to shade them from the weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

Somewhere to keep their bacon sarnies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭tracey turnblad

But they could hinder their job.... When they have to chase criminals etc... Not really helpful to the job they do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

1+1=2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Because they're not allowed throw them in the air when they leave Templemore.

Duh.

Not only do they wear hats... They are issues with two... Garda Uniform - Members are issued with two types of cap - one for wearing with their operational uniform and one for wearing with formal uniform. Garda caps have chin straps to keep caps in place in windy conditi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

More hats = more authority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Tis a little-known fact that they have a blade inserted in the peak, just like the peaky blinders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

So people can sh*t in them. That's the actual law. Also, a Garda can't arrest you without his hat on, that's another one.
    And they have to give you their tie to wipe your arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

So people can sh*t in them. That's the actual law.

You're almost right. Only a pregnant woman can demand a Garda's hat to pee in.

And only a pregnant man can demand a Garda's hat to shít in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Why do gardai were hats?

For doughnut storage.

Everytime I see that 'were' it hurts my soul... Can anyone edit it please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

In the old days it made them look 4 inches taller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Everytime I see that 'were' it hurts my soul... Can anyone edit it please
    We're is this Tracey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭slaneylad

Part of the uniform

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

I'm assuming to make them easily identifiable in more crowded areas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭2forjoy

I'm assuming to make them easily identifiable in more crowded areas

its the opposite actually , sure you ever watch crimecall and all the robbers wear peak caps , and no one can recognise them on CCTV .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Guards are prone to getting silly haircuts. Those hats are necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

untrue....how come anytime I'm arrested they say "step into the back and mind de hats"

Back in the olden days when everyone wore hats, the police needed a distinctive type of hat to be recognised amongst the criminals who also wore hats, like the bankers bowler hats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Evolution.

Just like we evolved from apes, Gardai evolved from hats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Why do kings wear crowns?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

To keep their balls warm?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Ah ha now I see!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

It makes easier for them to stand on their head. They can also be stacked more efficiently on top of each other back at the station for recharging. If the pay cuts keep coming I suppose they could use them while busking.

I've run out of silly answers. **** old age.

I assume hats exist to depersonalize the individual. It's a psychological apparatus of order and authority, bestowing rank on a wearer, like any uniform.

Also so pregnant women can piss in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Gardai wear caps not hats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Wouldn't a hat have come in handy for the Brazilian policeman when PH answered the door in the nip.