Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fleadh 2016 Ennis will not know what hit it.

• 17-08-2016 8:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭

So the Fleadh is here, Ennis will not know what has hit it. 100,000 people parting.
    Last years Fleadh I camped on the side of the road.
    Popped a yoke at the main stage. Went all night drinking in some crazy after hours pub.
    Was shifting some bird from the North out the back of the pub.
    Ah happy days !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Zxclnic

6541 wrote: »
    So the Fleadh is here, Ennis will not know what has hit it. 100,000 people parting.
    Last years Fleadh I camped on the side of the road.
    Popped a yoke at the main stage. Went all night drinking in some crazy after hours pub.
    Was shifting some bird from the North out the back of the pub.
    Ah happy days !

Parting is such sweet sorrow....and that's before they even arrive!

Show your rugged manliness by exiting the public house with your Northern sweetheart through the front door and with your head held high like any normal person and NOT by 'shifting her out the back' like an unwieldy piece of furniture.
    Sex, or the prospect of, is nothing to be ashamed of in the new Ireland.

As for ''popping your yoke'', that comes later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

'Tis like some Christy Moore lyric, after suffering a minor brain bleed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,733 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Dum dicka dum dicka dum dicka dum dicka thunk! Said Bodhrandude.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

as long as you weren't shifting some yoke from the North..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

100,000 leaving doesn't seem like much craic at all.

Ennis will handle the Fleadh no problem, sure don't they have the trad in their bones there, just look out for the fiddle and concertina army. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

"I got me hole at the Fleadh Ceoil"

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Ceol, caint, agus craic

Ceol , ole agus hole

It's a long long way from Clare to here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

The Willie Clancy week back in Miltown is all the craic of the fleadh, just further West ;)

Apparently Galway is trying to get it for 2020.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I love the Fleadh.

As a general rule, diddly dee pays fcuk all bills, but put it this way, since the Fleadh in Derry a couple of years ago, my accountant now does my books from a beach in St Lucia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Is that Donal Lunny fecker going to be there with his bouzouki? He thinks he invented folk and traditional music!

Apparently Galway is trying to get it for 2020.

That's a long wait to get it;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I don't know what that is but ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Bit late but TG4 are showing 3.5 hrs of it. Started at 8.30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,920 ✭✭✭buried

Mad skills from Frankie Gavin. He'd out fiddle the Devil himself

Make America Get Out of Here

Well enjoyed the Fleadh but not the weather, the weather completely ruined the weekend, scattering outdoor sessions into the already crammed pubs. The only pub I could get a seat in was the Michael Kerins Bar and in the smoking section too, some of the best sessions was in there. I had a lovely tune with the piper Kevin Rowsome and all the hippies were playing through here so liberal amounts of weed puffed too. I couldn't stand Cruise's, normally a great pub for a tune but horribly packed and noisy so you could hardly hear a note from the two sessions within an ear shot. My favourite memory was looking into a shoe shop and there were 8 musicians giving it laldey with a few tunes in amongst the racks of shoes and the really brightly lit shop, brilliant. Lets hope Ennis gets better weather next year for the fleadh, typically the Monday after the sun is splitting the stones but thankfully loads have stayed behind and are out playing in the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

Did anyone see the band that were playing Pogues covers on the Daniel O'Connell monument ?
    They were seriously good, I would love to find out their name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Was a great atmosphere around the town, seen a party in a hairdressers on Sunday evening, load of people dancing inside the shop, singsongs on the street, all good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

I have one observation, I don't know did we find the right pubs, but I found the pubs in Ennis a bit stale, maybe we just did not find the right ones.