Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running watches?

Options
  • 14-08-2016 5:41pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭

Hi all, I'm planning on buying a running watch in the next couple weeks. I've no idea where to start. What are the best watches? What would people here recommend? I've heard good things about Garmin. But then that's only because it's the only brand of running watch I can name off the top of my head. What features are a must have? Which ones are unnecessary? Are Garmin overrated? I'm completely new to the idea of running watches.

I'd imagine the main things I'd want out of it would be the ability to tell the time, the ability to track my distances, and a GPS. I don't know what other features would be useful, though I'm sure there are some I'm unaware of that I'd love. I've been running for ~1.5 years and am currently in training for the DCM2016.

Thanks.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

http://m.thesweethome.com/reviews/best-running-watch/

You probably won't regret getting a Forerunner 220/225/230/235. There are a few other options recommended above to suit a variety of budgets.

• Registered Users Posts: 392 ✭✭Seanie_H

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

Cheers lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭uvox

Suunto Kailash. Superb bit of kit and looks good in the office.

http://www.suunto.com/Watch-Collection/Suunto-Kailash-Collection/

Recommended. Well worth the grand it costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

uvox wrote: »
    Suunto Kailash. Superb bit of kit and looks good in the office.