Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Change Eir F2000 router for a ?

• 02-08-2016 8:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭

I'm thinking of changing the f2000 for an asus DSL-AC68U

http://www.elara.ie/productdetail.aspx?productcode=ECE3203033

It "looks the business" but I'm not sure about train up on Eir DSL, will it be ok?
    Any issues from Eir if i use that?
    And I'll have to get the Eir VDSL password?

What say ye? yay or nay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

VDSL2/ADSL2+/ADSL2/ADSL multimode
    Up to 100Mbps/100Mbps upstream/downstream
    Support Annex A/B/I/J/L/M
    Support all VDSL2 profiles -8a, 8b, 8c, 8d, 12a, 12b, 17a and 30a
    VDSL2 interface compliance with ITU-T993.2
    G.992.1 (G.dmt), Annex A, and B Compliant
    G.992.2 (G.lite), Annex A, and B Compliant
    ANSI T1.413 Compliant
    G.992.3 (ADSL2) Compliant, Annex A, B, L, and M
    G.992.5 (ADSL2+) Compliant, Supporting Annex A, B, and M
    G.993.2 Compliant, Annex A, B, up to profile 30a with external AFE.
    G.993.5 (Vectoring)
    ATM and PTM (dual-priority)

The only potential problem is vectoring, other modems have claimed to support it but failed to activate with OpenEirs Huawei DSLAM.

Unless you can find an example of it working I'd purchase from Amazon(UK or DE/FR) so that you can avail of easy returns in the case of it not vectoring and giving you a 30% slowdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭jspuds

Cheaper here http://www.komplett.ie/asus-dsl-ac68u-ac1900-modem-router/20498060/details.aspx

I had that router a year ago and sent it back as wouldn't work with Vectoring, they promised it would work eventually with firmware updates but I lost patience and returned it, might be ok now though

jspuds wrote: »
    Cheaper here http://www.komplett.ie/asus-dsl-ac68u-ac1900-modem-router/20498060/details.aspx

I had that router a year ago and sent it back as wouldn't work with Vectoring, they promised it would work eventually with firmware updates but I lost patience and returned it, might be ok now though

Komplett list it as ADSL only. Earlier version or bad listing Im not sure.
    DSL connection ADSL2+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭jspuds

Fairly sure there is only one model https://www.asus.com/ie/Networking/DSLAC68U/

Had a look at the downloads and there are 30 firmware revisions, so might be working with vectoring by now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Hou1ie

Sorry for hi-jacking this thread, but does anybody have any recommendations for a replacement for the F2000?
    My problem: I regularly get the following error in my System Log

2010-01-01 00:01:10 Security Warning Detect UDP port scan attack, scan packet from 192.168.1.51.

I think the router is detecting a false positive.
    This time the IP address is of an Android device on my home n/w (could be a phone, could be a Chromecast - not sure), but the IP address is not consistent...in the past it was a Plug computer running Debian + a bittorrent client.
    Also note the date/time of the warning.

When this happens I loose internet connectivity, and it won't come back until I reboot/reset the router....cue a household of internet junkies moaning at Dad (i.e. me)

I contacted Eir about problem, they eventually sent a new router but its not much better tbh.

Any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭mass_debater

Bridge the F2000 and add a decent router

Pardon my ignorance...."Bridge the router"
    Does this mean keep the F2000, but instead of having devices connected to it, connect another router to it (RouterB say) and have have all devices connect to RouterB. RouterB then provides DHCP, default gateway to home network etc.

If so, then I'd have to buy another device as RouterB anyway so why not just buy something that can replace the F2000?

Also I read elsewhere (yes I know, random post on the internet so it must be true) that there are issues with bridging the F2000 but not sure what they would be

Hou1ie wrote: »
    Pardon my ignorance...."Bridge the router"
    Does this mean keep the F2000, but instead of having devices connected to it, connect another router to it (RouterB say) and have have all devices connect to RouterB. RouterB then provides DHCP, default gateway to home network etc.

If so, then I'd have to buy another device as RouterB anyway so why not just buy something that can replace the F2000?

Also I read elsewhere (yes I know, random post on the internet so it must be true) that there are issues with bridging the F2000 but not sure what they would be

No issues with bridging the F2000 but the WAN link must be up when you bridge it. Bridging gives you the choice of any high end Ethernet router. Just add PPPoE to the router so it logs in and gets an IP from Eir, then it handles your LAN. There are very few modem/routers that support vectoring on Eir, I could count them on one hand.

Had to go off and see what "vectoring" was, never heard of it before.
    So what you're saying is that any router I get has to support vectoring on Eir, there's feck all of them that do it, so I have no real options but to continue using the F2000?
    I'm still trying to get my head around bridging...I get it at the very basic level (I think) but I don't get who has to be set up in bridge mode and what I need to configure where

(by the way, thanks for the advice)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Dero

Basically, both the F2000 and the DSL-AC68U are combined VDSL modems, routers/wireless APs. The vectoring is a function of the modem component, and this does not work (with Eir) on the DSL-AC68U. So essentially, bridging the F2000 keeps it functioning as a modem (with vectoring), and passes off the routing to another device.

You can choose any device you want here, as you do not need the (V)DSL modem capability, just the routing/wireless AP.

You configure your F2000 as a bridge, connect it to the DSL line with a phone cable, and to the WAN port of your new router via Ethernet cable. You then configure the new router with your Eir PPPoE details and your wireless/firewall settings etc. and off you go.

While bridging does indeed mean that you have two devices, from my experience it's easier that way. My router has a built-in VDSL modem and apparently does support vectoring, but it syncs at a lower line speed than the F2000. So I still have the F2000 bridged.

ok, gotcha...
    now a dumb, verging on embarrassing question, have looked around F2000 config pages looking for a simple "Bridge Mode" check-box and can't find one.
    There's a page Internet | Layer2Bridging but that doesn't look right. Where should I be looking?

(and yes I'm quite embarrassed to ask)

ok, gotcha...
    now a dumb, verging on embarrassing question, have looked around F2000 config pages looking for a simple "Bridge Mode" check-box and can't find one.
    There's a page Internet | Layer2Bridging but that doesn't look right. Where should I be looking?

(and yes I'm quite embarrassed to ask)

388263.png

Thank you very much

One final question: mass_debater says that the WLAN link must be up before I put F200 into bridge mode - all grand - but will there be any problem if it comes back up after a power outage? ie it will be coming up in bridge mode but the WLAN link won't have been synched yet. I'd be hoping that everything will come back up hunky-dory but if not .....

When you select bridge mode it reboots and disables wireless, NAT and all the firewall functions. It stays this way surviving reboots until you factory reset it

lovely hurling - I'm off to get a decent router :)
    Any recommendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

I replaced the F2000 today. The dsl was up and down again, the wife's new phone couldn't connect for some in inexplicable reason.
    I'd spent a day on that alone never mind the lost internet for whole gaff and IPTV down.
    I just lost the head last night and went and got a Netgear D7000. Works fine, maybe a little faster than the F2000 so Vectoring works.
    The IPTV was easy enough too... just to remember to put it in VLAN 10 too. It's a pricy box and something cheaper might be as good, but I had a "life's too short for this crap" moment and the wallet reluctantly came out ;-)
    Before I got the efibre I had a TP-Link 8890 and it was decent on ADSL, the 9980 model might be an ok choice if the VDSL works right.

Tea if you have a minute spare over the weekend it'd be lovely to see line stats from both units posted side by side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

I was going to buy that netgear one when I got the archer c9. There was a bit of confusion over the price and I think it was around €230. The archer was €170 iirc.

ED E wrote: »
    Tea if you have a minute spare over the weekend it'd be lovely to see line stats from both units posted side by side.
    First off ED E, I haven't said thanks to you and the other guys for the advice, much appreciated. Now, sure, which stats are you interested in ?
    Here's a grab of the interfaces on the D7000. For the F2000 what are you interested in, should I leave it up for 30 minutes with IPTV and maybe some downloads then check the interfaces?

Cheers man.

No probs, its great info for the community (we should probably start collating a list).

Those VDSL stats are flat after a few minutes, the matching screen for Up/Down Rate, Attenuation, SNR would be great.

guil wrote: »
    I was going to buy that netgear one when I got the archer c9. There was a bit of confusion over the price and I think it was around €230. The archer was €170 iirc.

That's crazy money for a wireless router IMO. This is half the price, has similar wireless hardware and a better linux based software OS. The Mikrotik quickset and webfig web configuration gui make them pretty easy to configure now.

http://routerboard.com/RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT
    http://www.ip-sa.com.pl/rb962uigs-5hact2hnt-p-2053.html

I agree, Mikrotix are great value, and good gear. However, RouterOS has quite a steep learning curve, so I'm not sure I would recommend one to a non-enthusiast.

Yes, it will work "out of the box", but to get anywhere near the best from it, you have to get your hands dirty on the command line.

I currently use a Linux box/iptables for my firewall/router, but I'll be getting a hEX soon as the current solution is a VM in my main server, and I think a standalone box is better.

You don't need to get your hands dirty, the web gui is something that's greatly improved in latest versions. You can one click change from a router to access point in quick set and all your basic configuration settings are on a single page

Yeah, fair enough. I'm probably a bit behind on where the web gui/winbox are at. In which case, yeah, I would definitely recommend a Mikrotik. :)

It was more of a spur of the moment purchase and I have absolutely patience with online shopping. I wasn't everything yesterday lol.

I bought the C9 in PC world. I'm sure I could have got it much cheaper online. The day I bought it I was driving all over the place for a C7 and got pissed off after driving around kildare and Dublin.

Dero wrote: »
    I agree, Mikrotix are great value, and good gear. However, RouterOS has quite a steep learning curve, so I'm not sure I would recommend one to a non-enthusiast.

Yes, it will work "out of the box", but to get anywhere near the best from it, you have to get your hands dirty on the command line.

I currently use a Linux box/iptables for my firewall/router, but I'll be getting a hEX soon as the current solution is a VM in my main server, and I think a standalone box is better.
    I work on Cisco, HP Alcatel etc. I don't know about you but I don't want to learn some archaic OS which is useless to my career in my spare time.
    I have to study enough in spare time to keep up with certs etc. If I want to play there's always GNS 3 to make a nice lab ;-)
    guil wrote: »
    It was more of a spur of the moment purchase and I have absolutely patience with online shopping. I wasn't everything yesterday lol.

I bought the C9 in PC world. I'm sure I could have got it much cheaper online. The day I bought it I was driving all over the place for a C7 and got pissed off after driving around kildare and Dublin.
    Life's too short. If yer stuck yer stuck. I'm happy with my purchase as is the missus and I'd literally pay ANY price for that lol

I work on Cisco, HP Alcatel etc. I don't know about you but I don't want to learn some archaic OS which is useless to my career in my spare time.
    I have to study enough in spare time to keep up with certs etc. If I want to play there's always GNS 3 to make a nice lab ;-)

Life's too short. If yer stuck yer stuck. I'm happy with my purchase as is the missus and I'd literally pay ANY price for that lol

I was trying to get the D7000 for the price of the R7000 lol nearly sure it was €180 and chances my arm. It was the only one on the shelf and €180 was under it. I would have preferred to get the modem/router but if I came home with a receipt for €230 I would have been hung drawn and quartered lol.

There we go, the F2000 stats

Thanks Tea Time.
    D7000:
    RATE 87016 / 20356
    ATTN 7.4 / 2.2
    SNRM 19.4 / 8.8

F2000:
    RATE 87016 / 20478
    ATTN 8 / 12
    SNRM ? / ?

If you're 600m out then 87 is pretty high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭MrGarak

Has anyone looked at the new Archer VR-900 V2 from TP-Link?

I think it's coming out on the 23rd December to replace the V1 model, seems pretty nice!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-Archer-VR900-V2-Wireless/dp/B01N2LSLMH/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1481973718&sr=8-2&keywords=TP-Link+Archer+VR900

Not sure if it has any clear advantages over the Netgear D7000 or ASUS DSL-AC68U but it's similarly priced. Any idea if it's compatible with vectoring?

My F1000 is sitting on 97% RAM usage (even shortly after a restart) and no wireless AC so thinking about an upgrade!

Dont buy a VDSL router. Get your ISPs cheap CPE and bridge to a cable router of your choosing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭catfax

MrGarak wrote: »

I think it's coming out on the 23rd December to replace the V1 model, seems pretty nice!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-Archer-VR900-V2-Wireless/dp/B01N2LSLMH/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1481973718&sr=8-2&keywords=TP-Link+Archer+VR900

Not sure if it has any clear advantages over the Netgear D7000 or ASUS DSL-AC68U but it's similarly priced. Any idea if it's compatible with vectoring?

My F1000 is sitting on 97% RAM usage (even shortly after a restart) and no wireless AC so thinking about an upgrade!

I have the Netgear D6400 and the DSL-AC68U.

Both support vectoring, the Netgear just works once you apply the settings, the AC68U requires a bit more work but it matches my 100Mbps downstream and 20Mbps upstream after some tweaks.

With the Asus dismiss the network setup wizard (it's eircom profile doesnt support VDSL) and go straight to administration, apply a new password and save otherwise you get locked out requiring a factory reset to re-do the wizard. Update firmware to the latest version too of course.

Then for the VDSL settings on Asus, below is what works for me.
    DSL Line settings - under administration
    WAN internet connection & settings - under WAN
    Resulting DSL stats

I'm no network expert so those were gotten via experimentation but it seems stable the past few days and speed is same as netgear or f1000 modem/router.

Netgear settings just in case anyone wants them, they are all on one page in the netgear gui at least on the model I got.
    Select Country: Ireland
    Select Internet Service Provider: Eircom
    Transfer Mode: PTM
    DSL Mode: VDSL2
    Multiplexing: LLC-BASED
    VPI: 8
    VCI: 35
    USE VLANID: set to 10 (priority is left at zero)
    Does your internet require a login: Yes
    Encapsulation: PPPoE
    User name: eircom@eircom.net
    Password: broadband1
    Internet IP Address: Get Dynamically from ISP
    Domain Name Server (DNS) Address: Get Automatically from ISP
    NAT (Network Address Translation): Enable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭TBi

MrGarak wrote: »

I had a D7000 and returned it. Damned thing had such a slow interface. Got a VR900 v1 instead and am very happy with it. I wanted an all in one box, had bridged for years. I heard bad things about the Asus model due to the dsl chip used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭MrGarak

Thanks for the great info all, much appreciated!

I like the look of the Archer VR2600 too (mainly the improved Wi-Fi speeds) but it's fairly pricey and maybe a bit overkill!

ED E made a fair point also about just bridging the modem, which may be the best option for full compatibility and ease of setup, so I'll definitely consider that as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Wizard!

Any of you, who have the D7000, is using the TV bundle ?
    I cannot make it connect (synchronizes, but I have no internet), and I spoke with tech-sup, but they weren't very helpful.

Can someone please post it's settings ?

Tell us what you've tried.

ED E wrote: »
    Tell us what you've tried.
    I've been trying since this afternoon.
    I tried almost any combination, so there are many to put them here.
    I also tried this:
    http://kb.netgear.com/29326/How-to-do-VLAN-Tagging-IPTV-Setup-for-D6220-D7000?cid=wmt_netgear_organic

Ok, got it to work.
    I tried this
    http://kb.netgear.com/29326/How-to-do-VLAN-Tagging-IPTV-Setup-for-D6220-D7000
    But rebooted afterwards.
    Now it's working!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭SeanDeng

Hi

Can I get some help on this topic please.

I got eir fibre extreme (1000mb) and eir vision 2 weeks ago, but keep getting Eir Vision errors.
    My config is as follows:
    - fibre to Eir router (F2000)
    - Eir router in Bridge mode to Asus AC3200
    - Broadband works perfectly

Have I have tried connecting the Eir vision boxes (main/ multi room) directly to the eir router (in bridge mode) and it will work for a while then comes back with an error that I need to be connected to the broadband account for which eir vision is signed up to and also a Geo location error.

I have also connected the Eir vision boxes to the Asus and also get errors or freezing.

Eir have been working with me to resolve the issues and have found a few different account issues , eg, wrong IP's and other setting issues.

I have a few questions :

When I use bridging mode should I connect the eir vision box to the Eir Router (in bridge mode) or to the Asus router. (as above have tried both ways but shill issues)

Can I bridge while continuing to have Eir Vision.?

Can I remove the Eir F2000 and just use the Asus 3200 ? (if yes how do I set up the Eir Vision TV)

What approach would be best.

Thanks in advance
    Sean

Use your existing thread. Splitting conversations just makes it confusing.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=102726830