Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What planet is he Llving on.

• 31-07-2016 1:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

https://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/5-british-freisian-bullocks-/12916206

Now I know we are all out to make a bob. Me no more than anyone else. Looking at these bullocks at the price and weight he is looking for 1.85/kg. Looking at them there are three average FRx and two P-/= bullocks.

Now this is all well and dandy, but if they are averaging less than 400 kgs he is looking for 2/kg for them. If myself, Willfarmer, Bob Charles or even Pudsey arrived into his yard and offered him 550ish euro he act all insulted.

I called to look at cattle Friday evening, March, April fairly nice squarish bullocks, 10+ in total. He had then advertised as 375 kgs approx in weight. They were a nice bit less. He was looking for 680 euro. Now what really got to me was he was a youngish dealer. I offered him 550 expecting him to start to talk turkey.

Now he got silent for a while, then started talking about a fella from Sligo that was calling yesterday sometime and that would buy them. I told him it was a B/H weekend and that the lad was more than likely calling on the way to west Cork for a night or two in Clonakilty. The way I looked at it the lad from Sligo would have access to a lot of FR's at Mayo prices rather than Killmallock or Fermoy prices.

Now mind you in Mayo you will get dreamers as well.

https://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/bulls/12967676

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Bit like selling a car I don't see any problem in sticking stick up at a wee bit more than they're worth to test the water.
    However, when there's a real punter in the yard "talking turkey" as you put it ya have to be real, there's no point in having stock for sale and not willing to sell.

We sell sometimes on DD and TBH it's handy if ya can put up with the messers.

so many fellas have no idea about negotiations, think they must get what they want to hell with the other party. Proper negotiations are about a deal being struck and both parties coming away feeling they did well from
    It.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

https://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/5-british-freisian-bullocks-/12916206

Now I know we are all out to make a bob. Me no more than anyone else. Looking at these bullocks at the price and weight he is looking for 1.85/kg. Looking at them there are three average FRx and two P-/= bullocks.

Now this is all well and dandy, but if they are averaging less than 400 kgs he is looking for 2/kg for them. If myself, Willfarmer, Bob Charles or even Pudsey arrived into his yard and offered him 550ish euro he act all insulted.

I called to look at cattle Friday evening, March, April fairly nice squarish bullocks, 10+ in total. He had then advertised as 375 kgs approx in weight. They were a nice bit less. He was looking for 680 euro. Now what really got to me was he was a youngish dealer. I offered him 550 expecting him to start to talk turkey.

Now he got silent for a while, then started talking about a fella from Sligo that was calling yesterday sometime and that would buy them. I told him it was a B/H weekend and that the lad was more than likely calling on the way to west Cork for a night or two in Clonakilty. The way I looked at it the lad from Sligo would have access to a lot of FR's at Mayo prices rather than Killmallock or Fermoy prices.

Wouldnt be giving any more than 590 for the first add and 480 for the jex/frx lads with the handlebars. There is aiming high with your price but when youd look at those adds youd just think dreamer as bass said and not even call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

_Brian wrote: »

so many fellas have no idea about negotiations, think they must get what they want to hell with the other party. Proper negotiations are about a deal being struck and both parties coming away feeling they did well from
    It.

There is the other side to that too. I buy and sell on dd a bit. For example I had a breeding bull up for sale, one lad from a couple of counties away came to look at him, seemed happy. I was away at the time so I got the old man to show him the bull. I had him up for 250e more that I would take. He rang me and started haggling. He said what's you bottom price and I told him and I said that's it and not a penny less. He still tried haggling. he was giving me 50 less than I wanted, I still said no, then 25 less. He said I had to meet him a bit. I told him I have come along way down from advertised price. He started getting mad saying I won't sell him. I said that's fine, we'll leave it at that. Sold the bull to a local man the same week. Now my point is, after travelling, and phone calls, I dropped 250 and he still fell out over 25e. It's like pride get in the way of some lads. They have to be able to tell their buddy they got a great deal, or knocked more of the price-your man was a soft touch.

That's my point exactly, he wanted things all his way but a proper deal doesn't work like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Alot of wasters out there, my line is " If you dont buy it someone else will and you know my price" then walk away slowly....no time for crap, as for people offering a price without seeing it first :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭kerry cow

Please educate me as I am not fimilar with selling cattle on dd .I can understand selling machinery , cars or bits and bobs there but why would you not want to sell or buy livestock at the mart ring .much more fair and simple .what the advantage of home selling .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

kerry cow wrote: »
    Please educate me as I am not fimilar with selling cattle on dd .I can understand selling machinery , cars or bits and bobs there but why would you not want to sell or buy livestock at the mart ring .much more fair and simple .what the advantage of home selling .
    Some peole dont have time to go to the mart . Also diseases can be picked up at the mart. Alot of lads like to buy calves direct off farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I only ever sold once in the field. All this haggling would drive me nuts. You can't beat buying in the mart.
    Granted for breeding bulls or breeding heifers, you would have a more targeted buyer but still.

Handy for part timers as it saves taking time off work for the mart. Also handy as buyer is doing travelling and you can make appt for lads to call just when it suits you.

I think there's pros and cons for both, we do a bit of both whichever suits.

Ya could have taken a day off work and bring stock to Matt and trade could be poor on the day, then your left with selling lower than wanted or the expense of bringing them home and taking another day off work and bringing them to the mart another day.

Ive never bought an animal in the mart. Nice to be able to walk around a field and see what you are buying up close. If ya cant get close enough to inspect properly....well that means they are stone mad cracked and not worth the hassle of trying to tame. as for the few calves id buy then they have no movements to mart and no mixing with other calves in the mart and being bet around the place by young lads in the mart.

How long would you be getting 10nice stores of any breed for the one price in the mart with all lads bidding against the good ones. Great getting a bunch that are used to each other and comerades. A lad might pay a few bob more than mart but to get an even bunch on the one day in mart is not easy. then you have to look at time lost with a few trips to mart and empty trailer coming home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

How long would you be getting 10nice stores of any breed for the one price in the mart with all lads bidding against the good ones. Great getting a bunch that are used to each other and comerades. A lad might pay a few bob more than mart but to get an even bunch on the one day in mart is not easy. then you have to look at time lost with a few trips to mart and empty trailer coming home.
    That is probably the biggest advantage of selling and buying direct ex farm.
    Haven't sold in the mart in years, prefer to sell and buy ex farm. We have not got time to go to marts and loose a day between hauling cattle and waiting for them to be sold.
    Less disease risk, no dealers, no hassle and no headaches.

But how do ye know the value of cattle? Prices have fallen a lot in the marts since Brexit, so unless you were going to marts regularly, how would you be in tune with prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,603 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

The other side to that is that it comes across as very self entitled and saucy from you to call to a lad on a friday of a bank holiday weekend and start acting like that. I would think the story about the lad from sligo was made up and a polite way to get rid of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

But how do ye know the value of cattle? Prices have fallen a lot in the marts since Brexit, so unless you were going to marts regularly, how would you be in tune with prices.
    I know the costs of rearing from calves so we base our prices on that plus a bit of profit when buying. TBH I am not interested in what someone else is prepared to pay only what we are. Too often fellas get caught out paying over the top for cattle and wonder why they cannot make money.
    We mostly buy in calves and rear them on either to stores or finish. Finish less now due to the feck ups of factories in the past re prices & supply.
    OH was onto a factory getting prices for white head bullocks under 30mths the other day and was told they are not going to give the Hereford bonus "cause we have whiteheads coming outta our ears" - **** :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

I've a funny feeling that Farmer Pudsey would be thinking exactly the same thing as yourself and that he'd be thinking it at exactly the same time as yourself :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

A number of reasons. as another poster put it there is the time issue for both seller and buyer. You are also negating the risk of a bad mart day for both buyer and seller in either a day that demand is sluggish for your type of cattle or that the lads around the ring get a set on you and try to. drive the price on you. As well certain type of cattle like the horned JEx bulls in Mayo can really sell very poor in a mart.

As well as that you have the cost factor mart fees are about 10-12/head for buyer and seller and seller has no transport costs. On a bunch of Fr cattlewith a value of 600 euro that is maybe 30/head to play with. If you are selling 15-20 cattle and 1-2 have issues these may bring the average price way back. There may be a rig in the bunch or an animal with a limp or 2-3 smaller cattle in the bunch.
    JeffKenna wrote: »
    The other side to that is that it comes across as very self entitled and saucy from you to call to a lad on a friday of a bank holiday weekend and start acting like that. I would think the story about the lad from sligo was made up and a polite way to get rid of you.

I rang him and offered to call Friday evening or Saturday. He said Friday suited. He has put them for sale on DD. He is either interested in selling or not. He was serious about the Sligo story.

Now I have only been at two marts in last 3-4 weeks. IMO these cattle were about averaging 340kgs. They were light for there age March/April calves. there was 2 P/O- bullocks rest were mostly O=. This was dependent on getting them to 670-700kgs LW. Now from the marts I was at these cattle sell at about 550-580 euro. Because there was a nice number in the bunch and I guessed that I could get him to deliver I was there to deal. He was looking for 2/kg for cattle that sell in the 1.7/kg on a goodish mart day.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

look for enough so you can come back with the price. sold a good few animals on DD but you'd meet a fair few tanglers looking for a quick few bob. They'd be asking "whats the best you'd do" all i say is "i don't deal over the phone,you can come look at them and make me an offer"

davidk1394 wrote: »
    look for enough so you can come back with the price. sold a good few animals on DD but you'd meet a fair few tanglers looking for a quick few bob. They'd be asking "whats the best you'd do" all i say is "i don't deal over the phone,you can come look at them and make me an offer"

This is what gets to me. I rang a guy once about a mower he had for sale on Donedeal. He wouldn't tell me what he wanted for it over the phone. He said I'd have to come and look at it first. 'Right so' I said and hung up.
    What is about farmers, you're selling something and you wont tell me the price? Life is too short for that kind of bollock acting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭welton john

Base price wrote: »
    I know the costs of rearing from calves so we base our prices on that plus a bit of profit when buying. TBH I am not interested in what someone else is prepared to pay only what we are. Too often fellas get caught out paying over the top for cattle and wonder why they cannot make money.
    We mostly buy in calves and rear them on either to stores or finish. Finish less now due to the feck ups of factories in the past re prices & supply.
    OH was onto a factory getting prices for white head bullocks under 30mths the other day and was told they are not going to give the Hereford bonus "cause we have whiteheads coming outta our ears" - **** :mad:

like the saying around here, 'you can give what you like, but you've to take what you get'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Don't advertise on Donedeal but would sell a few at home and the price I ask is the price they will leave for and I'd throw in a decent luck penny and deliver within reason. I'd ask what I genuinely think they are worth and tell whoever it was that the price was non negotiable and leave it up to themselves. My temper is way too short to be messing haggling with lads for a half an hour over a tenner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

First time I personally bought cattle was this year from a lad on DD.
    I know I gave 50 more a head than I had planned on. But in fairness he knew the value of them if they went to a mart at the time. Anyway they were an even bunch of what I wanted and I could see they were quiet.There was a good luck penny and he delivered em.
    So a good experience for me. Time will tell on the €50 though !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

This is what gets to me. I rang a guy once about a mower he had for sale on Donedeal. He wouldn't tell me what he wanted for it over the phone. He said I'd have to come and look at it first. 'Right so' I said and hung up.
    What is about farmers, you're selling something and you wont tell me the price? Life is too short for that kind of bollock acting.

I have the price up for whatever i'm selling. its fairly annoying when a lad won't tell you what his looking for. even when i have the price up you get the odd lad ringing saying "i know a lad selling cattle at €100 cheaper than you" all i say is off you go and buy them so.

davidk1394 wrote: »
    I have the price up for whatever i'm selling. its fairly annoying when a lad won't tell you what his looking for. even when i have the price up you get the odd lad ringing saying "i know a lad selling cattle at €100 cheaper than you" all i say is off you go and buy them so.

Fair enough if you have a price up. At least you know the ball park figure then. But if someone has no price up and won't tell you when you ring them, are you seriously going to waste half a day travelling there and back not knowing the price beforehand.

Had this discussion with a lad I rang once. Cattle were about 15 miles away.he was off the opinion that I should call to look at them that it was not that far. I explained that it was a over an hour to call to look at them and return home along with the bone of a fiver in fuel.TBF he accepted my reasoning. If I remember correctly I bought them off him after.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

When the ifj brought out their revial to dd everything on it was poa haven't looked at it since

I don't bother looking at the ads with no price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I answered an ad for maiden heifers one time, they were around 3/4 of an hour away and the price was top secret. I went to look at them anyway and it was when maiden heifers were a bad trade. €1k each was the price and there was a few small ones in the mix. I left them there. Another time I rang a woman who had maiden heifers for sale and when I asked her how much they were she asked how much would I pay I said around 700 depending on the heifers she laughed and said we can't sell anyway because they had to be Tb tested :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Belongamick

'Now mind you in Mayo you will get dreamers as well.'

When I read the start of this, I thought that it was a 'Pick on the Mayo cattle day'.
    Being from the county, I have to hang the head a bit at the sight of the 'wilderbeast' in the second ad! This lad must have bought in a few FR's calves and kept them for one winter, no DE-horn, no castrate and out to 'grass' again in April. No mart (too dear) and hopefully move them on before they start eating clay!

I always sell at the mart - relatively close by, weight there to see, local mart is busy and fairly transparent. Always buy using a dealer - get what you want, dropped to the door and very hassle free. Yes, costs a few bob but 5 or 6 days in a mart is not cheap either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

I don't know why the sellers are so fond of wasting.their own time showing sstock or machinery to people who are going to be put off by the price. If your confident that your asking price is in the ballpark why not share it.
    I think it's some lads afraid of revenue finding out how much they are getting. Still a lot of people not doing accounts and not realising the difference between income and profit in a business context. You are taxed on profit not iincome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

ganmo wrote: »
    When the ifj brought out their revial to dd everything on it was poa haven't looked at it since

I don't bother looking at the ads with no price.

Same here. Wouldn't bother to look at the add unless there's a price. I know my budget so if the seller doesn't want to put up a price it would make me think they must be trying to pull the piss.

I've sold a few things on dd and always put up a price near what I'd take. Why bother doing anything else. Obviously you get pr1ks ringing and offering you half the price or telling you they can get it way cheaper but just say goodbye and hang up if that happens.

croot wrote: »
    I've sold a few things on dd and always put up a price near what I'd take. Why bother doing anything else. Obviously you get pr1ks ringing and offering you half the price or telling you they can get it way cheaper but just say goodbye and hang up if that happens.

When the price is on the ad its unfair to expect a seller to drop the price on the phone and as for way cheaper if it's out of your budget or way overpriced in your opinion why even ring about it. The seller isn't going to halve the price because one buyer asks them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

When the price is on the ad its unfair to expect a seller to drop the price on the phone and as for way cheaper if it's out of your budget or way overpriced in your opinion why even ring about it. The seller isn't going to halve the price because one buyer asks them too.
    I think you have taken up what I said wrong.

croot wrote: »
    I think you have taken up what I said wrong.

Sorry no I was agreeing with you. I jjustput it badly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Lads pictured are good cattle in fairness but yes 550'is far from offensive in terms of an offer if cattle are only 350ish kg..
    I wouldn't be a fan of buying privately and definately not from far away fields having no idea who I'm going to talk to. And it is very easy do yourself while trying to bid for a bunch of cattle.

Thank god for the mart! Yes you may have to rattle home a lot of days but hit the right day and have a bit of pluck and it is possible to buy a large number. Give a haulier the job of getting em home,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Willfarman wrote: »
    Lads pictured are good cattle in fairness but yes 550'is far from offensive in terms of an offer if cattle are only 350ish kg..
    I wouldn't be a fan of buying privately and definately not from far away fields having no idea who I'm going to talk to. And it is very easy do yourself while trying to bid for a bunch of cattle.

Thank god for the mart! Yes you may have to rattle home a lot of days but hit the right day and have a bit of pluck and it is possible to buy a large number. Give a haulier the job of getting em home,
    If you buy privately you should know who your talking to!! It's in the mart you wouldn't know anything about the seller, always surprises me how different people think, thank god were not all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

farmerjj wrote: »
    If you buy privately you should know who your talking to!! It's in the mart you wouldn't know anything about the seller, always surprises me how different people think, thank god were not all the same.

In a local mart you know a lot about the sellers. There's no hiding your name nowadays. The weight , age and movements on card. days in the herd, and you can immediately value and bid to that value without the having to argue with the seller about what ye are both actually looking at! A lot of tanglers buying in the mart and selling on done deal and such..

But yes thank god for human diversity. I'd hate to have nothing to argue about!

You mean like a farmer selling his weanlings and he forgot to bring the cards but will say the cattle are genuine. If you trust him and buy you could be in for a surprise when you see the cards and see that they were bought in batches in different marts over the last week. Plenty of them jokers on donedeal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Sam Kade wrote: »
    You mean like a farmer selling his weanlings and he forgot to bring the cards but will say the cattle are genuine. If you trust him and buy you could be in for a surprise when you see the cards and see that they were bought in batches in different marts over the last week. Plenty of them jokers on donedeal.

If you trust him? Well then you can only blame yourself.

If you dont trust him, another half day wasted looking at cattle.

Sam Kade wrote: »

Cards are useless as indicators of how many movements cattle have taken. Lots of lads forget:cool: to sign the backs of cards.

When I was looking at the cattle I spoke about earlier in the thread I asked the owner how many movements they had. He replied that his was the only name that was on the back of the cards. I told him that was not the question I asked that signatures on the back of a card were not indications of numbers of movements.

Most younger farmers are on ag food .ie. I am fairy sure he was as well. Now in fairness he replied afterwards that he was the second owner on them all.

Slava Ukrainii