Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gift suggestion for the man who has EVERYTHING!

• 30-07-2016 11:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭

My girlfriend's father's birthday is coming up. He is the type of man whom has worked up from nothing and has done well in life and a result has no problem in treating himself and his hard work. Well deserved I say but as a result his tastes are rather subtle but at the same time high end, hotels have to be 5 star, tag heuer or omega watches, that kind of thing. He is not flash, anything but, he just appreciates good quality.

What would you guys suggest to get this man? My girlfriend is at her wits end trying to find something for him. Budget €200-€400 tops. Wallets and man-bags/satchels are out as is a watch or cuff links.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,675 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

how about a ring for his daughter.

only joking but 400 is quite a commitment.

I hate buying gifts for people like this. its very hard to find that one very specific thing they could want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

how about a ring for his daughter.

only joking but 400 is quite a commitment.

I hate buying gifts for people like this. its very hard to find that one very specific thing they could want

The ring is a bit off but it will come don't worry!! Every year it's the same struggle. He doesn't drink either so a nice bottle of whiskey is out too!

how about tickets to his favourite sports team or music festival/opera

has he a wife / partner. could they help point you in the right direction or help with some hobbies or interests he might have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Track day in Mondello or UK?

He has been loads of times. Thanks for the suggestion though.

how about tickets to his favourite sports team or music festival/opera

has he a wife / partner. could they help point you in the right direction or help with some hobbies or interests he might have

A good suggestion but tickets to sports/music events etc are something you go to him for when you can't get them anywhere else. He gets them in the door for free regularly. I sound like I'm knocking everything but this is a real challenge.

how about a signed pieces of one of the cars from formula 1 or nascar ,wrc, motogp etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭strawberrie

How about going down the line of a collage of family photos in a nice frame. Something that takes thought, time and effort vs a lot of money. That could be v much appreciated

Yes, while it has been done before for him, there are new additions to the family so this could be a runner.

He has a boat and jetskis, if that could help with suggestions. We wouldn't have a clue about these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,682 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Eddie Jordan? Well done sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭xlogo

A copy of Penny Apples - oh hang on he might have wrote it.

No to both of the above! Funny men!!!! If he was handed a copy of penny apples, it would be rammed where the sun doesn't shine! Not a fan at all..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

his tastes are rather subtle but at the same time high end... tag heuer
    *spits tea at screen from incredulity* :eek::D *Watch collector hat off*

Is he into any specific films or music? Ebay will get you any number of original film posters which you could then get framed and well under budget. First pressings of fave album(s) framed another idea.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

My girlfriend's father's birthday is coming up. He is the type of man whom has worked up from nothing and has done well in life and a result has no problem in treating himself and his hard work. Well deserved I say but as a result his tastes are rather subtle but at the same time high end, hotels have to be 5 star, tag heuer or omega watches, that kind of thing. He is not flash, anything but, he just appreciates good quality.

What would you guys suggest to get this man? My girlfriend is at her wits end trying to find something for him. Budget €200-€400 tops. Wallets and man-bags/satchels are out as is a watch or cuff links.

What about a voucher for somewhere like Monart, Thomas Pink etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Jeju

How about a commissioned hand painted Birthday card by a local well known artist, charting his achievements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

A bottle of midleton rare whiskey
    You can never beat a good bottle of whisky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Liffey Valley Vouchers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

No to both of the above! Funny men!!!! If he was handed a copy of penny apples, it would be rammed where the sun doesn't shine! Not a fan at all..

A bothar goat etc.

You're hardly going to buy him something that's going to stand out. He's already got what he wants.

Taking him out to a fancy restaurant, just the the two of ye and her dad and mum might work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Mitch Buchannon

You mention he is into watches. Maybe you could get a nice watch box to store them or a watch winder so they are always ready.

For example:

Available for €299 from here - http://www.watch-tool.de/html/mte.php?id=8004a

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭Delphinium

You say he has come from nothing so maybe think back to something he may have yearned to achieve then. Or maybe arrange a family meal and finish with a this is your life show, using old family photos, school photos, cars he had loved and stories illustrated on a display like power point. If appropriate have some of his old friends present or perhaps quotes or interviews with them. Not the begrudgers though.Keep it personal and light. A copy of the presentation will be nostalgic for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,991 ✭✭✭✭fits

An artwork of some sort. Lots of very talented arts and craftspeople in this country.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

brinty wrote: »
    A bottle of midleton rare whiskey
    You can never beat a good bottle of whisky
    It's been established the chap doesn't drink.
    You mention he is into watches. Maybe you could get a nice watch box to store them or a watch winder so they are always ready.
    If he has more than two this isn't a bad idea at all.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,143 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

Grandchild, the creation of which should give you both some pleasure, hopefully.
    However he may be of a age where he needs the paperwork first.

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

I'll suggest a watch box. Thanks folks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

If he's into music, how about a high end music system like Sonos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,099 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Hefty donation to the Capuchin Day Centre, (or similar), followed by a meal somewhere nice to appreciate what you've got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭alane20

A rocking chair made from clothes pegs, I have a 7 year old that can hook you up, €300 a bargain, I have a house full of them, moving onto clothes pegs tea coasters shortly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

Is he into cooking or gardening? Maybe buy high end knives or gardening tools?

If he has money, there is nothing materialistic that he will appreciate. Would you consider doing a photo album. I know my grandparents kept all the ones we gave them over the years and would regularly go through them.

We are going to go with the watch winder. Thanks lads for all the suggestions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Mitch Buchannon

Yay..my suggestion. If only buying presents for my wife was as easy to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Donie75

If he's into boating get him a map from Latitude in Kinsale of his favourite area.
    http://www.latitudekinsale.com/

They are stunning.