Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sky Sports now

• 30-07-2016 7:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭

Anybody watching Sky?

Decent card and the opener, Nurse v Coyle is a cracking fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Chrissybhoy

I think coyle gets at least draw out of this fight if not the win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭Danye

I think coyle gets at least draw out of this fight if not the win

I've Nurse ahead by 1. Coyle throwing loads and looks busy but lands very few clean shots. Entertaining non the less.

Danye wrote: »
    I've Nurse ahead by 1. Coyle throwing loads and looks busy but lands very few clean shots. Entertaining non the less.

Don't think nurse done much looks the part. But paws a lot

Cleaner shots.

If you combined the attributes of both fighters you'd have a decent scrapper.

Big fight for Campbell this. Fancy him to be beaten here.

You could be right Mendez looks decent. Great right to put Campbell down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Campbell is poor, amateur in the pro game.

You could be right Mendez looks decent. Great right to put Campbell down

Maybe the confidence was knocked out of him with that defeat last December, but he looks a really average boxer does Campbell. Unless he improved dramatically I think he'll be eaten alive at world level.

Ah yeah he'll have short career at world level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

Someone is getting ko'd in this heavyweight fight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Guys, you do know Crolla and Flanagan are world level?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

Ah yeah he'll have short career at world level.
    easy points win for campbell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

This woman at ringside making this screeching noise is doing my head in - sounds like a seagull

Should be booted out. It seems a regular thing with some females at fights! They find it very difficult to articulate their advice and enthusiasm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭RodVelvet

Does Hyland have much of a chance in the next? Can Warrington KO him, not really any KO on his record and Hyland seemed to be in against a serious operator in his last fight.

Warrington seems way overrated. Hyland is very ordinary. Warrington likely gets the win on points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Dylan white is a pig!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Hyland seems to be very easy to hit, haven't seen him before so don't know anything about him. What's his record like, has he been ko'ed often?

TbL

walshb wrote: »
    Guys, you do know Crolla and Flanagan are world level?

Both beat Campbell IMO.

Fair play to Campbell, he came back well after the knock down. Your mans jaw was broken in the 4th I think, which is probably the reason why he was cautious.

Hyland seems to be very easy to hit, haven't seen him before so don't know anything about him. What's his record like, has he been ko'ed often?

TbL

Very easy to hit. Fighters like this seem to wear that as a badge of honour. Been able to take the hits but push on through. Win fans and admirers and be a warrior. Tommy Coyle is of the same ilk.

They seem to be more worried about holding on to their warrior tag than looking to improve their defence!

Very easy to hit. Fighters like this seem to wear that as a badge of honour. Been able to take the hits but push on through. Win fans and admirers and be a warrior. Tommy Coyle is of the same ilk.

They seem to be more worried about holding on to their warrior tag than looking to improve their defence!

I'm watching this scratching my head, what the hell is he doing with his hands down, shipping shots. It beggars belief, another minute in round 4 and he would have probably ended up on his ass. He's also crouching down very low, very awkward.

TbL

Have to agree with McCrory, Hylands corner should pull him out, he's been hit way to often and is posing zero threat himself.

TbL

I'm watching this scratching my head, what the hell is he doing with his hands down, shipping shots. It beggars belief, another minute in round 4 and he would have probably ended up on his ass. He's also crouching down very low, very awkward.

TbL

Warrington has stopped something like 3 or 4 lads in 20 odd fights! Very very poor from Pajo.

Should have been stopped earlier!!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Warrington has stopped something like 3 or 4 lads in 20 odd fights! Very very poor from Pajo.

That's extremely harsh. He took a lot before eventually going down.

The longer fights suit Warrington's style better as he has an incredible engine. He wears fellas down who are trying to win.

Earlier in his career against journeymen not trying to win, they could tuck up for 6-8 rounds and because they weren't throwing a whole lot they weren't getting caught as much as the better fellas actually trying to hit him.

Warrington is a very neat, compact boxer with good all-round skills. Himself and Selby would be interesting though I'd fancy the Welshman, but he'd have to work hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Warrington hasn't fought many 12 round fights so the longer the fights, the more chance he has of a stoppage. He's a relentless fighter and while not a big puncher those shots are going to have an effect as the fight continues.

I wasn't expecting any more from Hyland, he himself is a journeyman who amassed a fancy looking record fighting cab drivers. He wouldn't have been good enough to win a British title if he could have fought for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Warrington is the most overrated British fighter out there, I've no doubt he'll be found out at world level. Selby would school him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Johner wrote: »
    Warrington is the most overrated British fighter out there, I've no doubt he'll be found out at world level. Selby would school him.

Who is rating him? He's a good fighter. Nothing special in comparison to the top guys at 126, LSC, Selby, Russell Jr, Valdez etc.

Literally every person I've talked to fancy Selby to beat him.

megadodge wrote: »
    That's extremely harsh. He took a lot before eventually going down.

The longer fights suit Warrington's style better as he has an incredible engine. He wears fellas down who are trying to win.

Earlier in his career against journeymen not trying to win, they could tuck up for 6-8 rounds and because they weren't throwing a whole lot they weren't getting caught as much as the better fellas actually trying to hit him.

Warrington is a very neat, compact boxer with good all-round skills. Himself and Selby would be interesting though I'd fancy the Welshman, but he'd have to work hard.

But it's the fact that he was taking so much is what I'm saying was poor from Hyland. Too easy to hit.

Every fighter faces journeymen early in their career who look to tuck up and see out the rounds but a log of lads still manage to get them out of there?

I'm not saying Warrington is a neat fighter. What I'm saying is I was very disappointed with Pajo and his performance tonight. Made Warrington look better than he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

But it's the fact that he was taking so much is what I'm saying was poor from Hyland. Too easy to hit.

Every fighter faces journeymen early in their career who look to tuck up and see out the rounds but a log of lads still manage to get them out of there?

I'm not saying Warrington is a neat fighter. What I'm saying is I was very disappointed with Pajo and his performance tonight. Made Warrington look better than he is.

Fair enough, but I think Warrington is better than you think he is. Other than power he has everything else. And as I said, the longer fights against fighters who are throwing punches looking to win will see him grind opponents down. Evidence of that is that his 5 stoppages have all happened in his last 9 fights.

Again I'm not saying Warrington is bad. My disappointment is with Hyland. He was so easy to hit. It was really poor from him.

The ref and Pajo's corner were reckless last night.

walshb wrote: »
    The ref and Pajo's corner were reckless last night.

100% agree, it was appalling, he could have been seriously hurt and it wasn't as if the fight was even close I didn't have him winning a single round.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

I have a long held admiration of Warrington. For me he is one of the great pleasures to watch in boxing at present. Outstanding hand speed, very accurate clever puncher, ability to throw combos & in ring movement. The two concerns would be power & how his defence would hold up against the top tier guys.

Personally think he would hold his own against Selby, LSC & Frampton but we will really only know once he steps into that level.

I think Russel Jr. & Valdez would be a step too far for him.

Regardless of all of that the journey & improvements he has made in the last 4 years are fantastic. A fight against Selby in Leeds, you would never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

100% agree, it was appalling, he could have been seriously hurt and it wasn't as if the fight was even close I didn't have him winning a single round.

TbL

It was the same crap with Buglioni against Chudinov, Pascal seems a **** trainer tbh.