Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now that's cross country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,615 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Here's a few more while we're at it.

http://www.britishpathe.com/search/query/running+ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

dog running across the race start, fecking eejits cycling along the route... it's a bloody disgrace, Joe, is what it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭jamule

Donore V Cyclists is possibly the most entertaining thing I've seen in years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Murph_D wrote: »
    http://www.britishpathe.com/video/ireland-only-dublin-county-harriers/query/dublin

Check this out. Cross-country running today seems a far cry from what they had to put up with 95 years ago. :)

Look like your typical Meet & Train XC to me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭glacial_pace71

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Look like your typical Meet & Train XC to me ;)

So true: the dog isn't on a lead, so a leap is all that's required, unlike nowadays - you need rope-cutting equipment in order to extricate yourself from the cocoon of dogleash. (And whilst withstanding blows to the head from the umbrella of angry little old lady, as you've spoiled ToFu's walkies).

Runners versus cyclists seemed to be quite a thing back then too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Fantastic stuff! We are total wimps...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I sense a setup for the camera as they all seemed to get to the wall at the same time, they also were not exactly spread out much at the end. How far was the race? 100m/ 200m?