Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Song with a Killer Intro and Then Goes Crap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Baauer, ‘Harlem Shake’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Babylon Zoo - Spaceman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Sweet Emotion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

I like the opening to Lullaby by The Cure till Robert Smith opens his gob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Anything Bob Dylan sings live these days?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Almost anything by Neil Young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

humberklog wrote: »
    Almost anything by Neil Young.

:eek: Ooooohh! Boo! Hiss! :pac:

(Just out of interest; Which of his do ye consider 'best'?)

Forgive me, OP. I'd love to offer a suggestion. But, I honestly don't listen to that much music, these days. The old memories not what it was either .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

+1 for Spaceman by Babylon Zoo - the hook was catchy as fcuk, and then he had to go and **** all over it with the slow verse.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Stigura wrote: »
    :eek: Ooooohh! Boo! Hiss! :pac:

(Just out of interest; Which of his do ye consider 'best'?)

It changes depending on my mood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

Whatever you want- Status Qou.

Basically sums up Status Quo.

This is interesting...oh feck I could write the rest of this-who is it-don't bother -I know- It's Status Quo -again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 1878_

Ghost of a Chance by The Blades.

Very good intro and then turns into a completely different, terrible song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

1878_ wrote: »

Agreed. A part of me loves this song and the other part hates it for what it could have been.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Leftfield. Original.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭511

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Maggot brain, 10 minutes of fire... then it just ends in silence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

I imagine I'm in a minority on this, but I always felt Phantom of the Opera (Iron Maiden) fell on its face after its iconic intro and first verse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,852 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

511 wrote: »

I think you've gotten this the wrong way round. A dull but pretty intro but the song gets better after that. The solos are fantastic, especially on the s&m version with full symphonic accompaniment.

Another +1 on babylon zoo. Came into this thread specifically to curse it. What's worse is that thousands of albums were sold on the back of that intro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

The theme tune song used for pure mule

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

Too shy by kajagoogoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Land of Hope and Dreams by Bruce Springsteen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,824 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Not a bad song, but it simply doesn't live up to its intro... My little empire by the manic street preachers.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

511 wrote: »

230114_908223010.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Almost every Smiths song I've ever heard starts off with a brilliant guitar intro by Johnny Marr, and then Morrissey starts to "sing".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Maggot brain, 10 minutes of fire... then it just ends in silence

Is that a Whitney Houston track?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Almost every Smiths song I've ever heard starts off with a brilliant guitar intro by Johnny Marr, and then Morrissey starts to "sing".

And it just gets better when you think it couldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

+1 for whoever mentioned "Whatever You Want" by Status Quo, gorgeous chorus effect of an intro, hopeful guitars... then descends into tack right where the guitars play the "whatever you want" riff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Pretty much every AC/DC song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

Pretty much every AC/DC song.

I can think of a few ACthunderboltDC songs that I'd agree with, but love them or loathe them, they've got some cracking songs.

Some of their songs can't be accused of having an epic intro then failing because in some cases, like Back in Black, the intro chord progression is what you hear all throughout the song ;)

Then you've got newer songs like "War Machine" which has a stomper of an intro and the song lives up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Poison - Alice Cooper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Justice Vs Simian - We Are Your Friends

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L0TvnWRSyr4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭purplepanda

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    Tin Soldier by The Small Faces.

The build up is stunning and then it turns to shyte.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vWTtx_PxPo

Try The Solarflares / ex Prisoners, same riff different song :pac:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yc-595RrU64

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,526 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Straight to Hell by The Clash, I think Paper Planes by MIA makes better use of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

Whiskey in the Jar.

Bugs the hell out of me after the intro riff. Might be just me though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭ClashCityRocker

Franz Ferdinand - Take me out. The "So if you're lonely.." verse is epic and sounds like it's really building into something special, then it just sort of plods along afterward.

Shipping up to Boston - Dropkick Murphys i think? Exciting intro (and one they must have made of fortune from given it's featured at every Irish sports event ever) but a nothing song.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 jake_boy_men

no doubt - hella good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Another +1 on babylon zoo. Came into this thread specifically to curse it. What's worse is that thousands of albums were sold on the back of that intro.

If I remember right, they (the record label or Levis, since it was in their ad) released a remix of the song which was just the intro and outro of the song, cutting the dodgy bits out :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

Baker Street by Gerry Rafferty.

The song is good too mind but just not as good as the intro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

Eric Clapton Layla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

1878_ wrote: »

The Blades had a habit of writing catchy songs that were also very forgettable

The sisters of mercy..great intros but the song usually did nothing else but rinse-repeat after it, doctor jeep, vision thing etc

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

chakotha wrote: »
    Eric Clapton Layla

Ah here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Crazy Train - Ozzy Osbourne

Not a terrible song but the intro is much more meaty than the rest of the tune

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    Tin Soldier by The Small Faces.

The build up is stunning and then it turns to shyte.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vWTtx_PxPo

what are you on about :confused:

that song is great from start to finish and another thing steve marriot is the greatest rock singer of all time, and bear in mind he was only 20 when he recorded that record

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Eric Clapton Layla

The outros where its at

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Ronald Wilson Reagan

Eric Clapton Layla

The ending is one of the greatest ever and used exactly in Goodfellas.