Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smoking is the worst right.

• 24-07-2016 8:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭

I was off the cigarettes for 10 weeks and then last night at that cos I was out being social and don't enjoy talking, don't drink alcohol neither. So I bought a pack of john player red and smoked maybe 7 or 8 of them over an 5 hour period. Got up this morning and I feel like ****, my chest is in bits, puts me off smoking ever again so it does its the ****ing worst.

I'm sure I'll get urges again mind, but now I shall bear in mind how **** I feel right now.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Get well soon xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Get well soon xxx

Fanx hunzo xoxo

Get an e cig if you get cravings.

It's not really a cravings thing, its really wanting something to do when I'm anxious/awkward when everyone else is drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

It's not really a cravings thing, its really wanting something to do when I'm anxious/awkward when everyone else is drinking.

You should drink more

Again e cig would be the perfect substitute.
    It satisfies the nicotine or just inhaling habit, without the 2k odd chemicals in a cigarette.
    You can get 0 nicotine juices aswell.
    Might allow you to socialise without killing you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

What's your reason for not drinking? If it's for health reasons I'm not understanding the logic of substituting it with something worse for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Some powerful selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors will cure what ails you.

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    What's your reason for not drinking? If it's for health reasons I'm not understanding the logic of substituting it with something worse for you

Disgusting alcohol is. Wouldn't touch it with a bargepole.

Pot kettle black of course, when I was (am) a smoker, but I just find alcohol incomparably worse. Just my terrible opinion of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Pot kettle black of course, when I was (am) a smoker, but I just find alcohol incomparably worse. Just my terrible opinion of course.

Yup, definitely not seeing any logic there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I think your real problem is that you are suffering from a mild form of Yodaism. You're probably only smoking to self medicate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Zxclnic

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    I think your real problem is that you are suffering from a mild form of Yodaism. You're probably only smoking to self medicate.

Apparently the working title for this Oasis classic was ''Yodaism And How To Beat It'':

''Is it my imagination
    Or have I finally found something worth living for?
    As Yodaism grips the nation
    All you need is cigarettes and alcohol''

At least I think that's how it went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Liamario

Neogaf OP?

Liamario wrote: »
    Neogaf OP?

Hey hello gaffer/lurker.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I was off the smokes for a good few months, then went on a stag and smoked over the course of that weekend. I felt rotten afterwards.
    Then stopped again until at a wedding, we were all gathered in a smoking area for most of the day and temptation took the better of me. Again, felt rotten the next day.
    Was on holliers, had a couple a day, didn't feel bad about it.

Smoking sucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I'm off smokes nearly 2 years now and tbh, if you can cut back from a pack a day, to only a handful on a night out, it's still a huge improvement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Zxclnic

There is a 'Giving Up Smoking' Forum in the 'Science, Health & Environment' section if you're interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Then your thread title is a lie. It should say smoking is the 2nd worst. LIAR!!!!

I sense there's a comma and a question mark missing in the heading.

Otherwise I'm not sure if smoking is a right; in public buildings in many European countries it certainly isn't. If it were, it would be among the worst ights.

Pubs and clubs and what not have immeasurably improved for my money since the smoking ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

I only started smoking when I was 11 but I hate the habit. And thankfully I'm unable to become addicted. So one pack usually lasts me a few months and I'll smoke one or two every so often and have a few on a night out. It's great, I still get that buzz and dizzy feeling from your first smoke because I smoke so rarely.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'm off them years, but god I miss them from time to time and at those times if I catch a sniff of a ciggie or better yet a cigar I'm floating in the air on the scent.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

They say at Nine Weeks without cigs is a really common time to slip off the wagon.

Treat it as a lesson and keep going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Smoking is a bitch alright, specially when you quit and have a sneaky one.

My brother was a very heavy smoker. Tried the ecig lookalike, didn't work for him. We bought him a hefty gizmo tank thing for his birthday with gazzoodles of high strength nicotine juice.

We all had great fun trying to figure out how the fekkin thing worked for a start! But the main thing was bro was able to adjust the strength of the draw, if that's what it's called.

18 months later hasn't touched a real cig. Result.

I just hope there is not going to be a nanny state ban on these things anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Disgusting alcohol is.
    Says you. And Yoda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Smoking is a bitch alright, specially when you quit and have a sneaky one.

My brother was a very heavy smoker. Tried the ecig lookalike, didn't work for him. We bought him a hefty gizmo tank thing for his birthday with gazzoodles of high strength nicotine juice.

We all had great fun trying to figure out how the fekkin thing worked for a start! But the main thing was bro was able to adjust the strength of the draw, if that's what it's called.

18 months later hasn't touched a real cig. Result.

I just hope there is not going to be a nanny state ban on these things anytime soon.

On the way by the looks of the new EU regulations,i could have a good guess as to the lobbyists in Brussels behind them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

On the way by the looks of the new EU regulations,i could have a good guess as to the lobbyists in Brussels behind them...

Time to stock up is NOW so.

The minute a solution is found to the smoking issue, it is shot down.

But as you say, lobbying from the Tobacco companies is behind it. Why don't they just diversify into the ecig market?

Time to stock up is NOW so.

The minute a solution is found to the smoking issue, it is shot down.

But as you say, lobbying from the Tobacco companies is behind it. Why don't they just diversify into the ecig market?

You didn't think big tobacco and big pharma would go down without a fight? All that money from servicing millions of addicts...

They tried when e-cigs first hit the news,spent millions buying up companies manufacturing the cartridge type devices(which were fairly crappy), you see they wanted to keep that model of the smoker going down to the local garage or shop and buying their products,but the cat got out of the bag,all of a sudden there was people down in their sheds making devices,liquids and improving on them.people were setting up shops and online sites selling them,i ve said this before on here but EU regulations kill small business and stifles innovation,capitalism is reserved for the already winners it seems..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

Vile disgusting habit. I used to chain and could go through two or three packs in twenty four hours. Quitting was the hardest thing I ever did and the best. I don't miss them at all. I swore to myself that I would never risk having to quit again so anytime I even consider having a 'sneaky one' I remember that. The craving alwuays passes in a couple of moments so no hardship to resist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Is the 'want' always there? Could you be off them for twenty years and yet still fancy the odd one?

Pac1Man wrote: »
    Is the 'want' always there? Could you be off them for twenty years and yet still fancy the odd one?

Probably. Wouldn't a lot of smokers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Smoking is the worst right.
    Smoking is the worst, right?

Yes on both I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I sense there's a comma and a question mark missing in the heading.

https://www.rocketlawyer.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/lionel-hutz-advertisment.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Pac1Man wrote: »

Yes it is. I'm off them about 15 months now and I miss them every day :( Obviously it gets easier and all that, but sweet Jaysus i miss them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I was off the cigarettes for 10 weeks and then last night at that cos I was out being social and don't enjoy talking, don't drink alcohol neither. So I bought a pack of john player red and smoked maybe 7 or 8 of them over an 5 hour period. Got up this morning and I feel like ****, my chest is in bits, puts me off smoking ever again so it does its the ****ing worst.

I'm sure I'll get urges again mind, but now I shall bear in mind how **** I feel right now.

You were being social how?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

It's a horrible habit alright. Off them a good while now. Maybe 5 years at this stage... Lost count anyway.

Pretty much all about changing your routine.

So, if you got up, stuck on the kettle for a cup of tea/coffee and lit up out of habit, you could just alternate your morning. Grab a shower first, have a decaf tea maybe. Something to get you out of the rut I suppose.

If you can keep yourself busy during the day for those 15 minutes or so when the cravings really kick in, you should be ok.

Worse at the weekends if you're watching a match or something. Half time comes and you'd be tempted to light up. Instead, stick on a wash or something, make yourself a bite to eat instead or something.

It's the nights that are the absolute worse. I remember having terrible dreams and couldn't sleep properly for a week or two because my body sensed it was missing something. Really nasty.

That's just my own experience having gone cold turkey. It's an absolute bitch giving up but it's ultimately worth it. Set aside the money you'd have spent on a pack of cigarettes and at the end of the first couple of weeks, go out and buy yourself something nice with it.

Surround yourself with non smokers when you're out and about so you don't have the urge to head out to the smoking area on a night out.

I don't miss them at all and my health has never been better.

I'm not one of those sanctimonious ex smokers by any stretch but jesus, the smell of them is absolutely horrendous. I like beer gardens every now and then but my clothes reek of smoke the following day. Just manky.

If you're taking the plunge and giving up, it's the best thing you'll ever do. Hard yes, but definitely worth it.

G'luck.

Got a good vape yoke a week ago and have gone from 20 a day plus another 20-30 if drinking down to 0 and don't miss them yet.

I only want to quit because of the breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

I'm 13 and a half years off them, I used to smoke 20 a day or more if I was on a night out... There are still times when I get cravings but it took so long to get off them I'd never go back.
    I still have dreams that I'm smoking and I'm so disappointed in myself when I wake up.. :D once a smoker always a smoker.
    Easiest way to stay off them is to take it one cigarette at a time, it takes 3 minutes for the craving to wear off.
    It's thought that a 20 a day smoker will only actually crave 3-4 a day, the rest are habit or boredom. I had to give up coffee for about a year cos it was my trigger for badly wanting a cigarette ..
    Good luck and persevere, it's worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭purplepanda

I only started smoking when I was 11 but I hate the habit. And thankfully I'm unable to become addicted. So one pack usually lasts me a few months and I'll smoke one or two every so often and have a few on a night out. It's great, I still get that buzz and dizzy feeling from your first smoke because I smoke so rarely.

I only really used to smoke a lot in pubs & clubs, a social smoker, a packet would last me through the week, maybe one a day, whilst most smokers were lighting up before breakfast & by lunch already had half a dozen or more, & continue smoking all day at work.

Some of my friends who criticised my smoking didn't start until their early '20's, then quickly they were on 40 plus per day. :eek: Still are nowadays. :rolleyes:

I've finally stopped ten years ago after a few friends who were heavy smokers passed away, I doubt if I've smoked 10% of what my proper smoking friends have but that could still be 40,000 cigarettes.

I reckon some of my older friends who passed away could have smoked 700, 000 cigarettes or more. :eek:

cbyrd wrote: »
    I'm 13 and a half years off them, I used to smoke 20 a day or more if I was on a night out... There are still times when I get cravings but it took so long to get off them I'd never go back.
    I still have dreams that I'm smoking and I'm so disappointed in myself when I wake up.. :D once a smoker always a smoker.
    Easiest way to stay off them is to take it one cigarette at a time, it takes 3 minutes for the craving to wear off.
    It's thought that a 20 a day smoker will only actually crave 3-4 a day, the rest are habit or boredom. I had to give up coffee for about a year cos it was my trigger for badly wanting a cigarette ..
    Good luck and persevere, it's worth it.

I get dreams I'm back drinking and I'm disgusted with myself in them,though the cravings for a drink have subsided over time,i know the pathways are still there in my brain just waiting to be fired back up!

Birneybau wrote: »
    You were being social how?

Going out, talking to people, not sitting on my couch watching tv/on the internet/playing video games. That is when I crave as it is, the most.