Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Richard Birch's Banker of the Day

• 21-07-2016 10:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭

Can't find a record of his **** tips anywhere so wanted to post them here to keep a record. These are the ones that are on the RP phone app 'Birch's Banker'

If you can't find it there's probably a good reason why

Starting from yesterday

Touch the Sky at Sandown unplaced 6/4 fav

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

I've followed I'd say around his last 20 or 30 tips and he's had one winner. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Which tipster do ye find most reliable? I find Richard Forristal and trav corr absolurely useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Patrick_Swayze

Have to agree, his bankers are awful, along with the rest of the tips on the RP App imo.

I really like Hugh Taylor from ATR, he'd have to be my favourite.

Gary O'Brien is overrated, tips 4/1 shots e/w to get money back if it places, rarely wins bigger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

Have to agree, his bankers are awful, along with the rest of the tips on the RP App imo.

I really like Hugh Taylor from ATR, he'd have to be my favourite.

Gary O'Brien is overrated, tips 4/1 shots e/w to get money back if it places, rarely wins bigger

If you are relying on tipsters then good luck!! Hugh Taylor is grand but you will never get the prices he advises.

Gary O'Brien is a different level to Hugh Taylor. Garry makes a profit year on year and really is top notch. Have seen him tip up numerous 12-14-16 /1 winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Andy Holding from Oddschecker is good but like Hugh you rarely get his value now.

Alex Hammond is dreadful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

Gary O brien does not publish his stats because they DO NOT return a profit. As another poster mentioned , tipping 4/1 shots e/w. If you can show me where you see him making a profit every year ill eat my hat.

Its hard to get value on Hugh but he does have a fantastic strike rate and one of the few who publishes his ROI/ profit loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Not a big "Birchy" fan by any means (don't even read his RP column when I'm reading the RP) but I did call into PP last week at about 18.00 to read the paper. Checked Birch's tips to see how he got on and 2 of his 3 tips had won at odds of 3/1 and 2/1. His third tip was second at 15/8. So, he CAN tip winners - just not very often!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Patrick_Swayze

Kauto wrote: »
    If you are relying on tipsters then good luck!! Hugh Taylor is grand but you will never get the prices he advises.

Gary O'Brien is a different level to Hugh Taylor. Garry makes a profit year on year and really is top notch. Have seen him tip up numerous 12-14-16 /1 winners.

I agree, if you a relying on tipsters you may as well give the game up. I generally read the tips of Hugh Taylor to see what he likes/reasoning then I'll have a look myself and decide. He'd be the only one I'd even consider looking at for a bet.

Sometimes i just look at the tips of others at the end of the day just for a laugh to see their max NAP go off at even money and finished tailed off.

I've rarely seen Gary O'Brien hitting winners never mind big priced ones, but maybe he has and I've missed them.

If you're tipping anything less than 10/1 each way you need to be sorting yourself out imo but thats just my opinion, I never do each way bets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

I don't usually do e/w but sometimes I have huge e/w bets there are phenomenal e/ws. Like last week at Sligo had a big e/w on a 6/1 third fav in a bumper. 8 runners it was 10/11 6/4 6/1 33s bar. Brilliant e/w bets that bookies hate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I agree, if you a relying on tipsters you may as well give the game up. I generally read the tips of Hugh Taylor to see what he likes/reasoning then I'll have a look myself and decide. He'd be the only one I'd even consider looking at for a bet.

If you can get on Hugh Taylor's fancies at the advised price (which nobody usually can), you'll be doing well enough. If you're on at SP or thereabouts, you'll be struggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

Gary is a terrible tipster
    Usually picks 3 or 4 from 1 meeting

Hugh Taylor rarely has 3 and sometime even tips a horse in ireland

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Which tipster do ye find most reliable? I find Richard Forristal and trav corr absolurely useless.

Forristal ain't that bad imo, worth reading and then deciding whether to ignore it or not.

Anita Chambers of the SPorting Life is one I dread reading especially if I am in agreement with a selection (before reading her column( - doomed to fail ;) Same with Simon Holt of the same website

Chris Wilson, also of (or previously) of Sporting Life Website was very very very good.

Not a tipster per se (well he is) I find the ATR Speed Ratings informative

Can never go wrong with Hugh Taylor, even the Ante Post chap from ATR is worth reading at least ,

Why does anyone even read Alex Hammond, sure she tips every horse and always the favorite, her writing is awful

One of the lads from the Guardian not Chris Cook, use to be pretty decent to read as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

11/8 fav tipped up in a 16 runner handicap at Goodwood yesterday (unplaced)

A real shrewdie he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Jack Streep in the Herald is a right chancer. I do have a laugh at his selections every evening. The predictable pattern is - Fav, Fav, 2nd Fav, Fav, 2nd Fav, Fav. And sure enough, some of them come in. He makes selections on all the next day meetings.
    My dad said he did tip a 40/1 winner of the Grand National (cant remember the horse) back long time ago, but he's hardly living off that still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Re: Richard Birch.
    Last year after the Festival, there was one of those post Festival synopsis in the RP. What conclusions did he come to? That Don Poli was next years (2016) Gold Cup winner after his performance in the SunAlliance.
    Then he franked those comments when Don Poli won at Leopardstown at Chrsitmas, going on about how he was more convinced than ever he'd seen the Gold Cup winner. And we all know what happened then...:rolleyes: