Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Home and Away or Neighbours

• 17-07-2016 9:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭

When I was a kid, you had a choice "Home and Away" or "Neighbours". You were either one or the other!

I was "Home and Away". Later i did watch a bit of "Neighbours" but it was more because it aired at my school lunch break.

"Bobby" dying in "Home and Away" stood out to me. And evil "Morag"

There was a woman who lived near us who used to take everyone away camping with her. We used to call her "Pippa" because she was similar to the character.

Anyway growing up, I watched the English soaps and "Fair City" as it was what my parents had on but I think the soap opera in general is dying. I dont know if its a good or bad thing as i think maybe it has something to do with reality tv replacing it.

I remember many Christmases growing up and a bit of excitment on what was going to be the big story. In a way it was fun in that everyone was watching and wanted to know what shock was going tp happen.

No one I know follows them anymore including my parents. Ah well it was fun while it lasted :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Home and away. Always hot people on it. Though margot Robbie was on neighbours. I used to watch all the soaps. Now I just read spoilers and keep up to date that way. Rarely see tv anymore. If it's on it's usually music channels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

Home and away. Always hot people on it. Though margot Robbie was on neighbours. I used to watch all the soaps. Now I just read spoilers and keep up to date that way. Rarely see tv anymore. If it's on it's usually music channels

My dad used to complain about the soaps and make out like my mam was inflicting this awful presence on us and then when they would come on, he'd be able to tell us what happens next after reading about it in a tabloid or whereever. We used to joke "eh how do you know?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Home and away....neighbours is/was pure shte... .still watch it (home and away) having me dinner

Must actually give that up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Glenroe. That Biddy one was an awful woman altogether!

Home and away....neighbours is/was pure shte... .still watch it (home and away) having me dinner

But what about those twins in "Neighbours" that went out with Paul? Well I think one of them did but I'm not sure of the storylines they brought from it haha! Anyway the last I knew it was all about "The Twins" :)

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Glenroe. That Biddy one was an awful woman altogether!

The only memory I have of my parents watching Glenroe was when "Biddy" has an affair on Miley.

I guess that storyline intrigued viewers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

If dreams were wings you know I would have flown to you.... aww, takes me right back.

Neighbours is the reason I still to this day ask all my girlfriends to wear dungarees to bed.

Olishi4 wrote: »
    But what about those twins in "Neighbours" that went out with Paul? Well I think one of them did but I'm not sure of the storylines they brought from it haha! Anyway the last I knew it was all about "The Twins" :)

I don't actually know anyone who watched neighbours--it's on at a stupid time tbf

Think Kylie Minogue used be in it back like donkeys years ago...nearly sure she was-that concludes my knowledge of neighbours

Who was biddy tapping? I remember miley was riding the Drs wife. And that aul one (went on to play ester in fair city) being a judgey cow when her son got the young one duffed

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Home and away. Always hot people on it.
    Aye. It's been nigh on 20 years since I watched either, but yep IIRC H&A had the tastier peeps on the go.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Aye. It's been nigh on 20 years since I watched either, but yep IIRC H&A had the tastier peeps on the go.

Ya should see your wan what's in the police in it now .....the lads in work do be thinking I'm mad.....but she's pure descent

I don't actually know anyone who watched neighbours--it's on at a stupid time tbf

Think Kylie Minogue used be in it back like donkeys years ago...nearly sure she was-that concludes my knowledge of neighbours

I just remember being a kid and the assumption was that everyone should love Kylie.

So my mam and I and my bff at the time (about 4 or 5 years of age) saw a "Kylie and Jason" book in the shop and we both wanted it but there was only one left.

So I said to my pal "ok we will both just get the Jason book" tbf. I picked up the Jason book but she picked up the only kylie and Jason book on the sly and I only realised when we were at the checkout. I'm not annoyed about it anymore, I swear :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭JellieBabie

They're both crap. Totally unrealistic and shallow storylines - eg a million and one fires, bomb scares, serial killers, explosions, kidnappings in one tiny town. Characters invariably get cancer or epilepsy and then make miraculous recoveries despite never looking even remotely sick in the first place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Prisoner

Birneybau wrote: »
    Prisoner

Ferguson

Remember the twins Kirsty and the other one having that physic connection with each other, thelapathic, then the next storyline was they were swapped at birth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Home and Away because it was on after the Den. I remember the Italian family who owned the general store. Also a very young Sally Fletcher and her imaginary friend.

Neighbours had Kylie, Holly Valance, Natalie Imbruglia, Nell Mangel.

Feckin Bouncer was hotter than the majority women that have frequented Summer Bay.

Borat's Mrs the best of a sorry bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Neighbours was way better. Harold disappearing for 5 years and when he came back the reason was he was swept out to sea and picked up by a fishing boat and lost his memory.

Ruu wrote: »
    Home and Away because it was on after the Den. I remember the Italian family who owned the general store. Also a very young Sally Fletcher and her imaginary friend.

I remember poor sally crying in the mirror!

I remember hearing in secondary school that she had a sex tape :eek:

No idea if it's ture etc-but was all the talk apparently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭Decent Skin

Starving yourself is not a good idea ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

...and that story line with Sally's sex tape.

Oh i remember Irene The Evil Alcoholic who turned super good and then Selina who got entrapped with cult leader Sol. I stopped watching shortly after that.

Awh but who can forget the love story between diner girl Maryln and Mr Fisher? :)

But what about those twins in Neighbours that went out with Paul? Well I think one of them did but I'm not sure of the storylines they brought from it haha!

Oh I remember them alright. Most lads in my class were into them from memory.

No internet back in those days and sure scenes like the following were like hardcore porn to us :P

Oh I remember them alright. Most lads in my class were into them from memory.

No internet back in those days and sure scenes like the following were like hardcore porn to us :P

All she said was the waterhole was beautiful and that the man has to come round to fix the washing machine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

When I was a kid, you had a choice "Home and Away" or "Neighbours"You were either one or the other!

I was "Home and Away". Later i did watch a bit of "Neighbours" but it was more because it aired at my school lunch break.

"Bobby" dying in "Home and Away" stood out to me. And evil "Morag"

The way you use those quotation marks makes me feel that you don't trust that those were the real names of the shows or the characters. Sneaky Aussies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

And evil "Morag"

Shes still in it. Plays a solicitor. Looks like death warmed up. Worst facial complexion ever. Probably one of the ugliest characters on it.

Omackeral wrote: »
    The way you use those quotation marks makes me feel that you don't trust that those were the real names of the shows or the characters. Sneaky Aussies.

No I was just using quotations because they are shows and characters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

"Ok"

Shes still in it. Plays a solicitor. Looks like death warmed up. Worst facial complexion ever. Probably one of the ugliest characters on it.

Any time she's in it I think "here comes More Aggro"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Has to be Home and Away, for the sheer ridiculousness of it.
    Apologise, Beach, Diner, Apologise, Apologise, beach, diner, apologise.
    Oh, and the 25 year olds still in school.

Does anyone have a map of where things are meant to be in H&A ?

Sometimes people randomly show up on the beach at lunchtime from their job in the hospital, or alternate between needing busses and driving and walking to the farmhouse - it's all very weird!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Neighbours.

Definitely neighbours.

Neighbours.

Definitely neighbours.

Stone the flamin' gollahs! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Stone the flamin' gollahs! :eek:

It's crows, not galahs!!!

kfallon wrote: »
    It's crows, not galahs!!!

I tried combining two - if I posted all his legendary catchphrases boards would crash!

Neighbours.

Definitely neighbours.

Flamin Nora!!!

Oh no wait that's Coronation Street :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Flamin Nora!!!

Oh no wait that's Coronation Street :)

Rack off!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Home & Away cos of Dannii Minogue