Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martin fined for running and riding of Pyromaniac

• 12-07-2016 8:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭

PYROMANIAC was banned from racing for 42 days and trainer Tony Martin fined €2,000 as the Killarney stewards took a dim view of the six-year-old's run at Killarney on Tuesday evening.

Sent off the 4-1 second-favourite for a 1m6f race won by Hidden Cyclone, Pyromaniac finished sixth of the eight runners to complete, beaten nine lengths.

However the stewards found Martin and jockey Patrick McGuigan in breach of Rule 212, in that Martin had used the racecourse as a training ground, while McGuigan had made insufficient effort to achieve the best possible position.

McGuigan was given a seven-day ban, while Pyromaniac's 42-day ban would rule him out of running at the Galway festival later this month.

Poor Tony :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I was watching that I think, I had no interest in race. But if it was the horse I was looking at it was taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Andalucia

modus operandi for the stable

feel sorry for the stewards, likely to be an appeal and ban gets overturned, like the last time there was some bans dished out

at least Gigginstown will be no longer associated with this carry on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

a two grand fine is nothing compared to what a plot horse will make when the money is down.
    they need to start handing out bans to trainers to stop this sort of thing, a 7 day ban covering all of Galway week would do the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

I wonder is this the end for Tony Martin? The British handicapper is no longer willing to be taken for a fool by him, hence the winners over in England have dried up. Here in Ireland, it looks like stewards are finally starting to take notice of his behaviour. Personally, I don't think the punishments have gone far enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Met a neighbour of Tony's once (sound fella) and asked about him. He said the only way he'd ever get a tip of his is if he gave it to his wife, that "if Martin told me to go left I'd go right".

Kind of sums the man up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

I wonder is this the end for Tony Martin? The British handicapper is no longer willing to be taken for a fool by him, hence the winners over in England have dried up. Here in Ireland, it looks like stewards are finally starting to take notice of his behaviour. Personally, I don't think the punishments have gone far enough.

If you backed the horse you deserved what you got. Everyone knew the horse was out for a spin. The biggest mistake Tony made was putting up the young lad who couldnt hide it. Feel sorry Martin to be honest. Down on his luck, losing his stable and owners. Fantastic trainer over the years with limited horses to a fair degree and did his best for his owners. He was forced to play the handicap game because of the standard of horse he was getting up until 4 or 5 years ago.
    There are many worse offenders than Martin you get away with much more but he is a marked man now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭mick malones mauser

I have to say I like tony martin. Have met him a few times and a good friend of mine knows him well. Have been lucky enough to have been on the inside track on a few of his gambles.
    He is not the worst, a decent human being.
    Like a lot of trainers he plays the handicap game.
    There are worse than tony that's for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Yeah, you would swear he was the only one trying to handicap horses.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Kauto wrote: »
    If you backed the horse you deserved what you got. Everyone knew the horse was out for a spin. The biggest mistake Tony made was putting up the young lad who couldnt hide it. Feel sorry Martin to be honest. Down on his luck, losing his stable and owners. Fantastic trainer over the years with limited horses to a fair degree and did his best for his owners. He was forced to play the handicap game because of the standard of horse he was getting up until 4 or 5 years ago.
    There are many worse offenders than Martin you get away with much more but he is a marked man now!

Imagine in 2013 and 2014 he battled it out with Dermot Weld for the King of Ballybrit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

What an idiotic statement.

never really got the love for Martin as a trainer
    from a punters pint of view, you couldn't read him, granted he had a few well backed winners down the years, but plenty of his horses were heavily punted and out with the washing

Have been lucky enough to have been on the inside track on a few of his gambles.
    For every person that's on the inside of a gamble, there are at least another 10 who aren't. I know plenty of people who don't even bother attending race meetings because of "shrewd" trainers like Tony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

The AJ Martin love-in on parts of this thread are hard to stomach. His strokes were great for the tiny few that were in the know and reaped the benefits, but for the average punter, a sickener when you tried to put the work in on a race, only to be foiled by one of his gambles. Or the flip side, when backing one of his horses based on ability...to watch it from flag drop, piss about till half a furlong from home when the race is decided before delivering its "effort".
    Have a tiny bit of simpathy for the young jockey. Maybe this will be a lesson to him.
    I fully accept Martin isn't the only one trying to exploit the handicap system, but by Christ it has become glaringly obvious with his runners as time has went on and I don't know how he expected to keep it going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Do ye think it's a coincidence that Dermot has all these suddenly well handicapped horses for Galway every year?? He's every bit as bad he just does it with a smile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

Do ye think it's a coincidence that Dermot has all these suddenly well handicapped horses for Galway every year?? He's every bit as bad he just does it with a smile

a lot of welds winners are maidens no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Smullen did everything he could to get that one beat at leop last night still nearly won

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Smullen did everything he could to get that one beat at leop last night still nearly won

You referring to the Famous Name Colt that came third, by any chance?

Lt Dan wrote: »
    You referring to the Famous Name Colt that came third, by any chance?

Thats the one. People giving out about Tony Martin and not a word about this:).

Here you have the champion jockey doing everything he could to get the horse beat so that the trainer can have his massive ego boosted with another winner in Galway. Hope to God it gets stuffed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Black_Ninja

Thats the one. People giving out about Tony Martin and not a word about this:).

Here you have the champion jockey doing everything he could to get the horse beat so that the trainer can have his massive ego boosted with another winner in Galway. Hope to God it gets stuffed.

Paddy Power offered me 11/8 on Eziyra & Right Honourable double to win any race at the Galway Races

Shocking price. around 4/7 and 1/2 in single prices. One might not even run. Powers are pure scum. Their prices are getting worse and worse as the months go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

I'm hoping you are not insane and didn't take the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

BREAKING NEWS.....

Appeal has been dismissed but the punishments are still been discussed

BREAKING NEWS.....

Appeal has been dismissed but the punishments are still been discussed

Yeah? That's great stuff.

Fine has been reduced but the ban for the horse hasn't so it doesn't run at galway now

The fine's of little consequence anyway it's the missing the target race that'll hurt them and rightly so.

Irish racing is some joke, the appeal was successful, but they caught him on another technicality - sore teeth on the horse so unfit to race - thats a unique one anyway.

whats the point of race day stewards? almost everything is overturned on appeal

Martin will probably appeal this ban and be successful again - probably have a few winners next week and RTE racing will blow smoke up his arse telling us he's a great trainer, just getting over a quite spell

Andalucia wrote: »
    Irish racing is some joke, the appeal was successful, but they caught him on another technicality - sore teeth on the horse so unfit to race - thats a unique one anyway.

whats the point of race day stewards? almost everything is overturned on appeal

Martin will probably appeal this ban and be successful again - probably have a few winners next week and RTE racing will blow smoke up his arse telling us he's a great trainer, just getting over a quite spell

And it's confirmed the sore teeth could've arisen during or since the race. You'd nearly think they didn't believe his excuse :pac:

between the shoes saga previously with Ted and now this, I wonder if there is soap writer employed by the Truf Club

Watch Irish racing for a week, and a blind man can pick out the horses out for a spin, the stewards bring in 1 out of 400 of these cases and the bans are overturned - why bother with the circus, leave them do what they want, because they rule themselves anyway

its a bit like the Russian doping scandal, where there appears to be focus on protection of the problem, rather than ensuring its a level playing field

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Ahh lads.. What a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Discussed at the start of RTE's Galway coverage today. Ted had a right go at officialdom.

If this horse wins on Thursday it will only serve to highlight how shambolic the game is in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

The Real Article part deux

I know so many people in Ireland who won't even look at an Irish race because of the rampant cheating that's going on. The fact that the sports ruling body can't even hold trainers to account us a farce.

Andalucia wrote: »
    Watch Irish racing for a week, and a blind man can pick out the horses out for a spin, the stewards bring in 1 out of 400 of these cases and the bans are overturned - why bother with the circus, leave them do what they want, because they rule themselves anyway
    Hate this attitude. Most people on this forum would watch a lot of racing and know more than 95% of the general public. Even at that, often enough you still wouldn't have agreement whether a horse was trying or not. What chance would the occasional punter have if enthusiasts don't have a clue?