Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Working holiday / 189 Visa Skill independant / 457 Visa temp Skilled visa

Options
  • 04-07-2016 7:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭

Hi all ,
    So I've been looking at options for Australia for myself and my wife. We're both professionals , I work in IT and she works in procurement. Just to be clear if we went Australia it would be to work in our current fields and not do the backpacker work on a farm for 3 months to extend visa type of deal.

Essentially we want to test out Aus to see if we'd like to live there. We've friends who've gone out and loved the lifestyle so we're thinking while we've still time on our side and no kids/mortgage that we could try it out for 1-2 years and see what comes from it
    It seems the main options are

Working Holiday Visa
    • Cost : ~297 euro each
    • Can only work at one location for up to 6 months

Skilled work Visa
    • Cost : 3820 euro ... Along with ~200 euro for an English test ... Along with ~400 euro to have my degree recognised by Australian authorities
    • Need to be selected through SkillSelect to even apply

the one that seems the best
    Temporary Work (Skilled) visa
    • Cost : 750 euro each
    • Allows me to stay up to 4 years
    • Needs to be sponsored by a business

So my big fear with the working holiday visa is that you're only allowed work in one place for 6 months, which isn't ideal if I'd be applying to jobs. The upside of it , it's very easy process to get one ....