Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loud and annoying car

• 03-07-2016 8:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

Quick question - there is a kid who drives around the estate I live at (with an uninsured and untaxed) loud honda civic. I honestly couldn't care less about it, except for the fact that his car is super loud (like a racer car) and he leaves at all hours of the night and wakes my husband and myself up. We both work and stuff and it's gotten to the point where I am woken up twice every night if not three or four times. Oh, he also doesn't live in the estate at all but is dating someone's kid in the estate and I'm not the first person to mention this to the neighbor that it's an issue. What can I do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Quick question - there is a kid who drives around the estate I live at (with an uninsured and untaxed) loud honda civic. I honestly couldn't care less about it, except for the fact that his car is super loud (like a racer car) and he leaves at all hours of the night and wakes my husband and myself up. We both work and stuff and it's gotten to the point where I am woken up twice every night if not three or four times. Oh, he also doesn't live in the estate at all but is dating someone's kid in the estate and I'm not the first person to mention this to the neighbor that it's an issue. What can I do?

Call to the local station with the reg and approx times he is around. They will keep an eye for him.

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

have u tried turning it off and on again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Are there many more people getting bothered by it? Before going to the Gards mabye just have a group of ye meet him the next time he rolls in and tell him to cop on? That people are trying to sleep for work. Ten or eleven fed up adults will likely soften his cough, without laying anything on anyone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

People will think I'm taking the mick but honestly I'd just get a cheap set of earplugs or headphones for the radio. Wouldn't bother me in the slightest tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Is this the same ****ing car?

Because there's bee a few threads about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

This is the 3rd or 4th thread about this?

I'm calling boll***s on this whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

Jesus. wrote: »
    People will think I'm taking the mick but honestly I'd just get a cheap set of earplugs or headphones for the radio. Wouldn't bother me in the slightest tbh.

Easy for you to say: remember in Luke 22:42 how you asked your dad, "Lord, take this Civic away from me...."

Wasn;t so cool then, was it? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

As a member of the fat exhaust crowd, any time I went near an estate it was never to race about. It was get in, park up and feck off..
    I'd idle the engine in 3rd until I got there but I was even too self aware of that, so I just got one of these instead:

7660159-11261849_845506808864986_8938210978644159113_n.jpg
    However despite the genuinely quite sound, it still looked loud and after enough pulls by the gards I just gave up, cut an OE exhaust apart, removed the baffle walls and reassembled it with the 2 inch pipe coming from the box looking just like the factory intended. Even though it was a little noisier than the tunable baffle exhaust (but still nowhere near as loud as the baffle-less exhaust) I never got an ounce of bother :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Anyway the moral of that wall of ****e above is feck em. Messing about is fine, God knows I did enough of it, but if you can't keep it away from people then you have a responsibility not to mess about with them. We managed it, I've little time for people who don't.