Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neckbeards, the worst form of facial hair?

• 02-07-2016 8:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭

I was walking down a busy town centre when I was approached by a friend of mine whom I haven't seen in a few weeks.

He had apparently taken upon himself to try and grow a "massive, manly beard" (his words, seriously) and ended up with an extremely fluffy and pubish neckbeard.

Naturally, I was disgusted and told him to march back home and shave that obscenity off immediately. We would share the cheeseboard another day.

Personally, I feel like that the neckbeard is the ugliest form of facial hair, followed by the horrendous soul patch and the chest-long ginger goatee.

What do you think? Do you have a neckbeard? Are you aware of how silly you look?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Neck is not your face so ergo not facial hair

IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Ive been cultivating a goatie. Its great craic altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Neckbeard is the worst, nearly as bad as the pubescent moustache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

FortySeven wrote: »
    Neckbeard is the worst, nearly as bad as the pubescent moustache.

It's a difficult area to shave in fairness.
    If we want to support each other as brothers and repel the feminist onslaught we ought to appreciate the beard in all its forms and nod in appreciation,even if deep down we need to vomit.

kneemos wrote: »
    It's a difficult area to shave in fairness.
    If we want to support each other as brothers and repel the feminist onslaught we ought to appreciate the beard in all its forms and nod in appreciation,even if deep down we need to vomit.

Lol! Kneemos, someone should give you a medal.

I have a full, no nonsense, gardenesque type beard myself. It wards off all forms of evil, including feminism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I think any facial hair of any kind other than a thick grown in stubble looks awful. I know some people have nice beards and I can appreciate them as nice beards but generally I think they make most men look worse! Thick stubble on the other hand improves the majority of mens appearances imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I'm not clear on what is meant by "neckbeard". Is it for guys who have neck hair only, or is it also applied to guys who have the same length of hair on their faces too?

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

uxFDJUy.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

uxFDJUy.jpg

"I told you to shave off those sideburns, go home, you're off the team."

bnt wrote: »
    I'm not clear on what is meant by "neckbeard". Is it for guys who have neck hair only, or is it also applied to guys who have the same length of hair on their faces too?

I assumed it was just around the neck.
    Now I'm not so sure.

Naturally, I was disgusted and told him to march back home and shave that obscenity off immediately. We would share the cheeseboard another day.

Thought I was reading another Aongus post there for a moment.

Worst form of facial hair is the hairy mole. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

The square moustache has to be the worst form of facial hair ever. What was Hitler thinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

kneemos wrote: »
    I assumed it was just around the neck.
    Now I'm not so sure.
    From reading Urban Dictionary and other sources, it's about having more hair on the neck than on the face. The implication being that it's a guy who can't grow a real beard even if he tries, and should therefore not bother in the first place.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Worst form of facial hair is lots of little 1/4" long hairs on the chin, or lip, or the ghastly long sideburns.

On women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Candie wrote: »

Do you have a hairy mole?
    Why does my question seem dirty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I knew a guy who had a neckbeard years ago when I worked with him. A right rude little dickhead. But the "beard", if you wanna call it that, just looked so weird. Like he forgot to shave his neck.

Do you have a hairy mole?
    Why does my question seem dirty?

I have a mole I suspect will sprout when I'm an old hag. Looking forward to it too. I'm going to embrace the hagdom for all it's worth.

You know why it sounds dirty! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

The square moustache has to be the worst form of facial hair ever. What was Hitler thinking?
    I read somewhere it was the fashion for the German lads in the trenches in WW1.It allowed a snug, airtight fit for the gasmasks while still maintaining some face furniture.

I have a mole I suspect will sprout when I'm an old hag. Looking forward to it too. I'm going to embrace the hagdom for all it's worth.

I've one hairy mole right on my jawline under my ear and I'm not even that old. The only blessing is it's not a raised mole and the hairs are wispy and blonde. Tis very sexy so it is.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

"'Tis a fine barn, but sure 'tis no pool, English."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

menopause will bring the chin hairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

I once saw an elderly lady with a full goatee. Twas impressive.

mansize wrote: »
    menopause will bring the chin hairs

Looking forward to it. I think it'll suit me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Wasn't the word neckbeard barred on boards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

Lol! Kneemos, someone should give you a medal.

I have a full, no nonsense, gardenesque type beard myself. It wards off all forms of evil, including feminism.

PM sent :P

love a good full beard on a man:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

Worst form of facial hair is lots of little 1/4" long hairs on the chin, or lip, or the ghastly long sideburns.

On women.

I agree there's wax and creams to sort that sh1t out!

I reackon I'd have one of those distinguished salt and pepper jobs if I let it grow.Two days is the most I can stand though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

What the hell is a soul patch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

A fella I work with had receeding hair with adjoining sideburns for years and recently decided to do what any self respecting baldy lad would do and shave his head.

He looks very strange now with no hair and just a pair of Weetabix on the side of his face.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

The hitler is not a good choice. Also the chin strap. It's the facial hair equivalent of jean shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

milehip wrote: »
    What the hell is a soul patch?
    Google must be down again.

Bite me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Do you have a neckbeard? Are you aware of how silly you look?

No and no.

milehip wrote: »
    Bite me.

Handbags at dawn :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

We would share the cheeseboard another day.

Were ye on yere way to an orgy or what ?

Handbags at dawn :P

I looked it up,the pictures were 'soul- destroying'

Hope the're happy now,dont think I'll sleep tonight.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

How about a naked mole ?

Weird things. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Naked_mole-rat

That's me turned off my sushi :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Joey Jo-Jo Junior

They're quite desperate looking alright. My hair grows all over my face and I trim off any hair below a lowered jawline through the point halfway between my chin and Adam's apple.