Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jeans...

• 02-07-2016 6:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭

Well hi,

Jeans have always been an issue for me. Even more so now as every shop seems to have these skinny jeans with 36" length legs!!

I'm not tall, I'm not built like an anorexic lamppost. I can barely get my feet into them things. I've always tended to go for bootcut as I've shortish legs and they make the jeans fit more comfortably length wise. But bootcut seems to be sooooo 90s nowadays.

Anyhow, any 'real' men out there with big calves recommend a brand or shop that doesn't conform to the current teen/hipster skinny (no room for genitals) type jeans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

John Rocca, debenhams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

D0NNELLY wrote: »
    John Rocca, debenhams

Tried on some of them, but they seem to be geared towards very tall people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I'm a massive fan of Levi 511s, but I'm 6ft2, so not sure if they fall into the only suiting tall people category. Mate of mine, 5ft10, bought a pair recently and really likes them too.

They are a slim fit, I suppose, but the material is stretchy. I've never had any problems with them in that regard anyway, and I'm not a fan of the skinny jeans. Overall, they fit great and are super comfortable. I've about 5 pairs of them at this stage!

I used to be 34 length for leg, but find that 32 length fits better for these, so keep in mind if you do try them on.

Knex. wrote: »
    I'm a massive fan of Levi 511s, but I'm 6ft2, so not sure if they fall into the only suiting tall people category. Mate of mine, 5ft10, bought a pair recently and really likes them too.

They are a slim fit, I suppose, but the material is stretchy. I've never had any problems with them in that regard anyway, and I'm not a fan of the skinny jeans. Overall, they fit great and are super comfortable. I've about 5 pairs of them at this stage!

I used to be 34 length for leg, but find that 32 length fits better for these, so keep in mind if you do try them on.

I actually tried on a pair of 501s today and they were disastrous. It was kildare village and I'm beginning to think some of the stuff there is misshapen.

I've calves that Arnie would be jealous of so probably loose fit would best suit me.

py2006 wrote: »
    I actually tried on a pair of 501s today and they were disastrous. It was kildare village and I'm beginning to think some of the stuff there is misshapen.

I've calves that Arnie would be jealous of so probably loose fit would best suit me.

Have a read here: http://www.menshealth.com/style/perfect-fit-jeans

And there are probably some YouTube videos that talk you through the various cuts and what suits various shapes. :)

I'm 4ft 11 and thin, the struggle is real when you're not a standard size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

I find Next's slim fit jeans (I wear the black ones) very good for €38. I'm not by any means slim but I find the fit great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,819 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I find Diesel jeans very comfortable, the Hudson or Dexter style fit great and they're not too loose but they are very similar to boot cut.

Charlie19 wrote: »
    I find Diesel jeans very comfortable, the Hudson or Dexter style fit great and they're not too loose but they are very similar to boot cut.

Never thought of diesel, must give them a try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭wijam

Never thought if diesel, must give them a try

I'll second Diesel, was in Liverpool end of February and went into about 6 different shops and it was all the same skinny jeans, into Diesel and picked up a good fit in 5 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Gmaximum

My calf barely fits a ski boot one size too big for me. I find gant and ted baker both do styles that fit well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭nc6000

I can't stand the recent trend of skinny or tapered jeans so have been buying jeans in Gap in The Outlet in Banbridge. I know that won't suit everyone but I got two nice pairs of loose fit jeans there today for £24.99 each which is pretty good going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Candie wrote: »

Great advice in that article "The cut can make larger legs look like a pair of stuffed anacondas. " : )

I find gasoline jeans a good non skinny but smart fit

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I find the jeans in GAP to be grand and pretty cheap. Slim fit ones they have are a good fit.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Amirani wrote: »
    Slim fit ones they have are a good fit.
    If you're of a slim build I suspect. That's PY's problem. He's not. Being of the anorexic lamppost persuasion :D I'm a 29 waist 34/5 leg(at 5' 10" in height) so that should give you an idea. I find Levi's generally fit me well. TBH for years I wondered how they sold so well given I wasn't exactly normal. This would be the 501 and 511 in various cuts(boot cut tends to be too loose on me). The Levi stuff, at least in the European market is a) seemingly aimed at the snake hipped and b) over priced. Their fit and measurements(and quality) vary depending on where they were made too. At the moment the Turkish produced ones are the best made and closest to what the label actually says. IMH Levi's have gone way downhill in the last decade.

Like others have noted I have heard Diesel are better for those of more normal build. Would depend on the style of jean too. Old style would be a different fit to that current hipster my arse has fainted and the gusset has let go look. OK I'm old, but WTF is that style all about? You know the one the dropped crotch look.

asos-drop-crotch-jeans-in-coated-washed-black.jpg

It looks(and walks) like you've been childish and crapped your pants.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I find the jeans in GAP to be grand and pretty cheap. Slim fit ones they have are a good fit.
    Wibbs wrote: »
    If you're of a slim build I suspect.

Well as you know Wibbs, I could never be accused of being of a slim build, and I recently bought a pair of slim fit jeans in Gap. They're the best fitting jeans I've had in years.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Zaph wrote: »
    Well as you know Wibbs, I could never be accused of being of a slim build, and I recently bought a pair of slim fit jeans in Gap. They're the best fitting jeans I've had in years.
    It seems the descriptions don't always match the reality Z? Though not a surprise as I've tried on 501's described as average fit that would cut the blood off at the hips and slim fit that were roomy enough.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Was in Debenhams today, tried on two pairs of of 34 x 30 501s. (normally 32 leg but find Levis longer).

Why 2 of the same size Py, I hear ye ask...

From experience they are never the same I tells ya...

Low and behold one pair fitted almost but was too tight on the calves. The other one (same size) wouldn't even come close to closing around waist.

I do have an awful nightmare with jeans! :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Try Burton relaxed fit jeans.

Hard to get a good range in the shop, but try them on and have a look online for different colours.

Handy for lads like me with thunder thighs.

If you're of a slim build I suspect. That's PY's problem. He's not. Being of the anorexic lamppost persuasion :D I'm a 29 waist 34/5 leg(at 5' 10" in height).

Oddly, I pictured you differently Wibbs...

I'm about your height but with a 34 inch waist and 31 inch leg which is problematic. I've calves like Schwartzenegger and a decent crotch so skinny jeans are a no no

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Simple solution - hot pants like the late great Lemmy...

CHT49IkWcAE1kqp.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Bored_lad

I think the problem is people are confused about the different cuts of jeans a slim or tapered jean is very different to a skinny cut. You slim or tapered would be normal around you thigh and seat and would taper in slightly around your calf. This stops it looking like your wearing a pair of bootcuts. If your absolutely massive and can't find jeans that will fit then you should check out Levi's they have an athletic fit afaik. Also do a search over on MFA this exact question seems to come up weekly on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,449 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

It seems the descriptions don't always match the reality Z? Though not a surprise as I've tried on 501's described as average fit that would cut the blood off at the hips and slim fit that were roomy enough.

Wibbs I can just picture you with legs like Kermit :D

I'm the same height at 5'10", but with a 30 leg, and what seems to be a waistline that goes from anywhere between a 36 and a 40 depending on something like the alignment of the stars or something (sometimes I have to tighten the belt a notch, sometimes I notice the kink in the belt where the hole is), but jeans I haven't been able to find a pair that looks right in years, used to wear nothing but Levi's 501, which became more like skinny jeans with every wash, then bootcut were the 512's I think, and were ridiculous money at £85 a pair, just couldn't justify it :eek:

OP have you tried Penneys? Genuinely, bit of a lottery as far as sizes, fits and styles go, but for €10 thereabouts, they're practically disposable jeans, you'll find something to wear for a night out anyway that looks good, but nowadays I just wear plain black suit trousers. They just fit, and they're a lot less hassle than having to stress over looking for something different in the wardrobe every morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

If you had some patience, TK Maxx might also be worth a visit. Sizes drive me demented at times. Ordered a pair from Littlewoods and they were too big, so ordered the smaller size and they'd barely go past my knees! It's like a lottery!! (And I'm female!)

I'd also recommend GAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

+1 for GAP.
    Also any of the 'stretch' fits at Topman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

D0NNELLY wrote: »
    John Rocca, debenhams

You sure? Tried their boot cuts in my size, could not get them past me thighs! Ended up going to Next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

I'm 36 inch waist with tighs to match, been buying Rocca jeans since 2008. No complains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

I struggle with jeans myself.

I have thick legs and calves but they are short plus I'm a bit of a chubbster so its an ill fitting triple whammy.

I've found Arnotts have a super selection and that's where I buy mine.

I used to be a big advocate for Diesel but most of the time I've gone in there over the last 2 years or so I've not been able find anything that's comfortable.

The sooner this budgie smuggling style dies a death the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

I have kinda the same problem only it's fat thighs that's my problem. I used to wear Next relaxed fit jeans but they have stopped making them nowadays I wear Mish Mash jeans and find them great they have a wide leg. I get them in Wilfes in Mullingar.

I'm about your height but with a 34 inch waist and 31 inch leg which is problematic. I've calves like Schwartzenegger and a decent crotch so skinny jeans are a no no
    It would be my opinion that skinny jeans are a no no except for the skinny. The clue being in the name. :D They only work if you look like a 1970's musician that's been up speed balling for six days straight, with hookers and Iggy Pop. If you're of a bigger frame, whether that be from muscle, bone or fat they just look odd.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I'm a 29 waist 34/5 leg(at 5' 10" in height).

Jaysus, I'm 5'10"ish also, 30/31 waist but only 31 leg.

Finding jeans that I can fit my fat arse into can be a challenge. Well it's not so much my arse that’s problematic, rather the troubling frontal visual that modern day jeans tend to offer up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

Huge thighs and calves here and I find that Nautica fit very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,653 ✭✭✭kingshankly

What's the best pair for someone with no Arse
    Find after a few wears the pockets are down the backs of my legs

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

What's the best pair for someone with no Arse
    Find after a few wears the pockets are down the backs of my legs

You probably need to wear a belt, or go a size smaller. Jeans can stretch a lot, especially 100% cotton. The ones with 2% elastane usually hold their shape better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭LunarSea

Belt is essential. It gives a wee bit of wiggle room for different sizs (or rather, removes it!), I 've a few pairs of different jeans that without the belt all feel different and don't sit properly at my waist, but with it I can't tell the difference and they never slip or become uncomfortable. A simple, classic look too.

I've a pair of Pepe jeans that fit me so damn well I almost don't want to wear them as all good things will eventually come to an end. They're a regular fit, 34" waist, 32" leg. Tight enough on the thighs that they always look neat and well fitted but with enough room to stay plenty comfortable, lower leg/cuff are boot cut with ample calf room and sit perfectly on all my shoes and runners without looking scrunced up or dragging on the ground. Even though they're roomy, they keep the neat look.

What's even madder about them is my brother bought these in a sale without trying them on - he's 5'6" and I'm 6'0", so he just handed them to me. My best fitting jeans - I never got to try them on beforehand!