Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Industrial action on the cards for Gardaí

• 28-06-2016 1:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭

THE HEAD OF the organisation which represents rank-and-file gardaí has threatened industrial action if the government pushes ahead with a salary freeze.

http://www.thejournal.ie/garda-strike-2850142-Jun2016/

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0628/798722-lansdowne-road-agreement/

To give some context. The government was supposed to do a full review on Garda pay and allowances by the middle of 2014. This has not yet been done. Gardaí rejected the Lansdown Road agreement and are refusing to work the 30 free hours under the Haddington Road agreement because of the failure of the government to hold up their end of the deal.

The government have also ignored the recent decision by European courts on the right of police services to strike, negotiate in pay deals and affiliate with unions. This effectively means that any strike action would be illegal under an Irish law which has been deemed illegal under EU law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

We are going to have our own winter of discontent I reckon. Half the civil service and semi state sector have pay demands simmering on the verge of strike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,890 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

I'll get my smashing hammer so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

I fully support them, they have been treated shamefully over the last few years.

No doubt it will turn into a garda bashing thread by the usual suspects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

I don't blame the Gardai at all, They have been treated despically by the Govt:mad:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Will it be like when the police went on strike in Robocop? Class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Times like these when they probably wish they hadn't of acted as private security guards on behalf of a company owned by Ireland's most coorupt wealthy citizen, and helped force water meters into areas the residents didn't want them.

In saying that, I fully support the gardai in their quest to be treated better, and have levels or pay and conditions reinstated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Deregulation is long overdue in this sector

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Times like these when they probably wish they hadn't of acted as private security guards on behalf of a company owned by Ireland's most coorupt wealthy citizen, and helped force water meters into areas the residents didn't want them.

Nope.

I was just thinking that!
    I'd like to play the role of Clarence Boddicker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

As long as it's the original and not the reboot.

Nope.

That may also be the reply by a sizeable enough portion of citizens when they are asked if they will/do support the gardai in their imminent protests too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

I tell ya, when they're on their pickets I hope the Police come in, and absolutely ............Oh no wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Can you swing a sack of doorknobs?

That may also be the reply by a sizeable enough portion of citizens when they are asked if they will/do support the gardai in their imminent protests too.

Most likely the same citizens who abused them, spit on them and assaulted them at the meter installations. Their support would never really have been on the cards in any case.

Ted111 wrote: »
    I tell ya, when they're on their pickets I hope the Police come in, and absolutely ............Oh no wait!

There'll be four or five lads from GSOC along with all the students and probationers manning the barricades.

Most likely the same citizens who abused them, spit on them and assaulted them at the meter installations. Their support would never really have been on the cards in any case.

Well tbh, you get scumbags in all sections of society, including members of the gardai (*dead rats nailed to doors anyone?) but I was of course referring to the many hundreds of thousands decent, law abiding, people who rightly objected to the gards forcing them off the pavements and roads in their own estates.

Goes around/comes around.

Well tbh, you get scumbags in all sections of society, (including members of the gardai) but I was of course referring to the many hundreds of thousands decent, law abiding, people who rightly objected to the gards forcing them off the pavements and roads in their own estates.

Goes around/comes around.

Hundreds of thousands? What planet are you on? What are you even talking about. The Gardai had to attend only a fraction of installations and those were ones attended by the people causing trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

In saying that, I fully support the gardai in their quest to be treated better, and have levels or pay and conditions reinstated.

The Garda cannot say no to a direct order, unless there breaking the law. But it's overtime and they short on cash, plus they can do phek all about it. FG have them by the balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭selastich2

the **** hitting the fan when the pay deductions kick in on friday :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

grahambo wrote: »
    I was just thinking that!
    I'd like to play the role of Clarence Boddicker

Personally, I'd rather be "I'd buy that for a dollar" guy ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

As if there are any people who DO want them. Not wanting them is hardly grounds for it not to happen for just some people. It is annoying the way the garda attendance at these protests is spun to make it seem as though they just rocked over there to harass protesters just for the craic and that they had a choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,596 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I support them, 23k for a new recruit that will be frozen till 2018 is slave labour. Its like minimum wage, I know clerical officers on more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭carzony

rob316 wrote: »
    I support them, 23k for a new recruit that will be frozen till 2018 is slave labour. Its like minimum wage,.

Most other jobs starting out are on that kind of pay. Look at jobs.ie, fas, indeed, monster ect.. That's the wage most people have to put up with atm..

I do agree it needs to be increased overtime though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 78 ✭✭Old School Husqy

Will they be still able to play the wifi while this is happening?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Clampdown

Guess I gotta start making a suit and some cool superhero weapons. Someone has to keep the scum in line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Lots of people here who obviously don't remember the Blue 'Flu in the 90s.

The root problem here of course is treating all civil/public service workers as one unit. One size does not fit all, every branch of the public service should be negotiated with individually and if they start pointing at what other branches get, be told to fnck off and look at their own plate.

Of course the unions won't allow that because then people might actually get paid fairly for the work that they do and be held accountable for the quality of quantity of what they do.

People doing a good job for a fair wage? Unions can't be having that.

Personally, I'd rather be "I'd buy that for a dollar" guy ;)

Awh yeah, you man get the womens... dammit!
    carzony wrote: »
    Most other jobs starting out are on that kind of pay. Look at jobs.ie, fas, indeed, monster ect.. That's the wage most people have to put up with atm..

True, but most people don't have to deal with the scummers that the Garda do. I have a mate that's a Garda in Storestreet. He said it's day in day out scum ball pauls.

23k to risk being milled by a load of skangers!? No Thanks.. I'll stick to cleaning the jack in McDonalds!
    Clampdown wrote: »
    Guess I gotta start making a suit and some cool superhero weapons. Someone has to keep the scum in line.

I have my Orgazmo suit (complete with Orgazmorator, a ray gun) ready to go!

maxresdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,596 ✭✭✭✭rob316

For someone that is qualified and has been through proper training its absolutely ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Good job its in the press and online, otherwise I may not have noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,813 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Best of luck to them, one of the toughest and most important jobs in society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Unlike the luas drivers i support the gards in this. It's a very tough job and they deserved to be paid well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

So you actually think that individual Gardai decided themselves they were going to police the water protests and wanted to be there doing that work? Are you really that small minded???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

thats true but the jobs your talking bout are 8 hour 9 to 5s in a safe office environment.

where as gardai are doing ten hour shift work nights and mornings in a car or walking the street dealing with the scum of the earth and absorbing abuse from any passing SJW on their way to the dole office to collect nearly the same amount for doing nothing but sitting at home skinning up and logging onto boards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

But most jobs aren't being a guard? Plenty of skilled jobs start on more than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Handy number the guards have, driving about waving to people, free uniform, company car, twenty weeks holidays a year, get free entry to all the big social events, and all they have to do in return is prosecuting some old Granny for being a kilometre over the speed limit or harass innocent members of the public on the footpath that never got in trouble in their life.

And they're looking for more money? The neck of them.