Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryanair Captin having the craic

• 26-06-2016 9:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭

This legend of a Ryanair pilot had the craic with Irish fans on a flight to Lyon this morning http://dailyedge.ie/2846769

Fair play to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Bazzy

Great to see

whats the chances of a flight crew of Gary Breen's :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,099 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Well anyone afraid of flying would be grand after that.

Great Dub accent too, am I mistaken?

Anyway, he certainly made sure that the cabin crew was mentioned. Kudos

Great craic, would love to have been there with them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Trick of the Tail

My old mate Greg Browne. Top man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭maximum12

He's like a Dublin bus driver with a personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

maximum12 wrote: »
    He's like a Dublin bus driver with a personality.

According to MOL they're all like bus drivers... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Qwerty27

Just as an aside to this, the captain wasn't such a happy camper on the return journey. It turned out that somehow we had an extra passenger on board and after firstly making a half hearted attempt to recheck all boarding cards, the captain came on and looked for a volunteer to get off and wait for next flight 2 hours later!

Unsurprisingly, no one jumped at the chance and so after about half an hour, captain fantastic said ryanair head office would refund price of return leg which was over €300...one guy took him up on up but wanted it in writing quite rightly! We ended up departing 2 hours late after a painful wait on the tarmac! I presume this was the fault of the handling agents who let the stowaway on and so the flight couldn't take off with a passenger not on the manifest which would breach some safety regulation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Qwerty27 wrote: »
    Just as an aside to this, the captain wasn't such a happy camper on the return journey. It turned out that somehow we had an extra passenger on board and after firstly making a half hearted attempt to recheck all boarding cards, the captain came on and looked for a volunteer to get off and wait for next flight 2 hours later!

Unsurprisingly, no one jumped at the chance and so after about half an hour, captain fantastic said ryanair head office would refund price of return leg which was over €300...one guy took him up on up but wanted it in writing quite rightly! We ended up departing 2 hours late after a painful wait on the tarmac! I presume this was the fault of the handling agents who let the stowaway on and so the flight couldn't take off with a passenger not on the manifest which would breach some safety regulation?

Stowaway ?
    But surely they should have got off ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭TheCockpitGuy

Some lisp on him!

With allocated seating surely it would take two minutes to find the extra passenger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Blut2

Qwerty27 wrote: »

With assigned allocated seating it couldn't take more than 5 minutes to do an ID+seat check for every seat on the plane? Did you witness this yourself or is it a friend of a friend scenario?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,703 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Blut2 wrote: »
    With assigned allocated seating it couldn't take more than 5 minutes to do an ID+seat check for every seat on the plane? Did you witness this yourself or is it a friend of a friend scenario?

The Second Captains guys were on the flight and brought it up on the show yesterday.

I'm guessing the story is that the headcount didn't equal the passengers boarded per the gate and they can't leave without that tallying.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,052 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

maximum12 wrote: »
    I'm guessing the story is that the headcount didn't equal the passengers boarded per the gate and they can't leave without that tallying.
    Happens every now and then, unfortunate that it happened with media onboard. usually can be sorted out with a name and seat check. Problem there requires airport staff to be able to provide cabin staff with legible paper print out of this info rather than blaming cabin crew for miscounting.
    When you have 189 seats, none are empty, no infants on laps and the toilets are empty, its pretty hard to get the headcount wrong. But you can be surprised what the 3rd party handlers at airports try to get away with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭billie1b

There's no head counts on Ryanair flights. What happened was, a pax from another Lyon to Dublin flight made it on board with the wrong flight number at the gate, the 2 flights had similar numbers and were close enough departure times. Without doing a full boarding card cross check on board the gate staff never would have known who it was. In the end the pax was identified and the Capt got the pax authorised to travel on their flight as the pax flight had already pushed

billie1b wrote: »
    There's no head counts on Ryanair flights. What happened was, a pax from another Lyon to Dublin flight made it on board with the wrong flight number at the gate, the 2 flights had similar numbers and were close enough departure times. Without doing a full boarding card cross check on board the gate staff never would have known who it was. In the end the pax was identified and the Capt got the pax authorised to travel on their flight as the pax flight had already pushed

I'm guessing this would normally be picked up by a boarding pass scanner but because Lyon is not a Ryanair route they didn't have the ability to scan the boarding cards and they were only checked visually.