Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

25th of June

• 25-06-2016 8:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭

Where is our summer?

I was cold today and i don't think i was the only cold person as i saw others wearing hoodies.

I'm using a hot water bottle as I type this.

Is anyone else the same?

The Raptor wrote: »
    Where is our summer?

I was cold today and i don't think i was the only cold person as i saw others wearing hoodies.

I'm using a hot water bottle as I type this.

Is anyone else the same?

It's lovely. For a nocturnal creature such as myself who turns to dust at the mere sight of that yellow sphere of pain, I am most comfortable.

Other things which are missing;
    Frizzy hair
    Sweaty back from car
    Puffing and panting
    No suitable clothes
    Not being an easy breezy summer girl
    Not being able to sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Summer is here and it's pretty much average for Ireland.
    Why do everyone think it'll be a 2 month heatwave? That never happens..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

You're living in Ireland yeah?

biko wrote: »
    Summer is here and it's pretty much average for Ireland.
    Why do everyone think it'll be a 2 month heatwave? That never happens..

I agree. Every summer it's the same complaining. This is the climate we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

What you using a hot water bottle for OP? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I agree it was very cold today! Had to wear a coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Sure the evenings are drawing in now.

Next thing you know, The Rose of Tralee will be on and we'll be back to school and back to being sent to bed as soon as the Glenroe credits start to roll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Sure the evenings are drawing in now.

Next thing you know, The Rose of Tralee will be on and we'll be back to school and back to being sent to bed as soon as the Glenroe credits start to roll

Yep! It wasn't because it was good that I didn't want it to end!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

You live in Ireland. Stop being a moany gowl.

The weather here is excellent. My sweaty balls will be glad to see the back of any blistering heat.

Give me grey and overcast any day over 30 degrees heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

All we're missing is that sideways rain to make it a proper Irish summer.

If you were cold today you need to go to the doctor. You probably have The AIDS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

The bad kind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

We live in a country with wildly unpredictable summers.

Why this is still a grey area of knowledge for most is strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

It's hardly cold. T-shirt weather today, and all week.

It's normal temperatures for the time of year. We have just had a couple of unseasonably good weather. It's normal weather for the time of year.

July and August are always our better "summer" months.

Man up. It's far from cold.

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    The bad kind?

Probably.

Beat case scenario is touch and go.

But then that's maybe what has you feeling cold today....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

It's hardly cold. T-shirt weather today, and all week.

It's normal temperatures for the time of year. We have just had a couple of unseasonably good weather. It's normal weather for the time of year.

July and August are always our better "summer" months.

Man up. It's far from cold.

Hopefully it'll clear up soon....I've hay to cut middle of July like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

Lads here reckon if it keeps up they'll get a second cut end of August
    Any way it's been t shirt weather since end of April any one going around in hoodies and the like need to get their circulation checked out. Feckin Jessie's!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

No coat = summer I'm ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

Any way it's been t shirt weather since end of April any one going around in hoodies and the like need to get their circulation checked out. Feckin Jessie's!!!!
    I just cannot understand how so many people are so easily "freezing" in a climate like that of this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

I lit the fire Thursday night ,twas lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

This is grand weather. You had two weeks of sun, tis not Spain you're in

First cut of silage done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I've been going around in t-shirts for over a month. Nothing else, just a t-shirt - I've been arrested four times and banned from Tesco.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

June is usually the worst month of summer - it's pretty straightforward

May - starts wobbly but settles down into fine weather, Exams start week of hot weather leading into
    June - second week it all falls apart and stays unsettled until a fine 7-10 days in early
    July prompting another rash of rashes and builders cleavage horror (and that's just the gurls) but once again it breaks down until in
    August things start to settle down nicely from the 10th-12th day taking us right through to the return of school in
    September and dew on the grass in the mornings and the Irish National Hot Air Ballooning Championships - the conclusion of which will mark the end of the fine weather and the start of Autumn proper.

My birthday is end if September and it's always boiling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Two Tone wrote: »
    I just cannot understand how so many people are so easily "freezing" in a climate like that of this country.

Women.

They could be on the surface of the sun and they'd still complain about it being a bit chilly.

lawlolawl wrote: »
    Women.

They could be on the surface of the sun and they'd still complain about it being a bit chilly.
    As a woman I still have to grudgingly concede that. :p

I was brought up in a really cold house so I am one of the few hardier ones!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

My birthday is end if September and it's always boiling

**may be vodka induced temperature rise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

it was all through may, you missed it! :p:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

It's barely above 20 degrees here in California in the evenings. I've heard a number of people complaining about how chilly it is and there being a nip in the air. Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

'It's raining, I better light the fire'
    I can not get over the obsession with the weather in this country. It's the same every year, you've gone through this every year of your life, surely you're used to it by now. If you want sun, go to Spain.
    There's no such thing as bad weather, just poor clothes choices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Or as the Americans would put it, "June 25th"
    It makes no sense at all. Month/day/year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Always seems to come as a shock to people, why I don't know. Our climate is cool summers mild winters with lots of wind and rain which contribute to making things feel even cooler. Thats the type of weather most common in ireland so I don't see why it surprises people every season of every year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

grand oul stretch lads

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    'It's raining, I better light the fire'
    I can not get over the obsession with the weather in this country. It's the same every year, you've gone through this every year of your life, surely you're used to it by now. If you want sun, go to Spain.
    There's no such thing as bad weather, just poor clothes choices.
    I agree with all except the last sentence - of course there is such thing as bad weather!