Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hekla is ready to burst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Chuck in the England Football team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Can't understand why the Icelandic people feel the need to set them off at this time of the year when everyone has flights booked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,806 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

A few years ago on The Big Fat Quiz Of The Year (the end of year round-up quiz), I remember Jonathan Ross giving out about the Icelandic people and how their stupid volcano messed up flights for everyone. The very next question was about the 2010 BP oil spill, about which Ross complained "Why is everybody blaming us for it, just because the 'B' in BP stands for 'British'?

(G'wan, Iceland!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

At least this one is easy to pronounce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Iceland is a mighty place. Hopefully this volcano will go off soon and it's spewing will be the death of European air traffic for the next couple of years

OSI wrote: »
    Comedian displays irony in a comedy show, the ****ing cheek of him.

The best comedians can easily deal with a heckla...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

You might think it is the volcano that is about to explode, but it is actually just this guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

30000 Icelanders(?) wandering round France for the summer would be a cracking documentary.

Could you imagine the scene as they all race through the channel tunnel to get to the UK.
    "The Vikings are back. The Vikings are back"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

Well, we're probably f*cked.

30000 Icelanders(?) wandering round France for the summer would be a cracking documentary.

Could you imagine the scene as they all race through the channel tunnel to get to the UK.

They will probably start making their way towards Denmark so they can get on the one and only ferry to Iceland. So people in several countries along the way will be able to run for the hills as the Vikings march back in. It will take a while for that ferry to absorb all 30,000 of them when they do get there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Iceland is a mighty place. Hopefully this volcano will go off soon and it's spewing will be the death of European air traffic for the next couple of years

Are you afraid of flying or something? If pollution is your concern, Hekla will turn the air gray.

No. In fact I get a good dose of enjoyment out of it. The more the aircraft resembles a tar barrel with wings and the more rickety it is the better. But grey air would be quite something, I'd like to see that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭NyOmnishambles

For anyone interested you can have a look here (currently covered in mist/fog/smoke)

http://www.livefromiceland.is/webcams/hekla/

When the last one was threatening last year (Katla I think) it was pretty cool to watch at night and see the place glowing orange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Can't understand why the Icelandic people feel the need to set them off at this time of the year when everyone has flights booked.

Always at it:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

For anyone interested you can have a look here (currently covered in mist/fog/smoke)

When the last one was threatening last year (Katla I think) it was pretty cool to watch at night and see the place glowing orange

Only in Iceland could they have a live webcam on a volcano, jesus, where's Bjork when you need her?

They sure love their webcams over there. Plenty of them to keep an eye out on random stretches of road in the absolute backarse of nowhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Sapphire

It's oh so quiet...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

kneemos wrote: »
    Predictions of major disasters and possibly even the end of life as we know it.We should make a sacrifice immediately to appease the thunder God I reckon.

iceland won yesterday, so that should keep him happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

It's ok - I seen a show with liz bonnin a while back, she said it will be fine (or was it we'll all die) Anyway, that's 50/50 which is better odds than we had last night and that turned out grand.
    Nothing to worry about:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,806 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

OSI wrote: »
    Comedian displays irony in a comedy show, the ****ing cheek of him.

It was obvious that he was oblivious to the parallels...
    No. In fact I get a good dose of enjoyment out of it. The more the aircraft resembles a tar barrel with wings and the more rickety it is the better. But grey air would be quite something, I'd like to see that
    I'm sure it'd be just like our normal overcast weather except coughier splutterier.

It was obvious that he was oblivious to the parallels...

I'm sure it'd be just like our normal overcast weather except coughier splutterier.

We'll wait and find out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

It'll erupt when Iceland are out of the Euros. It will be the Viking Gods showing their disdain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

If you holiday in Iceland you can hike up Hekla, which I presume are suspended for safety, and this is why the warning is saying it could be deadly, if people are hiking or planes with sightseers are flying overhead when it explodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

It's also somewhat useful to know if you are going to be flying in the next few months.

I mean, there's nothing one can do about it really, but sure, a warning that it might be going to blow soon is no harm and might do good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I wonder if throwing in all the French air-traffic controllers will appease the Norse gods of fire and ice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

I read the title and wondered who helka was and why she was so angry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I wonder if throwing in all the French air-traffic controllers will appease the Norse gods of fire and ice?

Probably make them angrier. The Gods that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I always felt that we could take Iceland if we wanted to. Now would be a good time considering that large numbers of their fighting age men are out of the country.

We need to expand our living space, this island is not big enough for us anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I always felt that we could take Iceland if we wanted to. Now would be a good time considering that large numbers of their fighting age men are out of the country.

We need to expand our living space, this island is not big enough for us anymore.

An amphibious attack supported by our air force.

Should work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

That cop from Trapped could keep Iceland secure on his own I suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Iceland is already part Irish...

http://www.icelandicroots.com/irish-roots-in-iceland/
    Genetic studies in Iceland reveal about 20% of the males and 63% of the females have Irish ancestry. There are many names of people and places in Iceland that derive from our Irish ancestry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

osarusan wrote: »
    You might think it is the volcano that is about to explode, but it is actually just this guy.

I reckon some of the producers on TV3 are wondering if they can train Trevor Welch to mimic him. ;)

It might finally wake up the lads in the studio.

Fair fecks to the Icelanders and their volcanoes.
    Talk about punching above your weight.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

kneemos wrote: »
    An amphibious attack supported by our air force.

Should work.

Would the kite string stretch that far?