Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joe Biden's visit

• 22-06-2016 7:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭

Here we are again, falling humbly at the knees of an American government official while we as Irish citizens get treated like criminals at Immigration in Dublin Airport and our government can't help us when we get treated like criminals by them.

2 weeks ago, I was stopped at the airport. The woman (let's just call her that, she wasn't a very nice one. She's was a lot of other choice words that would get blanked out here anyway) questioned and questioned me. I had everything in place. Return flights booked, gave her all the information she asked, answered all questions truthfully and never once was rude or sarcastic with her. I did everything she asked of me but the way I was treated??!!! If I had a bag of drugs then fair enough but I wasn't smuggling anything, only hoping to go over for a holiday and see family I havent' seen in years but she didn't like that.

Oh but let's lick America's ass.. the same way we lick Europe's (Germany's) ass :mad::mad::mad: *sorry for the rant but it's been brewing all day*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Write your Congressman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Was she a woman or wasn't she ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

A Government official is more important than us OP.

No point getting wound up over it.

Ole, Ole, Ole, Ole, OLEEEEE, OLEEE

Ops, wrong thread.

Tunage wrote: »
    Here we are again, falling humbly at the knees of an American government official while we as Irish citizens get treated like criminals at Immigration in Dublin Airport and our government can't help us when we get treated like criminals by them.

2 weeks ago, I was stopped at the airport. The woman (let's just call her that, she wasn't a very nice one. She's was a lot of other choice words that would get blanked out here anyway) questioned and questioned me. I had everything in place. Return flights booked, gave her all the information she asked, answered all questions truthfully and never once was rude or sarcastic with her. I did everything she asked of me but the way I was treated??!!! If I had a bag of drugs then fair enough but I wasn't smuggling anything, only hoping to go over for a holiday and see family I havent' seen in years but she didn't like that.

Oh but let's lick America's ass.. the same way we lick Europe's (Germany's) ass :mad::mad::mad: *sorry for the rant but it's been brewing all day*

I'd write to the airline and point out that the Vice President of the USA got preferential treatment. They're bound to do a root and branch review of customer service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Tunage

Oh I know but you know what, our Government should be able to help it's citizens when they have been treated badly like that. I've done the things that needed doing regarding complaints etc.. but sure that'll hardly change things either. It's just so infuriating that we roll red carpets out for those fuppin eejits and their government treat us like crims in our own country.

#givemecornetto #coybig :D

kneemos wrote: »
    Was she a woman or wasn't she ?

The *insertyourowndegradingadjectivehere* woman

Anyway, look at it a different way. Irish people don't know how lucky they are that we have pre-clearence

Try dealing with TSA if you're flying in from France or Britain. Now that's a real pain in the hole, and most of their employees seem like assholes.

I've never really had any issues with the guys in Dublin. Maybe you just caught her on a bad day. Shur we all have them, and at the end of the day it's her job to ask questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Oh I know but you know what, our Government should be able to help it's citizens when they have been treated badly like that. I've done the things that needed doing regarding complaints etc.. but sure that'll hardly change things either. It's just so infuriating that we roll red carpets out for those fuppin eejits and their government treat us like crims in our own country.

#givemecornetto #coybig :D

Not sure if US customs is technically Ireland.
    You may have been mistreated in America.

I get that, but it's how I was treated when she was finally done with me. I was shouted at, she threw stuff towards me from my own bag as if it was covered in sh1t. There was no need for her to be disrespectful or defensive. Powertripping paranoid probablyonherperiod see you next tuesday is what I felt like calling her when I eventually was escorted back to the arrivals/departures area of the airport.

Did you ever pass through a UK airport in the 80s when Irish terrorists attacked European targets in Britain, Germany etc. Now THAT was unpleasant. Changing flights? They would shrug their shoulders as you sweated and watched the clock, and sloooooowly go through your bag.

Is this a thread about the significance or lack thereof of Joe Biden's visit to this country or a customer service story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Anyway, look at it a different way. Irish people don't know how lucky they are that we have pre-clearence

Try dealing with TSA if you're flying in from France or Britain. Now that's a real pain in the hole, and most of their employees seem like assholes.

I've never really had any issues with the guys in Dublin. Maybe you just caught her on a bad day. Shur we all have them, and at the end of the day it's her job to ask questions.

Haven't been to the States in a while, I thought pre clearance let you sail through unhindered?

In relation to Jie Biden apparently some of his cousins in Ballina have turned down the chance to meet him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

is the phoenix park still getting closed of for this twat so he can have all the deer's to himself ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

I look forward to having a snackbox at the Joe Biden Plaza in years to come.

Is this a thread about the significance or lack thereof of Joe Biden's visit to this country or a customer service story?

It was just relative to how I feel at the moment after my experience. Not a customer service story as it's not a unique occurrence to be denied entry at the airport.

milehip wrote: »
    Haven't been to the States in a while, I thought pre clearance let you sail through unhindered?

It does usually. I've never experienced any hassle, and I do be over and back at least twice a year.

Can't speak in OP's case, but I still reckon they got unlucky and were landed with the wrong person at the wrong time.

Doesn't make it better for the OP, but shit happens ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Sorry to hear that OP - were you refused entry into the US ?

I have been to the states a fair few times and have always found immigration grand - just have everything prepared ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Hazydays123

Lone Stone wrote: »
    is the phoenix park still getting closed of for this twat so he can have all the deer's to himself ?

I can't for the life of me understand why I can't go for a run in the park just because he's staying at the ambassador's residency.

It's also shocking to see at least 2 Gardai stationed at every single entrance to ensure nobody enters. So that's at least 10 Gardai sitting in cars in the park doing nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Stasi 2.0

Did you ever pass through a UK airport in the 80s when Irish terrorists attacked European targets in Britain, Germany etc. Now THAT was unpleasant. Changing flights? They would shrug their shoulders as you sweated and watched the clock, and sloooooowly go through your bag.

Oddly enough back in the day I don't remember hearing of anyone being arrested bringing guns or explosives through an airport.

There was the odd car intercepted at ferry terminals or fishing boat caught gun running but with the exception of a foiled mortar attack on (IIRC) Heathrow terrorists here didn't seem to really bother with planes or airports ?

I can't for the life of me understand why I can't go for a run in the park just because he's staying at the ambassador's residency.

It's also shocking to see at least 2 Gardai stationed at every single entrance to ensure nobody enters. So that's at least 10 Gardai sitting in cars in the park doing nothing.

They'd be doing nothing anyway. Those gardai are very likely to be on overtime. Either that or they have others working overtime to cover their regular duties.

Whatever about the park being closed, it's ridiculous that anyone would complain about police being on duty during the visit of someone like Biden.

Stasi 2.0 wrote: »
    Oddly enough back in the day I don't remember hearing of anyone being arrested bringing guns or explosives through an airport.

There was the odd car intercepted at ferry terminals or fishing boat caught gun running but with the exception of a foiled mortar attack on (IIRC) Heathrow terrorists here didn't seem to really bother with planes or airports ?

Oh I have been the teenager at Heathrow pleading to get on a connecting flight while security went v..e...r...y...s...l...o...w...l...y... through my bags. Going through the UK back in the days when the Irish bombed Britain was no picnic. Now, usually they were grand and I can understand the defensiveness...

It was just relative to how I feel at the moment after my experience. Not a customer service story as it's not a unique occurrence to be denied entry at the airport.

After your experience were you permitted through immigration?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

I had a crappy experience in Dublin once too. Get over it OP, that isn't a basis for how a country behaves when a diplomat visits from a country which has important economic interests in our country. Time to be a big boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

What does this have to do with america exactly? And more specifically joe biden? Like wtf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭mass_debater

It's a complete waste of 5 million of tax payers money. He'll be unemployed in November

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,046 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Was it immigration or customs who stopped you? Generally immigration would have no interest what was in your luggage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Where are the protests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

If the entire Phoenix Park is closed, just for Biden's visit, that is a fcuking disgrace.

But the OP's airport rant is plain daft. You seriously want an Irish government official to help you out, just because some civil servant jobsworth is having a bad day? Come on now !

In other news an innocent little girl of only six years of age lost her life in a brutal manner at the hands of her own father.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,734 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Stasi 2.0 wrote: »

if you remember how expensive air fares to the UK were back then you would know why. The IRA arent made of money.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Biden is a sound aul' skin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

ProudDUB wrote: »
    If the entire Phoenix Park is closed, just for Biden's visit, that is a fcuking disgrace.
    It's closed from 11.30pm to 6.30am I think. We'll live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

It's closed from 11.30pm to 6.30am I think. We'll live.

Sure will, but it's still a disgrace Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

if you remember how expensive air fares to the UK were back then you would know why. The IRA arent made of money.

Rubbish - £23,000,000.00

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

In other news an innocent little girl of only six years of age lost her life in a brutal manner at the hands of her own father.

and where was this:confused: in ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,734 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

vicwatson wrote: »
    Rubbish - £23,000,000.00

they didnt get their hands on that money until 2004. And it was €26M according to my friend Gerry.

philstar wrote: »
    and where was this:confused: in ireland?

I posted it for a bit of perspective.

Dealing with a difficult airport staff is hardly a trauma of vast proportions.

Apologies. I may have picked your post up wrong. The tragedy happened in the UK. I can't link because on my phone. There's a thread in AH about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,639 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

What has that go to do with Joe Biden's visit?

Should we have called off his visit because of your one sided story?

Been through pre-clearance a few times and never had an issue with it and it's so much better than clearance on arrival.

After your experience were you permitted through immigration?

Nope :( I was brought into an interview room and told I was being denied entry and taken off the flight. I had to wait for an Aer Lingus representative to come and collect me and escort me back to the baggage collection area. Then I was shown the way through the arrivals doors and that was that.

Just want to clear things up a bit here. Because of my recent dealings with Immigration etc... at the airport and Biden's visit and how we shut down our country and bow down to these US Govt officials, I just wanted to vent a little bit. Yes, I got the wrong lady on the day and she just decided I wasn't going to get in and that was that. Yes I was probably naive as were the family I was travelling to go and see. Lesson learned.

Trump arrives over in his big feckin' plane and we roll out red carpets and put on a show for him. It's infuriating to me.

And yes, I saw the story about the young girl who was brutally murdered by her excuse of a father. The Grandfather's story is just utterly heartbreaking, he raised that little girl for 5 years :(

Nope :( I was brought into an interview room and told I was being denied entry and taken off the flight. I had to wait for an Aer Lingus representative to come and collect me and escort me back to the baggage collection area. Then I was shown the way through the arrivals doors and that was that.

Ok this is rather different than I thought op. I am sorry you had to go through that.

Did you get a definite reason as to why you were being denied entry?

Ok this is rather different than I thought op. I am sorry you had to go through that.

Did you get a definite reason as to why you were being denied entry?

I got no reason. No anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Who is 'we'?
    I won't be there, I'll probably be off on one of my zany adventures.

I got no reason. No anything.

It just doesn't make sense. I thought you had to be suspected of something illegal, carrying drugs, wants for a crime, I don't know really. For an ordinary person to be refused entry and no reason given is bizarre.

Did you ask for an explanation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

It just doesn't make sense. I thought you had to be suspected of something illegal, carrying drugs, wants for a crime, I don't know really. For an ordinary person to be refused entry and no reason given is bizarre.

A businessman that I used to work for in the UK got refused entry because his brother had a criminal record, and they got mixed up when they were checking the system, couldn't seem to get their heads around the fact that they had different first names and date of birth. He was eventually let in, because he was wealthy and could afford good legal advice.

I've been trying to pinpoint it for myself because I wasn't give an explanation. I didn't get a chance to ask anything. I'm figuring it's because
    1. The flights were paid for my the family I was staying with
    2. My flights were booked for the full duration of the allowed time (ESTA visa thing)
    3. She just didn't like my answers to her questions.