Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oldest player in your club?

• 21-06-2016 9:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭

Just wondering what age is the oldest player in your club?

We have three adult hurling teams at intermediate , junior A, junior B level

Oldest player is our junior B goalie at 37 which I was thinking is still not that old.
    In fact between the three teams we actually have very few lads in their 30's. Sign that it's become a young mans game in reality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

We've 3 adult teams. A back on the C team is 52/53.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

We've a lad playing Junior at 51 and at least 3 others in their 40's. Worked with a man that lined out at 62 and played not just filled a jersey :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

44 (I think) - Junior goalie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

We've four adult teams, senior who play in Div 3 (I guess they're intermediate really but we're still in the senior championship for now!) & 3 junior teams in Div 5, 8 & the bottom division whatever that is in Dublin. On our junior A team we've a few lads in their early to mid 40s. One won an AI with Meath apparently, another is still the best midfielder & thoughest man in the club, sadly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Past30Now

We started a fourth adult team last year, and in our first game out the combined age of our full forward line was 130 (41, 43 and 46).

Past30Now wrote: »
    We started a fourth adult team last year, and in our first game out the combined age of our full forward line was 130 (41, 43 and 46).

What club is that? I play corner back, we must arrange a friendly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Civil Service had a goalkeeper - Roscommon chap if I recall correctly - who played junior hurling in goal for them up to a few years ago, and he was early to mid 50s, at least. Either that, or he had had an exceptionally hard life!

I played well into my 40s, although some might argue with the word "played" :-) I used turn up anyway ....

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Civil Service had a goalkeeper - Roscommon chap if I recall correctly - who played junior hurling in goal for them up to a few years ago, and he was early to mid 50s, at least. Either that, or he had had an exceptionally hard life!

I played well into my 40s, although some might argue with the word "played" :-) I used turn up anyway ....

I played against them and was told that their keeper had retired (from work, not hurling) the week before because he'd reached that age. So I'd say he was about 65 3 years ago!

My housemates father still plays for peregrines in football. He'd be late 50s I suppose. Although he has a teenagers sense of humour!

Jaysus! Would be about 2009 I last saw him. Nice chap. They had another lunatic from Limerick I think who used go drinking with us after matches and tell us scurrilous stories about his team mates and then cycle back to Ranelagh after about ten pints. He was a young fella in his 40s :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

I was coaxed back to Junior football in my mid 30's by the BIL. Having played all my decent football at CHB, I started the 1st game alongside him in the forward line together with another lad on his way down the ladder - we'd a combined weight of a metric tonne :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Jaysus! Would be about 2009 I last saw him. Nice chap. They had another lunatic from Limerick I think who used go drinking with us after matches and tell us scurrilous stories about his team mates and then cycle back to Ranelagh after about ten pints. He was a young fella in his 40s :-)

That civil service keeper was definitely still going a couple of years ago anyway. He's a ref as well.

Ah, different civil service keeper. The guy who refs as well is still going, i played against him last year. The retired guy played on goal in a challenge game i played against them about 4 or 5 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Hesh's Umpire

Our chairman still plays midfield for our second team at 44. We also had a 49 year old playing a couple of games in goal for the second team last year.

Sylvesters had a manager who was around the 60 mark. They were short players one day playing us so we agreed to play 13 aside until the fellas that were late turned up. so he trundles into full forward. I was corner back and told the full back to just basically ignore your man.

Five minutes later, speculative ball comes in, clears me and full back and lands at your man's feet. Goal. Beat us by a point ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭The Young Wan

Fairly sure one of the players on our B team is late 40s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

blue note wrote: »
    I played against them and was told that their keeper had retired (from work, not hurling) the week before because he'd reached that age. So I'd say he was about 65 3 years ago!

My housemates father still plays for peregrines in football. He'd be late 50s I suppose. Although he has a teenagers sense of humour!

I'm a peregrines man myself, he must be on the Junior C team then. Haven't a clue who any of them are!

He's on their bottom football team, plays corner forward sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 KildareBlue

We play in the Kildare Junior Championship and one of our half backs (who starts regularly) is about 46. There are a couple more in their forties as far as I'm aware as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Past30Now

blue note wrote: »

What club is that? I play corner back, we must arrange a friendly!
    Castleknock Hurling & Football Club (All Ireland Feile Division 1 Champs - If Carlsberg did weekends!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

On our 2nd team, (Junior C Hurling - Small Club) we have a good few over 40's.

We started (and won) one of our league games this year with 10 of the starting 15 over 40 (including myself).

BnB wrote: »
    On our 2nd team, (Junior C Hurling - Small Club) we have a good few over 40's.

We started (and won) one of our league games this year with 10 of the starting 15 over 40 (including myself).

Jaysus. And I thought we were an old club with virtually everyone over 30!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭Kieran81

Tullamore won the Offaly senior hurling championship with a keeper aged 48 recently, if i'm not mistaken he was the mascot the last time they won it 40 odd years before that, cant imagine there are too many people playing senior at that age let alone winning a championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭80s Child

We've a young lad who plays u21 for the county in goal but the lad is a serious baller, so we play him up top. So the old keeper got a call, he's 48 and he's in the best shape I've ever seen him! A solid enough keeper to boot.

Played against a lad a few years ago, he's a bit famous around the county as he's 50+. At one point he picked the ball off the ground and one of his team mates yelled at him "For **** sake, how ****ing long are ya plying the ****ing game??"... The rest of us, including the man himself, just pissed ourselves laughing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Junior hurling club and we have a few lads on their early 40s still playing. Two of them in fairness have embarrassed fellas much younger on the field of play.

I marked a guy last year in a county league game. He was wing forward. All his team mates kept slagging him about his age so at full time I asked him. 53 he said. Few weeks later myself and the buddies were doing a mud run / challenge type thing. I see you man again flying through the course before we'd even started .