Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I think our summer might be over

• 21-06-2016 6:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Broken Hearted Road

I think the recent nice, dry, warm spell might have been our summer. There were a few short dry spells yesterday but aside from that, it hasn't stopped raining since Saturday. It rained all day Sunday and I woke to the sound of heavy rain this morning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4 Garlic Prawns

I think the recent nice, dry, warm spell might have been our summer. There were a few short dry spells yesterday but aside from that, it hasn't stopped raining since Saturday. It rained all day Sunday and I woke to the sound of heavy rain this morning.

Today is regarded as the first day of Summer in the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭Jack Killian

Today's only the middle of summer. So plenty of time yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭marymary1984

Typically we get great weather when kids start the leaving very and when they go back to school. I'm hopeful for Aug and Sep. Positive thinking!!

Today's only the middle of summer. So plenty of time yet!

Do you regard May to be Spring or Summer?

It's not a case of "regarding" it - it is!

Hint: it's "Mid-summer's Day"

Some people believe today ia the first day of summer, and of course the exact day would be different based on location even in the same hemisphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Gloom and doom :mad: You haven't a clue whether we will get another fine spell or not so just wait and see ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Wow. 3 days of intermittent rain in Ireland?

You must be joking me.

Some people believe today ia the first day of summer, and of course the exact day would be different based on location even in the same hemisphere.

Some people believe in ghosts and aliens.

There's a lag of about 40 days between the actual summer and the Earth heating up, so the terminology of "summer holidays" has stretched into August, when the water in particular is warm.

But the astronomical summer for Ireland and the U.K. has always been May to July.

The Met Eireann site has a vague "in the past, summer was May to July" sentence, but doesn't give any indication of when that "changed" and how anyone was notified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 spicebag

This year it was yesterday June 20th.

I didn't know this myself.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

The solstice was yesterday, lads. Keep up.

spicebag wrote: »
    This year it was yesterday June 20th.

I didn't know this myself.

Yeah - it varies the same as the star signs between 21st & 23rd; think that's partly caused by our .25 days each year that then adds up to make the leap day on Feb 29th, which realigns it.

Peregrine wrote: »
    The solstice was yesterday, lads. Keep up.

Well, last night ? Which would see both yesterday and today as equivalent relative to it, no ?

I think length of the day also should be taken into cobsideration when defining summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

True, the days will only be getting shorter from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭rodge68

Doomster !! It was a grand day in East Clare, It got drizzly around 9 o clock..
    We have 16 hours and 51 minutes of daylength to enjoy today !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Some people believe in ghosts and aliens.

There's a lag of about 40 days between the actual summer and the Earth heating up, so the terminology of "summer holidays" has stretched into August, when the water in particular is warm.

But the astronomical summer for Ireland and the U.K. has always been May to July.

The Met Eireann site has a vague "in the past, summer was May to July" sentence, but doesn't give any indication of when that "changed" and how anyone was notified.

This is all total rubbish. A summer's day that is clear and sunny does not need 40 days to take effect.

Met Eireann website states clearly that Summer is June, July August. See 'Seasons' in this link.

People in Ireland persist with believing that Spring begins on February 1st thereby placing June 21 as Midsummer but these are ancient Druid practices and beliefs that have now been replaced by science and metrological methods so summer is effectively June, July August but of course people here will keep dismissing them.

Using the Solstices as the starting point would bring Summer into September which also makes sense as Septembers are often pleasant months here.

murpho999 wrote: »
    This is all total rubbish. A summer's day that is clear and sunny does not need 40 days to take effect.

I mentioned warm seawater, and not individual days.

Met Eireann website states clearly that Summer is June, July August. See 'Seasons' in this link.

People in Ireland persist with believing that Spring begins on February 1st thereby placing June 21 as Midsummer but these are ancient Druid practices and beliefs that have now been replaced by science and metrological methods so summer is effectively June, July August but of course people here will keep dismissing them.

It's what was taught in school less than 30 years ago; when did they "change" ? They don't mention this.

Show me the date that it changed and I'll accept that they changed it.
    Using the Solstices as the starting point would bring Summer into September which also makes sense as Septembers are often pleasant months here.

And yet the OP was querying whether the past few weeks were the extent of our summer (similar to the start of June each year) which your suggestion would exclude.

I mentioned warm seawater, and not individual days.

It's what was taught in school less than 30 years ago; when did they "change" ? They don't mention this.

Show me the date that it changed and I'll accept that they changed it.

And yet the OP was querying whether the past few weeks were the extent of our summer (similar to the start of June each year) which your suggestion would exclude.

So you won’t accept the official body in Ireland that is an authority on climate and weather but would rather know a date that schools changed their opinion on something.

I went to school at the same time as you and these are the same schools that taught me that everything around me was created by God in 7 days so why would I need to reference schools?

Maybe Danny Healy Rae can ask the Minister for Education in the Dail when it changed.

Are you saying that you won’t believe anything that differs from what you were taught in school until schools officially acknowledge it?

It's pretty warm today tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I think our summer might be over

Nothing is over.......NOTHING!

At least until me wedding in 2 weeks then it can be apocalypse season all it wants :pac:

murpho999 wrote: »
    So you won’t accept the official body in Ireland that is an authority on climate and weather but would rather know a date that schools changed their opinion on something.

Actually no - I want to know when Met Eireann changed their opinion on it, as their site says "in the past it was May".
    I went to school at the same time as you and these are the same schools that taught me that everything around me was created by God in 7 days so why would I need to reference schools?

Again, you're mentioning schools. I mentioned Met Eireann.
    Maybe Danny Healy Rae can ask the Minister for Education in the Dail when it changed.

Met Eireann - again, not the schools - can't be much of an "offical body" if it made such a fundamental change and then refuses point-blank to say when it did so, or relay that information to the public.
    Are you saying that you won’t believe anything that differs from what you were taught in school until schools officially acknowledge it?

Not in the slightest. But school also taught me that January 1st is the start of the year, and I don't want to have to question that; if someone "changed their opinion", how do you think they should relay that information so that everyone gets it ?

Or should they just stick it on their website and say "In the past, January 1st was the start of the year" and then hope that everyone just accepts it ?

Or maybe we should assume that someone, somewhere has imposed the Chinese New Year onto us and not told us that either ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

There is no way summer is over yet, especially when the azores high pressure systems come up to meet us soon, The humidity though would melt the skin from you. Hopefully the north westerlies keep up with their high pressure systems as that will keep the humidity away but nice and mild with a fresh breeze.

Humidity is the killer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

jaysus its not even july yet and people are thinking the summer is over....

Actually no - I want to know when Met Eireann changed their opinion on it, as their site says "in the past it was May".

Again, you're mentioning schools. I mentioned Met Eireann.

Met Eireann - again, not the schools - can't be much of an "offical body" if it made such a fundamental change and then refuses point-blank to say when it did so, or relay that information to the public.

Not in the slightest. But school also taught me that January 1st is the start of the year, and I don't want to have to question that; if someone "changed their opinion", how do you think they should relay that information so that everyone gets it ?

Or should they just stick it on their website and say "In the past, January 1st was the start of the year" and then hope that everyone just accepts it ?

Or maybe we should assume that someone, somewhere has imposed the Chinese New Year onto us and not told us that either ?

Where do you see on the Met Eireann site that they have changed their opinion?
    They clearly state that Summer is June, July and August and no reference to the past opinions and I don't see how they are "refusing point blank" to say when they changed it.

The days will be getting darker from today onwards, and as such, the weather systems will react and bring on a more fresher and blustery rainy effect to the Island from the atlantic, but the Azores high is struggling to move north So if that manages to slide by the jet-stream to us, then we are in for tropical weather with 100% humidity. Constant sweat.

I'm sweating just thinking about it. The Azores, it sounds like a frightening cloud contraption of suffocation of humidity, we're all doomed smelling each-others sweat in the post office.

June,July and august is summer in my opinion. Nothing more, nothing less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

It better not be. I've spent months getting beach body ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,540 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

US extreme heat

tis about 45 degrees over in south west US at the moment, around Phoenix and Vegas. I prefer our summer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I hate the negative way people think about our summers. We know that we don't live in the Mediterranean so there will be rain during the summer months (whatever they are). We've just had a nice few weeks of nice, often sunny weather. What really annoys me is that in a month, people will have forgotten this, and will start whinging "Looks like we're not getting a summer this year!!".

I've said it many times before that I don't believe in seasons, especially allocating them rigidly to months. Just accept that we usually have certain types of weather at certain times of the years, but if there is an aberration from this, so what?

"But what about global warming!!" they cry. Yeah, the planet is warming up at the moment and a lot of that is probably a cyclical thing (the mini-Ice Age in Victorian England provided a lovely backdrop to some of Dickens best works), but yeah, our industrialisation/consumerism has probably accelerated that a fair bit.

Lastly, if 'summer' really does exist, the summer solstice should be the middle of it. The effects of the solstice may be delayed as Jack Killian has said, just like noon is the time of the day that sun is highest overhead in any day, but (assuming clear skies) it'll probably be warmer later in the afternoon.

I hate the negative way people think about our summers. We know that we don't live in the Mediterranean so there will be rain during the summer months (whatever they are). We've just had a nice few weeks of nice, often sunny weather. What really annoys me is that in a month, people will have forgotten this, and will start whinging "Looks like we're not getting a summer this year!!".

I've said it many times before that I don't believe in seasons, especially allocating them rigidly to months. Just accept that we usually have certain types of weather at certain times of the years, but if there is an aberration from this, so what?

"But what about global warming!!" they cry. Yeah, the planet is warming up at the moment and a lot of that is probably a cyclical thing (the mini-Ice Age in Victorian England provided a lovely backdrop to some of Dickens best works), but yeah, our industrialisation/consumerism has probably accelerated that a fair bit.

Lastly, if 'summer' really does exist, the summer solstice should be the middle of it. The effects of the solstice may be delayed as Jack Killian has said, just like noon is the time of the day that sun is highest overhead in any day, but (assuming clear skies) it'll probably be warmer later in the afternoon.

I hope it fcuking snows hard. The problem with this Island is that it always gets 100% humidity in so-called summer, and that's just crap as you can't even sleep, but waking up with your hair wet even though you haven't had a shower yet ? I'll have a shower in my dream sleep and wake up and have a real one again. Puffing and panting my way to the shower only to come out of it sweating again, what a load of humidity that is, pift.

I'd rather be smiling as the sh!t comes down.

Let it snow let it snow let it snow...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

I had the most gorgeous walk by the sea this morning. OK so the sun wasn't splitting the trees, but it was warm and lovely and no need whatsoever for a jacket. Sure did feel like summer to me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I think its been a decent summer so far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Great weather here, if we don't get a few soft days soon people will be mistaking me for Donald Trump.

Back to the future. Donald trump is Biff Tannen. Someone or something changed the physicality of this world around 2008 and turned it into a banjaxed society, just like the flick. Things are so strange and odd now, it does seem that the holographic reality has changed to another dimensional reality.

Do you feel it ? who's biff in this time that changed it all ? that technology in the wrong hands will turn the world into what we live in now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

It's not even July yet OP. Quite possible we might get a nice week or two in July or August.
    My son hasn't even gotten his summer holidays yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Indeed, a bit of positive thinking would not go amiss. Less of the negativity man!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

I was in 39c in Spain last week which was a bit too much but now I'm in a tshirt sat outside a cafe on Dawson st so this is actually decent weather for Eire :)