Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst sporting weekend ever?

• 20-06-2016 7:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭

Last weekend must go close to being the worst sporting weekend ever. Thrashed in soccer, thrashed in cricket, agonising defeats for our senior international rugby team and our rugby sevens and Shane Lowry losing out in the US Open. However, the worst looks to be over with the U20's qualifying for the World Cup Final, hopefully the soccer team and senior rugby team can continue the recovery. Can you think of a worse sporting weekend ever?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

blackcard wrote: »
    Last weekend must go close to being the worst sporting weekend ever. Thrashed in soccer, thrashed in cricket, agonising defeats for our senior international rugby team and our rugby sevens and Shane Lowry losing out in the US Open. However, the worst looks to be over with the U20's qualifying for the World Cup Final, hopefully the soccer team and senior rugby team can continue the recovery. Can you think of a worse sporting weekend ever?

Rugby Sevens is mickey mouse equivalent of a real sport and the proper rugby team didn't lose a world cup match they just lost a match in what is a moneymaking exercise, so it wasn't that bad overall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

When Rossi was odds on to win his home race for the first time in 9 years, and then his engine blew up.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

What's that one sport where everyone's a winner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Waterford lost to Leitrim in football aswell :(:(

The only worse possible weekend than all above would England win the euros (somehow :pac: ).....and Waterford lose to tipp in Munster final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Both Galway footballers and hurlers won so thats a good weekend in my book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭Jack Killian

Any weekend where we weren't even AT the finals or in the running in a major golf tournament ?

P.S. Cricket ? :P

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    What's that one sport where everyone's a winner?

Special Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

we were trashed in cricket, oh my god, oh wait I don't care :pac:

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

pablo128 wrote: »
    Special Olympics.

That's the one. Can we enter our national team in that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭blackcard

Rugby Sevens is mickey mouse equivalent of a real sport and the proper rugby team didn't lose a world cup match they just lost a match in what is a moneymaking exercise, so it wasn't that bad overall.

It was a chance for our sevens to go to the Olympics and the 'proper rugby team' had a chance to win our first international series in SA ever

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    That's the one. Can we enter our national team in that?

Genuine lol! :pac:

It was a chance for our sevens to go to the Olympics and the 'proper rugby team' had a chance to win our first international series in SA ever

Sevens is just mickey mouse stuff.

The rugby team can still beat South Africa and anyway these tours are way less meaningful these days considering how often we play against Southern Hemisphere teams now.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Sorry but 27/28 April 1974 was worse....

...had me in tears anyway

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Both Galway footballers and hurlers won so thats a good weekend in my book.

Been waiting for that win over Mayo for a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

It must be a generational thing. People talking about the worst weekend ever obviously don't remember the times when there was nothing at all to shout about. Go back to the 70s and 80s, wooden spoon every second year in Rugby, football team never making a finals, golfers never even contending in majors. At least when there's heartbreak, you know you're contending. Between Ron Delany winning gold in Melbourne in 56 and Coghlan's gold in Helsinki in 83, every weekend was the worst ever for Irish sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Tipp won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Tipp won and I escaped from the cops in GTA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Waterford lost to Leitrim in football aswell :(:(

The only worse possible weekend than all above would England win the euros (somehow :pac: ).....and Waterford lose to tipp in Munster final

You're going to be disappointed then cause Waterford couldn't puck a ball to save their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Been waiting for that win over Mayo for a while!

Not as long as they are waiting for an All Ireland

ken wrote: »
    You're going to be disappointed then cause Waterford couldn't puck a ball to save their lives.

Pfft....3 more wins this until dream land :P :P

Sure we wouldn't know what to do with a cup :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

When Ireland were playing in the World Cup final a few years ago and Henry hand balled it to win the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Pfft....3 more wins this until dream land :P :P

Sure we wouldn't know what to do with a cup :pac:

I heard a rumour that if Kilkenny get Waterford this year that Brian Cody is going to line out at full forward to make it a fairer game.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

...anyway these tours are way less meaningful these days considering how often we play against Southern Hemisphere teams now.

That's nonsense tbh.

Winning a test series on SA, NZ or Aussie soil is still very highly prized, for good reason.

A Northern hemisphere national side has never won a test series in South Africa since the sports inception. The chance to do so on Saturday last (when up by 16 points at half -time) would have meant a great deal to supporters, players & staff alike. England celebrated their first ever series win against Australia in Melbourne last Saturday, proving again just how rare such victories over the powerhouses of the Southern game are in their own backyards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Very good week at Royal Ascot for the Irish trainers plus Jockeys

ken wrote: »
    I heard a rumour that if Kilkenny get Waterford this year that Brian Cody is going to line out at full forward to make it a fairer game.:D

It'll be the first all Ireland Brian Cody has played in since the 70s :P :P

**i really should stop as I'm going to end up eating all sorts of humble pie :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

ever notice when little Micky (Micky D Higgins) goes to a match we always lose or draw

hope to **** he stays away from the Munster final as him attending Waterford games is not good for us lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Isnt there a sports section? you would swear any of it mattered.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    ever notice when little Micky (Micky D Higgins) goes to a match we always lose or draw

hope to **** he stays away from the Munster final as him attending Waterford games is not good for us lol.

Tbh I think he looks like the doll outta the saw films and he scares them :D

Yamanoto wrote: »
    That's nonsense tbh.

Winning a test series on SA, NZ or Aussie soil is still very highly prized, for good reason.

A Northern hemisphere national side has never won a test series in South Africa since the sports inception. The chance to do so on Saturday last (when up by 16 points at half -time) would have meant a great deal to supporters, players & staff alike. England celebrated their first ever series win against Australia in Melbourne last Saturday, proving again just how rare such victories over the powerhouses of the Southern game are in their own backyards.

But they are less meaningful compared to the past precisely because we play these teams more often and it means nothing if we can't deliver in the world cup, it means nothing in the grander scheme of things.Sure it means something to the players and staff and supporters as they are involved but it's not a major thing for the whole country like a world cup or six nations is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,203 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I'm not usually a betting man but I lumped a fair few quid on DJ in the 'galf' on the back of getting him in the sweep in the local for an extra interest.... so a really good weekend actually...

The rugby lads though.. 15 mins to go and threw away a 15 point lead the SA guys walked through them to score tries ... jesus that was a pisser .. they will not win the last test either ..... it's the Irish way... so far but not close enough... sure isn't it grand to be there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

It's the worst Springbok team I can remember.
    They will finish bottom of rugby championship this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Looks like the NZ U21s are pretty much the worse team out of the top nations, depressing for ye knowing they're the future. Might be an explanation as to why you're off your usual, albeit always poor, trolling game.

Hope this weekend isn't even worse

Hope that this weekend isn't even worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

U20s took a bit of a beating after.