Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

landlord pain in the ass

• 19-06-2016 10:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭

Have ye ever had a owner renting / leasing land to you only for them to call the shots and tell you how you should do it . Love to hear your stories .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

I'd be on the landlord side of the fence on this... ;)

So I'll stand back and wait to be educated on how I should be running things :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Six landlords and get on grand with them all, they all have their ideas and you just work away with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭kerry cow

Great to hear ye all get on great with your landlords .down these sides they are never happy and always want more money even when things are in the pits and if you buy any bit of new kit they feel like your creaming it , and they couldn't do it when they had the chance .Most are too lazy to get off there ass and the rest just want to screw the last penny out of you .granted there are a few exceptions to the above but they are rare . People have to relies that both parties have to make a profit to survive .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

kerry cow wrote: »
    Have ye ever had a owner renting / leasing land to you only for them to call the shots and tell you how you should do it . Love to hear your stories .

Do you mean completely run it or just complaining about how you are running it? I know landlords that you wouldn't see from one end of the year to the next and others that are always nosing around every time you go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

I have found that as they get older they sometimes get cranky over little things
    I will probably be the same myself someday.
    Renting land is never going to be the same as your own in that if you're not looking after it properly you will be reminded.
    In your own land if you want to sacrifice a field in wet weather etc. that you intend to reseed later in the year nobody will get too upset about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Leasing land next door to us. About every 5 years we have to remove every stake and piece of wire for one month. Very old landlords that are afraid of squatters rights or anyone making a claim to the land after an extended lease.
    It doesn't bother us too much. Just adds 2 to 3 days work every 5 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

Between landlords wanting to run your farm and workmen not wanting to work you are getting one tough run of it kerry cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

There will be a thread soon, Tenants a pain in the ass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭browned

Have one landlord and am a landlord and I've no problems with either. Once they pay the lease I consider it his land till the lease is up and my landlord is much the same. If I want to open a gap or open a drain I'll consule him but outside of that he's a pleasure to deal with. It's all about communication.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Had an elderly landlord that wouldn't allow me cut silage off the land.:(

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

blue5000 wrote: »

I had one once after making bales tell me to take them away out of the place
    No problem the years before or after that just the one year.
    Another was constantly looking for me to do jobs bringing in turf cleaning the eshoots of the dwelling house fixing leaks or taps and would ate you without salt for no reason.
    I would park out on road if I was in a hurry so that I mightn't be spotted and caught for a load of jobs and have to listen to a long list of complaints about everything and anything.

The year I stopped renting the land the children put her in a retirement home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

djmc wrote: »
    I had one once after making bales tell me to take them away out of the place
    No problem the years before or after that just the one year.
    Another was constantly looking for me to do jobs bringing in turf cleaning the eshoots of the dwelling house fixing leaks or taps and would ate you without salt for no reason.
    I would park out on road if I was in a hurry so that I mightn't be spotted and caught for a load of jobs and have to listen to a long list of complaints about everything and anything.

The year I stopped renting the land the children put her in a retirement home.

Were you the distraction :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Kerry cow are you sure your not the pain in the ass here ? 🙄

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭kerry cow

Some people can't stick to the post thread ,but would rather just jump in to criticise the op . I was only asking about people's experiences .boards have a big problem ie some asks will I buy a auris or a corrolla and then people post I have a golf or a mica best car ever . Carroll grow up .These are real issues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Some people can't stick to the post thread ,but would rather just jump in to criticise the op . I was only asking about people's experiences .boards have a big problem ie some asks will I buy a auris or a corrolla and then people post I have a golf or a mica best car ever . Carroll grow up .These are real issues

Relax will you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

As long as conditions are set out at the start of the renting agreement it should be alright.
    I remember seeing a field of silage that was being picked up by the person who rented it and the land lord was following the wagon around in his jeep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

whelan2 wrote: »
    There will be a thread soon, Tenants a pain in the ass

First post will be "they are never happy and always want lower rent even though they're raking it in with all kinds of fancy new machinery.
    Most are too lazy to get off their shiny tractor and do some backbreaking manual labour digging a drain by hand and the rest just want to screw a few bob out of you for things like fences.
    There's the odd exception but they are rare as hens teeth. They don't realise that I have to make a profit to survive .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Be god yer a fiery chap i can see how you would have trouble with staff and landlords did you know working for a pr*ck of a boss and having a c*nt of a tenant are real issues too

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

I'm renting land for a good while now never any issues if I want to reseed or do some work on it I bring the person out ask wat they think never had a problem yet u have to be clear an straight an honest. cause all they have to say is they are selling up an yer out the following day ... seen it happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Be god yer a fiery chap i can see how you would have trouble with staff and landlords did you know working for a pr*ck of a boss and having a c*nt of a tenant are real issues too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Sometimes you really miss not being able to attach a "roll eyes" to a post. (Without quoting it)
    Or a "dislike " instead of a "like" :D

How many of yiz drive a Golf? Am getting very fed up with VW group stuff. Thinking about going back to the Merc's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

A fella said to me before "look after the rented ground better than your own". Have no problem here with ground that's rented

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Okay lads, let the man have his thread. No one is obliged to read or post if it's not to your taste.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Lady lou

We gave one Spud man some ground a couple of years ago. He Paid well and on time and while he was on the way to the field to clip the ditches. He clipped our lane on the way down! He Didn't need to do it just figured we'd appreciate it! Which we did.. Should be more like him. Although we did let him make gaps wider going into field and hook up to our water aswell!
    It's all about not being a Arsehole!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

I've no hassle and I was told I would before I took it. The landlord even helps in with the cattle ( or tries at least). Now he will ring at the oddest hours about the oddest of things but I'm happy enough with how everything works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭kk.man

Tenants can be troublesome too. Years ago i had a so call respected gent..who decided to hook up his electric fence to our esb without asking 3 years into the lease. He never used stakes or wire to fence but pallets ...i reclaimed n reseeded a field of which he docked the rent on as he stated he wouldn't get the benefit of ! He took a cut of silage from it the year after . Oh to cap it off when leaving he slit a water pipe..couldn't prove that but who else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭99nsr125

That's interesting.

Did you fertilize for silage or was it grazing that grew on.

Silage nutrients taken out are substantial,
    without corresponding inputs I'm with the landlord on this one

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

99nsr125 wrote: »
    That's interesting.

Did you fertilize for silage or was it grazing that grew on.

Silage nutrients taken out are substantial,
    without corresponding inputs I'm with the landlord on this one

Grass that was too strong, if you saw how steep some of it was you'd definitely agree with the landlord!

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Grass that was too strong, if you saw how steep some of it was you'd definitely agree with the landlord!

Its prob one that should have been discussed when setting out the lease - if he didn't want silage cut, he should have said so then to be honest.

I can understand why he wouldn't, as silage kills the ground, but saying it in June when its growing for 6 weeks isn't much help either like...