Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farm machinary

• 19-06-2016 4:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭

Hey guys-would like some opinions on this. Firstly I don't have a huge amount of knowledge on machinary so excuse my ignorance.me and dad have been talking quite a bit over the last while over our tractor.we have an87 international and it's been fairly heavily worked to say the least.if it dies (dads repeatedly resuscitating it)we are in serious trouble as other then that we just have a massey135. Dads talking about getting a 120hp tractor as we have some serious hills around us. My issue is firstly money (don't see how we could swing it tbh) and secondly I don't know if we will get the use out of it.dad used to do all of the heavy work himself with the tractor and digger but dads health isn't great and we get contractors in for most of the heavier work now. I work full time and prioritise other work when I'm at home tbh. We need a tractor for silage in the slats etc in the winter. I was looking at something like a Teleporter which can feed the cattle in the sheds and take the strain off the international so it'll last a bit longer. Dads Adamant it won't be strong enough-I'm thinking its bringing and spreading silage over twenty feet on concrete and I can't see why it wouldn't work. And it means we can get it now as opposed to panicking when the case dies.
    Dad adores machinary so his opinion wouldn't be fully unbiased...what are people's thoughts?would like some other ideas to see if it's a fight worth continuing.i don't want to buy another thirty year old tractor which is where our budget seems to be at now and what dads talking about looking at ...but also I want to get something that will be useful and will work for us! Any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

Firstly excuse my ignorance but I think your dad is mad thinking that a telehandler would not be able to spread out silage. It would be more than capable and you would then be able to afford something newer. After all thats what they are made for.
    By the sounds of it if ye were to buy a tractor ye would keep the case and then ye would have 2 yokes around and wouldn't have the work for it. So I think I'm with you on getting a decent telehandler for farm handling tasks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

If you can't swing a tractor how can you swing a telehandler? While they are great for feeding and cleaning out sheds, they are pretty limited otherwise. Could you not put whatever you were going to spend along with the case and just upgrade the tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

You see the majority of our work with the tractors now is feeding and cleaning. The case isn't worth anything (at least 10khours)and I doubt in my powers of persuasion in getting dad to sell it regardless!!dads certain it would have to be a 120hp tractor but I just can't see how we would get the use from it.I don't want to be too blunt with dad either and say he's not able for it but he isn't really.i prefer to get contractors in although I know it does cost more it's worth it.
    we know of someone selling a Teleporter for around what we can afford it's just getting dad onside and getting him to look at it. Macmans thinking the same as me-two tractor just won't be used and looking at where most of the work is I don't see the use of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭bullnuts

L1985 wrote: »
    You see the majority of our work with the tractors now is feeding and cleaning. The case isn't worth anything (at least 10khours)and I doubt in my powers of persuasion in getting dad to sell it regardless!!dads certain it would have to be a 120hp tractor but I just can't see how we would get the use from it.I don't want to be too blunt with dad either and say he's not able for it but he isn't really.i prefer to get contractors in although I know it does cost more it's worth it.
    we know of someone selling a Teleporter for around what we can afford it's just getting dad onside and getting him to look at it. Macmans thinking the same as me-two tractor just won't be used and looking at where most of the work is I don't see the use of it!
    Have a serious taught about a skidsteer! I find it great for feeding! Fast and cheap! Lifts a tonne also could be fitted with yard scraper ! Look up skidsteer sheargrab on YouTube to get an idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭50HX

would the teleporter not cost the same as a tractor

any yoke at all will feed bales into a slatted house

i used an outside farm a few years back and managed bales with MF240

go for the tractor...v limited with the teleporter once bales are done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

You should weigh up how much of the work you would'nt be able to do without a tractor.
    A tractor will do 95% of the work a teleporter can do, outside of feeding which a teleporter is ideal for you are limiting yourself with a teleporter IMO, but if feeding is all the tractor is doing then maybe it might be worth a look.

If you are planning on cleaning out sheds with it bear in mind something like a bobcat skidsteer will get into places inside a shed where a teleporter would'nt and it can also be used for feeding.

Firstly thanks everyone for the comments. Been a manic few days.
    It's funny the debate here is mirroring the arguments me and dad are having!!! I'm still undecided but money is a big factor and I honestly don't want another vintage type tractor that has the diesel mechanic out once a week!! So i suppose we will look at budget and see what what we can get. I think it's about where we are going with the farm as well but don't want to be too blunt with about not doing as much work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Get a 90hp machine. Get contractors to spread slurry and make silage. What have you left after that? Fertilizer? Topping? Feeding out at winter? You don't need 120 horses for those jobs!

Dad won't get 90hp-says it can't handle our hills....I agree with you but sometimes you have to know what arguments are worth fighting!! We already get contractors in to do the above....logos is underrated here sometimes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Dad won't get 90hp-says it can't handle our hills....I agree with you but sometimes you have to know what arguments are worth fighting!! We already get contractors in to do the above....logos is underrated here sometimes!!

That's what gears are for!
    What does he drive up the hills with the tractor for? If there's no weight pulling it back there's no need for more than 100hp.
    Dealing with dads is like trying to get a bull to go backwards up a crush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

ganmo wrote: »
    Dealing with dads is like trying to get a bull to go backwards up a crush

In both cases you have to approach them a certain way.......

Very, very different ways but both ways you learn in time! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

Does anyone have cabless tractors? I see a few of them here, there is a Case on the farm with just a canopy and roll bar. I presume you save a good bit of money off price but i wonder would you be cursing the thing in December pushing out silage etc.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

einn32 wrote: »
    Does anyone have cabless tractors? I see a few of them here, there is a Case on the farm with just a canopy and roll bar. I presume you save a good bit of money off price but i wonder would you be cursing the thing in December pushing out silage etc.!

And in summer at grass with hayfever!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 EJ88

Kovu wrote: »
    In both cases you have to approach them a certain way.......

Very, very different ways but both ways you learn in time! :pac:

A very big stick!

I think chasing dad around the yard with a stick might take it too far-not saying it's not a nice image at times🙂. I know I just pointed that out to him-at the same time I don't want to be too brutally honest and tell him that he isn't able for it! God who said I couldn't be diplomatic? Its been good to hear people's thoughts on it thou. I'll keep tipping away.hope springs eternal that logic will prevail!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Wont handle the hills doing what job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Look, as most people have said it's unlikely that you really need a 6 cylinder 120 hp tractor to do your work, esp as you're using a contractor to do your heavy work.

However if your Dad has his heart set on something of that size, trade in your International worth say €7k? and buy something from a local dealer. 15-20 year old 120 hp machines are no dearer than 90-100hp machines anyway, and for the amount of work you are doing, the extra running costs would be minimal. Something like a fiat 110/90, a 6cyl machine but not a dog of a yoke, simple reliable tractor and cheap to fix if anything goes wrong. It would be a big step up from what you have.

I would discount the teleporter tbh, buy a tractor with a loader on it, or pick up a loader for what ever you buy second hand for circa €3k. You'd have a tractor to do any job you want and still have the 135 for back-up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Or pick up a Massey 50b for the price of a tractor loader, as long as you have no road work (to out farms etc). Very handy to be able to load a trailer or dung spreader etc without having to unhitch it from a loader tractor...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,581 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Hey guys-would like some opinions on this. Firstly I don't have a huge amount of knowledge on machinary so excuse my ignorance.me and dad have been talking quite a bit over the last while over our tractor.we have an87 international and it's been fairly heavily worked to say the least.if it dies (dads repeatedly resuscitating it)we are in serious trouble as other then that we just have a massey135. Dads talking about getting a 120hp tractor as we have some serious hills around us. My issue is firstly money (don't see how we could swing it tbh) and secondly I don't know if we will get the use out of it.dad used to do all of the heavy work himself with the tractor and digger but dads health isn't great and we get contractors in for most of the heavier work now. I work full time and prioritise other work when I'm at home tbh. We need a tractor for silage in the slats etc in the winter. I was looking at something like a Teleporter which can feed the cattle in the sheds and take the strain off the international so it'll last a bit longer. Dads Adamant it won't be strong enough-I'm thinking its bringing and spreading silage over twenty feet on concrete and I can't see why it wouldn't work. And it means we can get it now as opposed to panicking when the case dies.
    Dad adores machinary so his opinion wouldn't be fully unbiased...what are people's thoughts?would like some other ideas to see if it's a fight worth continuing.i don't want to buy another thirty year old tractor which is where our budget seems to be at now and what dads talking about looking at ...but also I want to get something that will be useful and will work for us! Any thoughts?

If it is bales you are feeding a 2WD tractor is the fastest to feed with. Put a bale spike on the back and you will be surprised how fast you can feed a few pens of cattle. Over the last 20 years tractors have go bigger and bigger. A 120HP 6 cyliner is a pig of a yoke around a small yard to feed with. It will also be much more expensive to run( heavier on diesel, bigger tyres, etc) and harder to naintain. Also most tractors that size will have been used for contracting and have heavy work done.

Do not know much about teleporters or skidsteers. If you are holding onto the old case I get a 2WD tractor with a shuttle but not sure of you budget. However the 135 might make a few bob if in good condition.

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/fiat-82-94/12384451

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/fiat-65-94-year-1995/12144196

If you got a few bob for the 135 something like this would feed cattle for years, light on diesel, easy to maintain. Not as hard to climb up and down out of either.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭welton john

If its only for winter feeding then a 50b or 30 e would be ideal .You'd buy a clean one for half the price of those fiats. handy to load/stack bales too and torque would be easy on the ageing father. Put the money spared into the international or with it for something newer if you insist on a big tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

That series were supposed to be a good tractor. Good value hp and comfort for the money. Prefer if they hadn't been tarted up. But don't think these suffered from rust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

If its only for winter feeding then a 50b or 30 e would be ideal .You'd buy a clean one for half the price of those fiats. handy to load/stack bales too and torque would be easy on the ageing father. Put the money spared into the international or with it for something newer if you insist on a big tractor

I stuck '30e' into google. Great..... 'tractor'!! I'd never get off it!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭welton john

Muckit wrote: »

mines not that tidy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,581 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Muckit wrote: »
    mines not that tidy ;)

Most fairy nice tractors are tarted up to an extent some would called it enhanced like a pair of 30e's:) :o

Slava Ukrainii

Lol great minds think alike-I was only looking at one of them in the uk yesterday and it might actually pass by dad.he was saying it's only 2wd but I pointed out what need would it have to be going up the big hills and he actually conceded the point!! Btw selling what we have wont ever happen-if the tractor and me were falling in the river he'd save the tractor!!!esp the 135. He's big on the vintage scene! We have two loaders sitting out there and begrudgingly he's agreed we may sell one. I love logic but tbf it's his only hobby so can't begrudge too much. I like the look of that thou-I think the teleporters been ruled out but that would be a good compromise. We are not shelling out for a120hp-I'm digging my heels in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Out of intrest what are good places to look for tractors ect in the uk? Might be after a 50b type tractor next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

Out of intrest what are good places to look for tractors ect in the uk? Might be after a 50b type tractor next year.

Was going to say parris tractors and Ben burgess and Ernest doe but when I heard 50b I just though of anyplace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

50b's pop up everywhere, and rarely cost more than 4->5000 , so with travel and transport costs might be hard to save money by going abroad. Crowley's in Cork would be a good place to enquire to begin with. Make sure it is a "b" cause they came with wet brakes, while most earlier ones did not.

Thanks for that-might try them next week. I was only comparing prices really doubt I'd buy it as too much hassle importing from the uk!!

So guys to update this old thread-we have gone with a skid steer. Fairly scared as if anything goes wrong with it I'll be hearing about it for the next year!!!
    Will hopefullly have it the next week or so fingers crossed all will go well!!!