Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Private security with guns on the continent

• 18-06-2016 12:56am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭

I was in Italy there recently obivously police there are armed but I saw what lookked to be private security officers wearing police style with guns they definitely weren't police mainly in railway stations and ones wearing bulletproof vests outside atms I didn't think private security were allowed to be armed anywhere in europe but seemingly not. How can you vet workers for a private security firm to carry firearms or maybe they were takers made to look like guns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Stephen15 wrote: »
    I was in Italy there recently obivously police there are armed but I saw what lookked to be private security officers wearing police style with guns they definitely weren't police mainly in railway stations and ones wearing bulletproof vests outside atms I didn't think private security were allowed to be armed anywhere in europe but seemingly not. How can you vet workers for a private security firm to carry firearms or maybe they were takers made to look like guns.

"Omerta".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭stuar

I used to be in Bulgaria quite a lot and almost every security guard carries a gun, bank's, shopping centre's, holiday resorts.

I knew a fella that worked nights as security in a sugar processing plant or something like that and he was telling me that the Roma gypsies used to come and steal sugar at night, if they caught them they used to give them a few slaps and pistol whip them, which is fair enough I suppose...

His boss wasn't as nice, think he was Russian mafia connected, he told my friend and the other security guards if they seen any gypsies on the site that they were to shoot and kill them, no joke, serious.!:eek::eek::eek:

EDIT: for clarity.....

http://www.errc.org/article/18-year-old-romani-woman-shot-dead-by-security-guard-in-bulgaria/1786

stuar wrote: »
    I used to be in Bulgaria quite a lot and almost every security guard carries a gun, bank's, shopping centre's...

Maybe they're scared someone will steal their stock of apostrophes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I used to be in Bulgaria quite a lot and almost every security guard carries a gun, bank's, shopping centre's, holiday resorts.

I knew a fella that worked nights as security in a sugar processing plant or something like that and he was telling me that the Roma gypsies used to come and steal sugar at night, if they caught them they used to give them a few slaps and pistol whip them, which is fair enough I suppose...

His boss wasn't as nice, think he was Russian mafia connected, he told my friend and the other security guards if they seen any gypsies on the site that they were to shoot and kill them, no joke, serious.!:eek::eek::eek:

http://www.errc.org/article/18-year-old-romani-woman-shot-dead-by-security-guard-in-bulgaria/1786

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭stuar

It's habit.

http://www.grammarbook.com/punctuation/apostro.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

You mean Tasers ? They are pistol like but generally have yellow and black markiings OP.Private security in different countrys for a whole lot of reasons have authority to carry firearms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

Maybe you should stop being an ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭JackHeuston

Hi OP, Italian here. In Italy, but also in a lot of other countries in the continent, you can easily get a permit to own a manual or semi-automatic gun for your defence. You can also bring them to the shooting range for practice and then back home.

There are also separate permits to carry a concealed weapon wherever you go. These permits are usually handed to taxi drivers, security guards, politicians, people who received serious threats and so on. It's pretty much like in the States, you can't show the weapon while you're in public and you can only use it in case of life threatening situations.

Then there are private security guards. They can have guns just like police officers, and they can simply keep them in the holster attached to their belt.

Tasers are not really used in Italy. I've never seen them. All guns you see on police officers and private security agents are real. Don't expect cops or private security to use them though. In 26 years I can only recall two times where our local cops had to shoot at something. And this only by reading the paper, never seen a cop pulling out a gun in my entire life. Private security will never do anything else than calling the Police when they notice something, they'll never get involved, their gun is only for their own protection, since they have to drive around and get out of the car to check industrial zones and so on at night when nobody is around.

edit: regarding vetting, I know for sure people working for private security agencies are background checked with the Police, have passed a professional course, etc... Incidents where these guards used their gun improperly are extremely rare. Also, you must apply for the weapon permit on your own, it's not that the security agencies provide you with everything just by applying for the job.
    "Omerta".

What :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Not knocking any working man or being snobbish,but I wouln't trust most of the security guards I've encountered with a stick ,nevermind a fcukin gun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Hi OP, Italian here. In Italy, but also in a lot of other countries in the continent, you can easily get a permit to own a manual or semi-automatic gun for your defence. You can also bring them to the shooting range for practice and then back home.

There are also separate permits to carry a concealed weapon wherever you go. These permits are usually handed to taxi drivers, security guards, politicians, people who received serious threats and so on. It's pretty much like in the States, you can't show the weapon while you're in public and you can only use it in case of life threatening situations.

Then there are private security guards. They can have guns just like police officers, and they can simply keep them in the holster attached to their belt.

Tasers are not really used in Italy. I've never seen them. All guns you see on police officers and private security agents are real. Don't expect cops or private security to use them though. In 26 years I can only recall two times where our local cops had to shoot at something. And this only by reading the paper, never seen a cop pulling out a gun in my entire life. Private security will never do anything else than calling the Police when they notice something, they'll never get involved, their gun is only for their own protection, since they have to drive around and get out of the car to check industrial zones and so on at night when nobody is around.

edit: regarding vetting, I know for sure people working for private security agencies are background checked with the Police, have passed a professional course, etc... Incidents where these guards used their gun improperly are extremely rare. Also, you must apply for the weapon permit on your own, it's not that the security agencies provide you with everything just by applying for the job.

Ok that makes sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Then there are private security guards. They can have guns just like police officers, and they can simply keep them in the holster attached to their belt:

I like this :D

Eh, if you're not a guard and they issue a permit like those ones to you, it means your chances of getting shot in the face while walking down the street is much, much higher than a regular citizen, so it's not that cool. But at least you can *try* defend yourself.

Other than that yeah, you're pretty much free to own and use in a range whatever you want other than assault rifles and military stuff. It's highly monitored though, Police will frequently check with you. Ammo is also counted, registered, and there's a max amount you can have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Other than that yeah, you're pretty much free to own and use in a range whatever you want other than assault rifles and military stuff. It's highly monitored though, Police will frequently check with you. Ammo is also counted, registered, and there's a max amount you can have.

Sounds like its well policed, like Switzerland.. And I was kidding above, I'm a soldier so I understand how weapons work and in reality I wouldn't like to have a situation here in Ireland whereby civilians could conceal carry a sidearm.

After thirty years handling all sorts of guns & firing all sorts of ammo down range I no longer care to see or even handle another weapon.

But in a well policed state like Switzerland, or as you've described Italy I'd have no problem with it.

Sounds like its well policed, like Switzerland.. And I was kidding above, I'm a soldier so I understand how weapons work and in reality I wouldn't like to have a situation here in Ireland whereby civilians could conceal carry a sidearm.

After thirty years handling all sorts of guns & firing all sorts of ammo down range I no longer care to see or even handle another weapon.

But in a well policed state like Switzerland, or as you've described Italy I'd have no problem with it.

Yeah pretty much like Switzerland, but with less weapons per citizen, I saw a statistics once about Switzerland being first in Europe for number of weapons owned by civilians.

Luckily this hasn't ever been a security concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Private security with guns on the incontinent is also worth mentioning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

What :confused:

Shh, I ain't saying nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Had a gun pulled on me by an idiot security guard in a hotel lobby in Spain because I was pissed.

Nearly made me fcukin incontinent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

I'm of the (albeit biased) camp that the only people with access to sidearms should be the gardaí and defence forces.

That said I have no difficulty in seeing why civilians require standard rifles and shotguns for the use of dispatching vermin and the required kit for olympic shooters etc. Private security need better protection and powers in law imo; a sidearm is a massive responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Had a gun pulled on me by an idiot security guard in a hotel lobby in Spain because I was pissed.

Nearly made me fcukin incontinent.

Yep. Beats the crap out of Senokot!

Not meaning to go too far adrift. But, all this reminds me of Brian. Old mate of mine. He was in the SAS, back around the 50's / 60's. He told me how a few of the lads were out in Spain, one night (Pretty sure it was Spain?) Some cop's have turned up and started getting shirty.

Seems they're getting a bit excitable. Jabbering away in Spanish, when one of them unshoulders his machine gun and starts pointing it at them. That's when one of the SAS lads says; " Don't go pointing ye little gun at me, son. Else I'll take it away from ye. "

Brian's just thought; " :rolleyes: Oh, here we fcuking go. "

Still cracks me up, to this day, thinking of that. It's the mind set :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Maybe they were Carabinieri rather than private security.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

In Switzerland all males are obliged to serve* in the military for a set number of days before their 34th birthday. During their service time they will have their weapons at home when not active . After their service period they have the option to purchase the weapon. This contributes massively to the high gun ownership levels.

That said I've never seen any private security with guns here.

*Though plenty will be excluded from serving and have to pay or do 'social work' instead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Are you serious?
    Smash someone's cheek bones and eye sockets for nicking sugar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Id love Ireland to have compulsory army training for everybody. It might give some kids a much needed kid up the hole. And some of them might even make it a career out of it. In Austria it was a black mark against you for life if you never done the compulsory service. Employers would not even look at your cv if they saw you dodged it.