Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grand Piano...Free on Adverts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Few pianos, be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

It can be very expensive to get old piano's retuned after moving so probably won't work out "free" for whoever gets it.
    Also I'd say it might come with it's own wood worm convention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

My living room measures about 3 meters by 3 meters - anyone any idea if this will take up too much room?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

It's a wonder some donkey didn't ask for a swap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

It's a wonder some donkey didn't ask for a swap.

Swap ya for a harpsichord?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,573 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

It's more than a grand piano, it's a great piano.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Gearbox needs attention

Sold as seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

You'd want a very big living/music room for a piano like that. I think the poster on the advert who said give it to a charity is right. People there just see a free piano. Just looking at the condition the owner said it's in, you are probably looking at about 400e to get it right. Depending on the strings that are broken, bass strings can be very expensive because of their physical size.

I had a standard upright fixed up recently and it cost 340e to get it close to right and it still needs another tuning which costs about 80e. 400e is probably a conservative estimate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Ivory need of a piano.

The key to this situation is to strike the right chord with the seller and not jump in with both pedals and end on a bum note.
    It's as black and white as that.

Think I'll give them a tinkle.

Maybe a swap for some chopsticks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

CFlat wrote: »
    You'd want a very big living/music room for a piano like that. I think the poster on the advert who said give it to a charity is right. People there just see a free piano. Just looking at the condition the owner said it's in, you are probably looking at about 400e to get it right. Depending on the strings that are broken, bass strings can be very expensive because of their physical size.

I had a standard upright fixed up recently and it cost 340e to get it close to right and it still needs another tuning which costs about 80e. 400e is probably a conservative estimate.
    The person giving it away is playing it cool,and rightly so.
    Most of the beggars see it as a money making scheme or a piece of furniture.
    Not too many musicians there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Swap for 99 Honda Civic 1.4, white, few scrapes but nothin serious, lowered suspension, japspeed exhaust, 17" alloys and 4 new tyres, no nct but will fly through it. get back 2 me if ur interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,540 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I hear Diana Ross is interested.... she's a big fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I would pay good money to watch your average skinflint skip divers Laurel & Hardy style attempt to move and transport that thing

Put in ye're spoke lads before Biddy seals the deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

He moved into an apartment in Dublin? Is he American?

Looks like Biddy Connors got it.
    Ah well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

Grand piano boss,grand piano.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I would pay good money to watch your average skinflint skip divers Laurel & Hardy style attempt to move and transport that thing

How much we talking ?

Just don't get these guys to deliver it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

Not something I'd normally comment on, but christ the person who got it can't spell for sh*t.

Personally, I wouldn't agree to give it to someone without some pretty decent feedback either. Gonna be a lot of hassle getting that thing moved, you'd want a pretty safe bet that the person understands what they're entering into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,372 ✭✭✭893bet

1 day
    alice.connors.94
    Hi agen its alice here.siting on the edge of my seat waitinf on a reply.hope you choose to give it to us.would love to take piano and stool i think it would maby it only me but i think it would be a pitty to superate them.becouse somebody could love n charish them for anothere hundreth years..and i would love to give you a Signed copy of my book its called foke talks and pholsafriy. For i would like to give you somthing wonderfull back that you could also could love and charish and have room for it in your new life.thank you

Jesus

Dis parson rote a bok aparantly. I wu say dat it wud be wart boying her book to sea if it is a gud read and if she pruff read it. It's name is foke talks and pholsafriy.

Jesus.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 541 ✭✭✭poa

When my parents bought their house the previous owner left a piano. To begin with my mother quite liked it, but then my sister and I tortured here with our attempts of playing it. So it had to go. Not as simple as that as my father and I found it. It wouldn't fit through the patio doors for a start. So after we had cracked most of the tiles in the kitchen trying to move it we gave up. Back in the living room it went. So now my mother had a piano she didn't want, and a kitchen floor that was f.cuked. My father refused to cut a hole in the living room wall to get it out despite my mother's constant nagging. So my father took a sledgehammer to it and we built a bonfire in the garden and burned it. They are more trouble than they are worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Before everyone takes the p...the book was written as a result of an adult literacy group and should be taken that way. So fair play in that respect

It really all depends on your start point.

http://www.independent.ie/regionals/goreyguardian/news/tales-worth-believing-in-at-gorey-library-29370301.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

a grand piano in Finglas????

c'mon now someone's taking the p!ss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,372 ✭✭✭893bet

anewme wrote: »
    Before everyone takes the p...the book was written as a result of an adult literacy group and should be taken that way. So fair play in that respect

It really all depends on your start point.

http://www.independent.ie/regionals/goreyguardian/news/tales-worth-believing-in-at-gorey-library-29370301.html

fair play etc

But still WTF. She can't even spell the title of the book.

893bet wrote: »
    fair play etc

But still WTF. She can't even spell the title of the book.

Sometimes you just need to make allowances.

poa wrote: »
    When my parents bought their house the previous owner left a piano. To begin with my mother quite liked it, but then my sister and I tortured here with our attempts of playing it. So it had to go. Not as simple as that as my father and I found it. It wouldn't fit through the patio doors for a start. So after we had cracked most of the tiles in the kitchen trying to move it we gave up. Back in the living room it went. So now my mother had a piano she didn't want, and a kitchen floor that was f.cuked. My father refused to cut a hole in the living room wall to get it out despite my mother's constant nagging. So my father took a sledgehammer to it and we built a bonfire in the garden and burned it. They are more trouble than they are worth.
    I was kind of expecting the piano to reappear in the sitting room even after being sledgehammered and burned,like some sh1te piano horror film plot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Can I have this please OP, It is for a blind boy with no arms who needs it for his music lessons. Can you meet me halfway? Meet in Nenagh or Dooradoyle, Will it fit in the boot of a Morris Marina or will it have to go on top?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Lovely peanio, shame I missed it.

You'll have to improve your aim! :pac:

Oh I am the music man and I come from down your way
    And I can pl-ay
    What can you pl-ay?

Pea pea Peano peano peanio
    Pea pea peano pea peanio

It's been in my head for days since I saw the ad.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

Alice must be redecorating she is mad for sofas and cots and free stuff! Never realised there was so much free stuff on adverts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Just had a scan through her 283 comments on Adverts and the vast majority of them are requesting free sofas and the like. She pesters users offering freebies till they give up and give her what she wants! Must be a nice little business she's got going, get a free piano off Adverts and then flip it through Facebook groups for a few hundy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

foggy_lad wrote:
    Can I have this please OP, It is for a blind boy with no arms who needs it for his music lessons. Can you meet me halfway? Meet in Nenagh or Dooradoyle, Will it fit in the boot of a Morris Marina or will it have to go on top?

OK, but bollox to meeting you half way. You'll have to travel to my home in outer Somalia for collection. I'm sure you can get hold of a cheap flight. You may be ambushed and killed by somali pirates along the region on your journey, so bring a rifle. I know it seems a bit of effort but if you really care about the blind boy that much, you won't mind.

You can't get any more reasonable than this arrangement.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Just had a scan through her 283 comments on Adverts and the vast majority of them are requesting free sofas and the like. She pesters users offering freebies till they give up and give her what she wants! Must be a nice little business she's got going, get a free piano off Adverts and then flip it through Facebook groups for a few hundy.
    The person just wants rid of it with as little ease as possible, if someone else is gonna go to the effort of achieving that for you, sure who cares?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

poa wrote: »

How did the piano get IN to the house? The house wasn't built around the piano so if someone managed to get it into the house then there ought to be a straighforward way of getting it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

This person clearly has literacy issues. Sneering them is poor form.

HensVassal wrote: »
    How did the piano get IN to the house? The house wasn't built around the piano so if someone managed to get it into the house then there ought to be a straighforward way of getting it out.

I imagine closing it, taking the legs off and putting it vertical. Pianos are big but big L-shaped couches must be around the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

HensVassal wrote: »

Build the house around the Piano!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,993 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

I think the best reply if the do-gooder fool who suggested giving it to some group that gives instruments to kids who can't afford them.

If the kids families can't afford second hand instruments I seriously doubt they live in the type of house that can accommodate a flucking grand piano.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I think the best reply if the do-gooder fool who suggested giving it to some group that gives instruments to kids who can't afford them.

If the kids families can't afford second hand instruments I seriously doubt they live in the type of house that can accommodate a flucking grand piano.

Not really, the first do-gooder advised the OP check the history of those that replied quickest as they always look for the freebies that are going.

I would rather something like that goes to someone/place that will get more than just monetary value out of it.

Will have to keep an eye out for private ads selling peanios.

The person just wants rid of it with as little ease as possible, if someone else is gonna go to the effort of achieving that for you, sure who cares?

nah, the person giving it away was inundated with offers to take the piano. The person who secured it has an account where they've requested literally dozens of sofas and other living room items, I think its pretty obvious they're getting free stuff off Adverts just to sell it on. They're bottom feeders who have no intention of using the piano, they only want a quick buck.
    Course its up to the owner who he gives his piano to but anytime I've given free stuff away on Adverts I always filter out those just doing it to make a quick buck, would prefer see the item go to someone who genuinely needs it

nah, the person giving it away was inundated with offers to take the piano. The person who secured it has an account where they've requested literally dozens of sofas and other living room items, I think its pretty obvious they're getting free stuff off Adverts just to sell it on. They're bottom feeders who have no intention of using the piano, they only want a quick buck.
    Course its up to the owner who he gives his piano to but anytime I've given free stuff away on Adverts I always filter out those just doing it to make a quick buck, would prefer see the item go to someone who genuinely needs it
    I would imagine the person getting rid of it had the sense to look into people's profiles though; between the literacy levels (which, whatever way you want to look at it, don't seem to be on the level of someone with a house that can hold a grand piano), the pretty shameless insincere begging for it, and all of their other posts, they're bound to know what they're getting into.
    The one thing you can almost guarantee from someone messaging everyone under the sun who has a free sofa though is that they've got a trailer large enough to carry the thing. If you're paying for storage to keep the thing, and it's something that's pretty bloody hard to shift, I doubt you care too much where it's going to go really once it's off your lot asap.

Bottom feeder is also a bit harsh, making money out of other people's junk is pretty industrious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I would imagine the person getting rid of it had the sense to look into people's profiles though; between the literacy levels (which, whatever way you want to look at it, don't seem to be on the level of someone with a house that can hold a grand piano), the pretty shameless insincere begging for it, and all of their other posts, they're bound to know what they're getting into.
    The one thing you can almost guarantee from someone messaging everyone under the sun who has a free sofa though is that they've got a trailer large enough to carry the thing. If you're paying for storage to keep the thing, and it's something that's pretty bloody hard to shift, I doubt you care too much where it's going to go really once it's off your lot asap.

Bottom feeder is also a bit harsh, making money out of other people's junk is pretty industrious

Doesn't necessitate the possible lies in the comments though, also the possibility it was taken away from a charitable donation.

Yeah thats the other thing you've got to look out for on Adverts when giving away free stuff- I gave away two sofas a couple of years back for free and mistakenly invited the first person over to pick up without checking their feedback. He said he had a van and could take them immediately. Fast forward a few hours and I'm in my own home having a Mexican stand off with two travellers who only want to take one of the sofas. I wanted both gone together and they were insisting on only one because the second one was too big for him. I ran them in the end but it wasn't a nice experience. After that I've always checked the feedback for people requesting free stuff and there are a lot of dodgy characters, messers and time wasters out there.

Bottom feeding might be industious but its also has an air of dishonesty. At no point are they telling the donater they plan on selling your items for cash. I'd guess most people giving away free stuff that has a monetary value would prefer see it go to someone in need of the item than someone who doesn't need it and just want an easy buck. And if they knew it was for flipping for cash they'd likely pick someone else, I know I would.

For sure, I'd call them out on it but still wouldn't really care too much once I was getting rid of it. Honestly though, with a grand piano, my biggest concern beyond the trouble of getting rid of it at all, would be that I'd be landing a huge f*cking burden onto some idiot that didn't know what they were in for (you can see this in my first post on this thread before I looked through her comments). I mean, it's something that could have a lot of value to someone in particular but I'd imagine for the vast majority of people, no matter how nice it might seem initially, would just wind up with a gigantic burden they can't offload.
    Some chancer taking a gamble that they'll be able to get a couple hundred euro out of it would be ideal.
    razorblunt wrote: »
    Doesn't necessitate the possible lies in the comments though, also the possibility it was taken away from a charitable donation.
    Yeah, I'd take issue with the (probable) lies myself but was a charity willing to collect it?

Over here with the wide roads and footpaths, people leave all manner of **** on the side of the road and put an announcement on craigslist. There's a variety of charities that go around gathering things on certain evenings, you can tell them to head out your way if it's not on their usual route too but the general attitude is whoever comes by first gets the goods. It's pretty bloody great, there's some fantastic selection in charity shops and whatnot, but between the rain and narrower streets in towns is completely infeasible in Ireland frown.png