Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your most bullsh!t storyline from the books/show *BOOK READERS ONLY*

• 14-06-2016 11:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭

What plotline from the books/show left you scratching your head with bewilderment/wanting to become the author/producer yourself so you could make is better? Pick one for the books and one for the show. Here's mine.

Most bullsh!t storyline in the books
    When Drogo got an infection from a cut on his chest which ended up in his death. To me this is bullsh!t because before that, Drogo hadn't been defeated but had been in many fights and would've had many wounds and would understand the importance of treating them. He knows that the Dothraki follow strength over everything so it's ridiculous to me that a warrior of his stature wouldn't tend to wounds. Maybe I missed something from the books but that is how I remember it-he has a wound, refuses treatment, gets sick and etc etc It seemed like a cheap plot for Dany to get her dragon eggs into a big fire with a magic witch who turns the eggs into dragons.

Most bullsh!t storyling in the show
    The Arya/waif showdown. Arya got multiple deep stab wound in the abdomen. She manages to stumbles to the troupe lady who helped her. Even this is a stretch given the scope of Arya's injuries. The timeline in the show seems to be that she got stabbed, the same day when to troupe lady, got stitched up, took milk of the poppy and the next day woke up groggy but managed to pull her self out of bed, throw herself through a window, run miles, fall down stairs and still have the energy to fight the waif. Fair enough it was in the dark but if Arya had to train blind for awhile, then who's to say that the waif didn't train blind? The whole thing was an unbelievable mess and unless Arya is a cat with nine lives, there is no way she should've been the one putting a face in the House of Black and White.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Books: The whole Quentyn Martell arc. The outcome was probably designed to turn Dorne against Dany but it a was a long slog to get there.

Show: Dorne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Books: Euron and Victarion Greyjoy. When you're dying to find out how Jon or Tyrion are getting on up will crop several hundred pages about these glorified extras. Dorne feels like this too.

Show: Missandei and Grey Worm. Really the whole Merreen scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Dorne and ironborn, both in books and show. In the show the grey worm and missandei bit is dire in the extreme. He has no willy like, even if they hook up nothing can happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,455 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

I don't know about most bullsh*t storyline, but TV-show-wise the whole Tommen getting in bed with the High Sparrow bullsh*t really stretched the limits of believability for me.

The High Sparrow has Loris and Margaery Tyrell locked up, and has forced his mother to walk naked through the streets with people throwing gone off food at her, and fully intends on humiliating her further, or worse. I understand that Tommen is a bit of a bellend, and not the full shilling, but given that both Jamie and Cersei would have been in his ear about these fanatics. Doubtless the High Sparrow is a skilled manipulator but going up against the kids parents, it doesn't seem reasonable to believe he'd turn on Cersei that quickly. Tommen not looking at Cersei when he outlaws trial by combat - he knows what's going down.

The way it turns out on screen smacks of thoughtless/bad writing, and it's compounded by the showdown between Jamie, Mace/Olenna Tyrell and the High Sparrow on the steps. The Tyrells and Lannisters are going in to get the Queen and Loris out, and we're supposed to expect that Jamie (who not a few episodes later masterminds the surrender of Riverrun without a shot fired, so to speak) and Olenna didn't bother to check exactly where the King was at the time and ensure he's not at the temple?

Sure, lets threaten to attack the temple, while the King is inside and liable to be used as a hostage.

It's stupidity of the highest order, but the writers just expect us to sit back and go "OK, that's fine. It's all fine."

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

Iron Born in the books - if I ever re-read them, I'd skip all non-Theon chapters. The magic horn mcguffin could have been given to any house. Close second to Dorne, given the state of play at the of ADWD.

Show: the comedy vacuum that is Missandei and Grey Worm...along with Tyrion's peer pressure. In a show that only has 10 episodes per season and is already cutting vast swathes of book plot out, this feels like a pointless addition for the sake of very little light relief.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

The Dorne/IronIslands excursions are enjoyable enough on a second read imo, just that the first time round we wanted to know what was happening with the familiar characters and these newbies were an unwelcome diversion.
    Arianne Martells pov chapters in particular are very good.

Personally it was the travels of Bran/Hodor/Meera/Jojen that I always found unreadable, my hear would sink at the sight of another Bran chapter. (TV series has redeemed it somewhat though).

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

For me so many storylines starting in AFFC and continuing into ADWD felt so out of place or annoying I completely skipped them in favour of focusing on the storylines I enjoyed, Dorne, Ironborn, Sam on a boat, Bran and later the eastern stuff when Tyrion wasn't involved.. but I can imagine they are better on a re-read, to me they feel more like universe filler books

On TV simply Dorne, when you consider that one of the show's best characters Bronn is also involved and you still hate it you really realise how bad it truly is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Books: alot of Brienne in Riverlands was a slog

Show: alot of Sam and Gilly was a slog. I remember reading about how they could have done this much better as Sam knows so much history and Gilly knows feck all so could have been a good way for the show to explain about alot of background into houses or battles etc.
    Books: Euron and Victarion Greyjoy. When you're dying to find out how Jon or Tyrion are getting on up will crop several hundred pages about these glorified extras. Dorne feels like this too.

Have you read the new Aeron chapter from TWOW?! Euron is shaping up to be the most awesome character yet!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Books: struggled with a lot of the ironborn stuff but it did improve.
    Show: still hate what they did with Tyrion in season 4. Shae being a lover spurned and Jamie's revelation when Tyrion escapes being omitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

The Iron Islands: How do you make vikings boring? By spending chapter after chapter introducing unlikable characters and then having an election. Then setting them p for a very obvious fall "I'm gonna go over there and take her and her dragons" when you know that she's just gonna kill him and take his ships for her invasion.

Dorne. Not unlikable. Just borrrrring.

Sam and Gilly spending about 20 years getting to the citadel with a crying baby the whole effing time. Made me WISH for a Sansa chapter for God's sake!

Penny.... Just.... Just Penny

I suppose they were the bits I hated the most but regarding most bullsh!t storyline? I know many liked it but I just didn't (don't) get Lady Stoneheart. Always thought it as a bit too far and unrealistic (And yes, I do recognise the irony in that statement given there are ice-zombies, Dondarion and dragons etc)

Most bullsh!t storyline in the series? No effing John Connington!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

TV for me was Stannis getting cut down and Ser Barristan dying needlessly.

Books would be frog prince side quest, pointless waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

wp_rathead wrote: »

Have you read the new Aeron chapter from TWOW?! Euron is shaping up to be the most awesome character yet!

By awesome do you mean horrifying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

mewso wrote: »
    Books: struggled with a lot of the ironborn stuff but it did improve.
    Show: still hate what they did with Tyrion in season 4. Shae being a lover spurned and Jamie's revelation when Tyrion escapes being omitted.

I liked the Ironborn stuff once I got into it. It was a bit annoying in that I really wanted to get on with the main story but as soon as the characters got enough pages to like or hate them it was fine. Lady Stoneheart was my "ah here!" bit. Couldn't see how it would fit in and it meant that no character could die and stay dead which at that stage seemed to be a cheap trick. Yeah it turns out to be an important plot device (and weirdly character development device) but at the time I was calling it buls**t

That Tyrion rewrite annoyed me but not as much as the entire Arya storyline once she leaves Westeros, it better be better in the books or we have the winner of the buls**t storyline award right their. Arya goes to someplace and comes back exactly as she was when she left, no development, no new information, no contribution to the plot. Buls**t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

In the book, the emergence of "another" Targarean pretender to the throne (his name escapes me) and the whole arc where the Martells go undercover to meet and marry Dany.

In the show, ooh Dorne and big bad ass Areo, killed off just like that. Hate the whole Dorne arc, feels like the road to nowhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭ChampagnePop

Owryan wrote: »
    In the book, the emergence of "another" Targarean pretender to the throne (his name escapes me) and the whole arc where the Martells go undercover to meet and marry Dany.

In the show, ooh Dorne and big bad ass Areo, killed off just like that. Hate the whole Dorne arc, feels like the road to nowhere

How is the heir to the thrown a pretender? Raegars Son?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

How is the heir to the thrown a pretender? Raegars Son?

Well the throne is currently held by Tommen Baratheon/Lannister so legitimate or not he is the king of Westeros.

My understanding of being a "pretender" is someone who is claiming a crown or title held by someone else. That claim can be legitimate or false. Since Robert took the crown and his lineage has been regarded as the rightful heir then i would categorise the targarean claimants as pretenders. But thats just my understanding of the term pretender.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pretender

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,470 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Lesbian relationship between dany and yara on the way ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Book
    it wouldn't be without precedence...