Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any practical advice for our colleagues heading to the euros?

• 10-06-2016 7:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭

This isn't a sports thread so calm down with yer charters.

As you may know the "lads" will be heading to the euros and no doubt once again they will be the centre of attention over there. :rolleyes:

So lets try to be in the limelight for good reasons for once. My tips:

Sticking it to Enda & Merkel about your unemployment by desecrating our nations flag is embarrassing.

Leave the croatian breastfeeding to the college lads. No one wants to see the 30 somethings who've morphed back to looking like babies with round bald heads and round beer bellies do this.

Serenading the good looking female police officer with your gutteral hooligan chants has been done to death.

Don't throw your toys out of the pram when Roy Keane calls you a muppet for acting like a muppet. Follow keano's word for he is the gospel.

Any other advice for the "lads" AH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Lighten up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭mickrock

Score as many goals as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

Try not to spend all the Dole money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 log.lady

Stay away from the overly drunk bands of other countries' supporters so you don't end up in fights...I am sure we'll see some embarrassing brawls from the usual suspects but it shouldn't be us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Icaras

What goes on tour stays on tour....except gonorrhea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,231 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Dont ask for a french stick in the shops,they just call it...lé stick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,708 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Ignore begrudging internet posters and go enjoy themselves and have a laugh with out causing trouble like some other countries 'fans' can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Over there they call it a "Royale with Cheese"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Don't forget to have a bitta craic shure, bitta banter with the lads, unreal like, sound yeah.

Also, pubs will be crap as they don't do pubs, and most of the ones you will find will be awful Irish pubs with English fans fighting outside.

And learn a few simple French phrases, the locals will really appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,830 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Try not to embarrass us too much, it's not much to ask, but I expect to be disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

In case you get separated from your travelling companions, have a pre arranged code phrase that you can shout out in order to find eachother in a crowd. I suggest something like "ALLAHU AKBAR!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

So this is where all the uber cool gang hang out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Aw man it'll be savage like, literally get a few slabs in like, sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Wear sunscreen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Mint Aero wrote: »
    This isn't a sports thread so calm down with yer charters.

As you may know the "lads" will be heading to the euros and no doubt once again they will be the centre of attention over there. :rolleyes:

So lets try to be in the limelight for good reasons for once. My tips:

Sticking it to Enda & Merkel about your unemployment by desecrating our nations flag is embarrassing.

Leave the croatian breastfeeding to the college lads. No one wants to see the 30 somethings who've morphed back to looking like babies with round bald heads and round beer bellies do this.

Serenading the good looking female police officer with your gutteral hooligan chants has been done to death.

Don't throw your toys out of the pram when Roy Keane calls you a muppet for acting like a muppet. Follow keano's word for he is the gospel.

Any other advice for the "lads" AH?

TL;DR Don't have fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

wear dog tags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Have the bants and craic! Pints?! Savage!

Go on the ladzxzzxzzz.

*LOUD NOISES *

/team loses every match and bombs out of tournament in group stage

B. A. N. T. E. R.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

If you have a family, make sure you have a good life insurance policy before you leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭crusha101

Heading over on Tuesday, will take all your advice on board OP :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Epic slagging going on with Dave Fanning on Radio 1 at the moment.

Premium bantage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Dont be doing the mexican wave. Or the Ponzan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

please don't sing the Fields of Athenry ad nauseam

and the cringeworthy "you'll never beat the irish"

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Mint Aero wrote: »

Point of order, yer man who was licking the nipple was a skinny, young lad with a head of hair. And I applaud him for his actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Bring me back a present or there will be war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Swot up on a random Irish football team on Wikipedia before you go to avoid the confused, embarrassed silence that occurs when a supporter from England/Germany/Spain etc compliments your dazzling triclour outfit, asks you who you support, and you say Chelsea.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Bring baby wipes

or

Store your toilet paper in a freezer or cooler box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

fryup wrote: »
    ...and the cringeworthy "you'll never beat the irish"

Especially after the Italians have put 4 past us in the first half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

And please, please no 'shoes off for de boys in green'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

What do you suggest otherwise? Stay at home and type on our keyboards ad nauseam?

I can't wait to head over myself. I'll sing whatever I like. And take my shoes off if the mood takes me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

keith16 wrote: »
    What do you suggest otherwise? Stay at home and type on our keyboards ad nauseam?

I can't wait to head over myself. I'll sing whatever I like. And take my shoes off if the mood takes me.

Grand, hope it goes great for everyone going. Just a pity Ireland fans have such crap songs (same in rugby).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Nothing better then the Irish fans, the English ones cause fights... the Irish ones sing. Enjoy boys and bring some silverware back!

FionnK86 wrote: »
    Nothing better then the Irish fans, the English ones cause fights... the Irish ones sing. Enjoy boys and bring some silverware back!

It'll go well with the wooden spoon we brought back last time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Well done to all the good little boys who obeyed Mints thread. Aren't we the bestest best boys in Europe once again. Aren't England so bold and we're so well behaved and good little boys. Let's video ourselves bein good boys for YouTube so everyone can see how well behaved we are.