Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it illegal to cook a breakfast fresh / from scratch?

• 09-06-2016 10:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭

This thread might belong elsewhere as this a serious question.

I woke from a nap there a min ago, remembering with horror my most recent bought cafe sit-in breakfast. Beyond bad. Like, psycho bad, microwaved muck.

But it's been happening so often now, over the last ten years or so, everything microwaved, bar the eggs, that I wonder if its illegal to cook rashers etc from scratch?

Anyone know?

The last straw was that the most recent place, actually did something weird with the eggs, like as if they were cooked in a microwave or strange sort of steamer. shockingly bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Hardly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

no just lazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Dunno where you're getting yours mate but any dirty fry I've had out of a caff has been the b*llocks - a load of low to medium quality fried/hotplated pork and eggs, just as it should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

Stop eating in shítholes and you won't have to eat microwaved food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Try dining in finer establishments peasant.

Oh wait they won't let you in will they.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I thought this was going to be about killing your own pigs and harvesting some bacon

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

You have a fetish for microwaves don't you op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

PLL wrote: »
    Stop eating in shítholes and you won't have to eat microwaved food.
    Well it was a 10 euro brekkie from the posh enough spot...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Next time crap food is put in front of you, walk out and don't return.
    Simple.

Sheesh, you guys.

You wonderful, drunken sarcastic head-wrecking AH guys. Sigh. I loves ye.

ArtSmart wrote: »
    Well it was a 10 euro brekkie from the posh enough spot...

10e brekkie? Well laa di daaaa

Microwaved sausages are grand. Rest should be cooked fresh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Those pork sausages? For 10e id expect neigh demand that they be cooked from scratch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

You get five to seven years for it in some states.

bear1 wrote: »
    10e brekkie? Well laa di daaaa

I was hungover, it was the only place opened. I was weak is all.
    well yeah, I'll def concede that. But rashers are so very very rarely cooked from fresh. I've been to cafes length and breath or Ireland, same thing. Pre-cooked rashers, microwaved.

either others can't tell, or I'm very, very unlucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

get yourself a few free range duck eggs from down by the canal for breakfast.

ArtSmart wrote: »
    I was hungover, it was the only place opened. I was weak is all.

well yeah, I'll def concede that. But rashers are so very very rarely cooked from fresh. I've been to cafes length and breath or Ireland, same thing. Pre-cooked rashers, microwaved.

either others can't tell, or I'm very, very unlucky.

If you ever stop in loughrea (fcuk knows why you would) but there is a cafe on th main street next to a fairly big car park.
    Mcdonaghs I think its called.
    All fresh and much cheaper than 10e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 GipsyMoth

How are microwaved sausages nice?? Who does a thing like that? Wouldn't they be like coddle sausages all floppy and soft

Sausages need to be fried and browned , microwaved sausages .. jesus

Right, well I needed to share that with the world.

So it's not illegal. Grand. I wasn't sure if i should complain, as I genuinely thought there was some kind of health board or whatever restrictions.

so next time, they're gonna get a piece of my mind, or brain (for cooking)

GipsyMoth wrote: »
    How are microwaved sausages nice?? Who does a thing like that? Wouldn't they be like coddle sausages all floppy and soft

In a microwaved world, they're the least afront.

Try tomatoes, mushrooms, rashers, hash browns etc etc. And most recently, fooking eggs! Bah Humbug.

Nite all, bed calls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Shlippery

aw, I can't post gifs. (what a waste of time.)

Still, found plenty of deadly cafes in Dublin! A fry is a hard thing to perfect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Sausages need to be fried and browned redded

FYP.

Ketchup is red.

FYP.

Ketchup is red.

I was talking about the skin on the sausage but if you must go there brown sauce on a batch loaf and sausages is lovely and a great hangover cure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I was talking about the skin on the sausage but if you must go there brown sauce on a batch loaf and sausages is lovely and a great hangover cure

You shouldn't be able to see the skin!

Do you even ketchup?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Only if you don't wash your hands after scratching your hole.

Not your ornery onager

You shouldn't be able to see the skin!

Do you even ketchup?!

I like Pigs butts and I cannot lie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

absolutely. seriously don't try it. im serving time for it now, two years. im doing porridge. literally, im doing porridge because a cooked breakfast is now out of the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

:) Forgive me. Sheer bad luck that I just this moment finished my lovely, microwaved sausages! Seriously! Got some pig and apple ones in the fridge. Been playing on my mind ..... Whacked a couple in the microwave. Fcuking lovely!

I'd suggest it's the Quality of the food, to start with. Put a plastic tube of rusk in? What do ye expect out? No matter how ye cook it?

Manner matters. Bacon, in a micro? Fantastic ~ it ye use a proper bacon tray. Raised ridges across it. Don't ask me the science. But, the bacon's bloody lovely!

But, all of this and more can go to rat schit, the moment they bung it under one of those fcuking heat lamps, for an hour or more, before you roll in, rubbing ye hands and asking for a Full Irish :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

They must have used Can't Believe Its Not Eggs. I bet they were low cholesterol or some shite like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I can abide grilled sausages. But microwaved? Disgraceful philistines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

I can abide grilled sausages. But microwaved? Disgraceful philistines.

Nooooo!!! I must protest, sir! Grilled is good ~ probably even best? I haven't got a grill though :(

Fried? It even rhymes with " Suicide "!

But, a Really Good Quality sausage, properly microwaved ~ just a few minutes, each side. On a bed of kitchen roll, to absorb any excess juices? Fcuk, Yeah!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

sausages..mmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Stop eating in poxy Spar

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Nothing, and I mean NOTHING should be cooked in a microwave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Stigura wrote: »
    Nooooo!!! I must protest, sir! Grilled is good ~ probably even best? I haven't got a grill though :(

Fried? It even rhymes with " Suicide "!

But, a Really Good Quality sausage, properly microwaved ~ just a few minutes, each side. On a bed of kitchen roll, to absorb any excess juices? Fcuk, Yeah!!! :D

Off to the gulag with you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

The ****ing thought of it is nightmarish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

They dont cook them in a microwave.
    They cook them in some deep fat fryer in an industrial estate in ballyfermot (or similar) and ship them to the cafe (and hundreds of other cafes) who just heat them up in the microwave.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I was at a bagel place recently and seen they had a sausage and egg bagel, i decided to try it out.

Out comes a bag of whisked eggs, poured into a bit of round tupperware, a couple of sausages thrown in, banged in the microwave. A minute later I had a bagel.

The tupperware made the egg/sausage combo the shape of the bagel which I thought was a good idea.
    It tasted like a hikers sock though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,905 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

HensVassal wrote: »
    Exactly, tis a reheating tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Never a bad time to show this clip - microwaved food is the best food.

Production qualities are to die for.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

HensVassal wrote: »
    Winterlong wrote: »
    They dont cook them in a microwave.
    They cook them in some deep fat fryer in an industrial estate in ballyfermot (or similar) and ship them to the cafe (and hundreds of other cafes) who just heat them up in the microwave.

Thanks Winterlong, I really thought I was going to have to point out the fact that they are pre cooked and reheated.

Years ago when I worked in that area, it was generally the posh places that done that sort of thing. There was a great greasy spoon on Bath Ave. that cooked fresh in front of your eyes and was delicious (it has since sold up and become an expensive cafe which looks prettier but serves worse food). One just beside James Gate that done the same but it looked closed the last time I was there. The only other place I remembering cooking fresh in Dublin was a small cafe on Pearse St. across the road from the Dart station. You couldn't eat there but they would cook a fresh sausage sandwich and a cup of brewed coffee for about 3.50 takeaway, no idea if it is still there.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I was at a bagel place recently and seen they had a sausage and egg bagel, i decided to try it out.

Out comes a bag of whisked eggs, poured into a bit of round tupperware, a couple of sausages thrown in, banged in the microwave. A minute later I had a bagel.

The tupperware made the egg/sausage combo the shape of the bagel which I thought was a good idea.
    It tasted like a hikers sock though.
    That wasn't Munchies, was it?

I used to go for breakfast there, back when brunch hadn't been invented yet.

One day I noticed their method for making scrambled eggs... tossed into a cup and thence into the microwave. A pot noodle would have been more appetizing.