Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best tractor 100-120hp

• 08-06-2016 9:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭

Just wondering what lads find the best tractor is around the 100-120 hp range,we have a ford 7840 at the min but the gearbox is giving trouble,again,and it's time to get rid any recommendations for best replacement around d same hp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭cute geoge

110-90 or mf 5465 if you have the crispies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Mf310

New or secondhand? Budget?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭jocksie

Secondhand hoping to get 8-10k for the 7840 and I suppose the budget would be anything from 25k down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

A mf 398, you just can't go wrong with them. Simple but serious tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Miname wrote: »
    I think I know someone with one for sale, in need of a wash though😄

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

jimmy G M wrote: »
    I think I know someone with one for sale, in need of a wash though😄

I might know one too, I doubt it would need a wash if it's the same lad your on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,582 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I might know one too, I doubt it would need a wash if it's the same lad your on about.

Funny bastards ain't ye :rolleyes: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

Is the 398 a 390T, with the back end of a 399?
    The 300 series are great machines in fairness, however getting old now the last ones left the factory 19 years ago! They hold their value very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Cuban

390, 390T 398!!! jezz these machines are ancient now, many of them are still going well but many are starting to give plenty trouble too. I seen a lad pay stupid money for 1995, it looked a great tractor but after 3 years it looks ****e and gone pure rough too. they are simply too expensive and overrated.
    With your budget you should be able to pick up a tractor sub 4k hours and less than 10 years old. After that its more about the condition of the tractor rather than the brand as in fairness theres no bad make of modern tractor.

Is the 398 a 390T, with the back end of a 399?
    The 300 series are great machines in fairness, however getting old now the last ones left the factory 19 years ago! They hold their value very well.

Yeah the 398 has the back end and front axle off the 399. Has the cab of the 390T but if a machine is minded and not bulled around the place any machine will survive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,265 ✭✭✭davidk1394

New Holland Ts 100 up to a 115. Good tractor with good pulling power and nice and comfortable or maybe a Case cs110 is a superb machine

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 136 ✭✭Jaysus Christ

John Deere 6410 with a good loader.

Don't know how anyone could drive any of those 40 series fords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭jocksie

Anything to be said for a 7840

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Were the mf 399 a good tractor? Nice purr off the 6 cylinder

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

I will never understand the hard on people get with certain makes of tractors, four wheels and an engine just work them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,824 ✭✭✭White Clover

Muckit wrote: »
    Were the mf 399 a good tractor? Nice purr off the 6 cylinder

They're a good tractor. Not the most comfortable place to spend a day though. The earlier ones with the 6354 perkins were harder to start.

I'll second that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Would they not be more comfortable than the other 300series tractors because of the longer wheelbase?

Muckit wrote: »
    Would they not be more comfortable than the other 300series tractors because of the longer wheelbase?

Its more the seat and gear lever position in my case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

why would a lad what to go from a 7840 to a 390/398/399

For 25K you will be able to buy a fresh 10 year old tractor , not a 20 year old one

I bought a 2006 mccormick cx105 with MX loader with 3200hours for €21,000

You have to have money in place and watch like a hawk and be ready to travel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,299 ✭✭✭orm0nd

why would a lad what to go from a 7840 to a 390/398/399

For 25K you will be able to buy a fresh 10 year old tractor , not a 20 year old one

I bought a 2006 mccormick cx105 with MX loader with 3200hours for €21,000

You have to have money in place and watch like a hawk and be ready to travel

and move fast,
    Spotted a nice tidy case with a loader, sold in 48 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

orm0nd wrote: »
    and move fast,
    Spotted a nice tidy case with a loader, sold in 48 hours

Yes move fast. you would want to be on donedeal every 3 hours to keep an eye on it