Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

history.google.com

• 06-06-2016 3:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭

Just found out that Google tracks where you've been over the past couple of years and you can see every place you've been over that time on history.google.com.

Likewise every bit of talking to your phone (like when you search) is saved to this. All this information together with YouTube history and searches etc.

That's pretty amazing. It does seem that everything we do is being recorder digitally in some way and it's remarkably easy to build a profile of someone from all this information.

Actually a lot of the places It says i visited, I've never been to. They're just in the same area. So it's not even proper information. It's like the Google version of me.

Just wondering what ye think about technology going this way. Stuff like Amazon Echo, Facebook, Siri are similar in the way they're going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Just found out that Google tracks

Seriously... you just found this out?

Once the option to disable such tracking and sharing is available then it's fine with me.
    I has this all disabled due to privacy concerns. None of Goggles business where I go and what I do.

Google already has that info either way. Disabling it just means that the info won't be used for targeted ads or shared with other Google services

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Just wondering what ye think about technology going this way. Stuff like Amazon Echo, Facebook, Siri are similar in the way they're going.

Technology has been going this way for some time now. I worked with a company who did a trial with one of the big US mobile operators. Through monitoring usage patterns of people and their phones, they could successfully predict when someone was going to be sick. That was 5/6 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Facebook also reading messages to determine what ad's to show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭FluffyAngel

All i do is visit the jacks,i always think of google at that time..

Privacy me ass..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭lc180

Can you imagine doing an interview at Google and the HR representative says to you

"We think you are a great candidate but if you wouldn't mind answering one more question, last July 7th you goggled 'Danger **** at work'.... can you explain that?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I have it enabled because I intend to leave my phone at home before carrying out a bank robbery. Perfect alibi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yeah, I have that stuff disabled for years.
    Might not stop them from spying on me anyway, but at least I didn't consent.

mightyreds wrote: »
    Facebook also reading messages to determine what ad's to show

There was a scary case I heard of a while back, where a woman had been discussing a new pair of shoes with a friend once. She hadn't searched for these particular shoes before online or had mentioned them on any device. Suddenly she started to receive ads on Facebook about this particular brand of shoes. She didn't have Facebook installed on her phone, but she did have Whatsapp. Chances are that Whatsapp had turned on her microphone and had listened in on it.

If you have Cyanogenmod installed on your Android phone, it has a feature called Privacy Guard, which grants you the ability to monitor/force apps to request access to/block all access to certain things like location, microphone, and camera, to name but a few. It also takes account of how many times an app might have requested these.

Once checking, I was shocked to realize that a specific app, can't remember which, had been granted access to the mic on my phone without my blocking it. Said app had no need for the mic. I've no idea why it was listening and what it was listening for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'm amazed that this is news to people.

Like lots of others I've disabled this yonks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

*rapidly races to delete all traces of tammys whorehouse off location history*

Precisely why I do all my porn viewing in incognito mode.

Not that I watch porn.

*cough*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If you're in US and worried about your privacy
    Facebook says that its app does listen to what’s happening around it, but only as a way of seeing what people are listening to or watching and suggesting that they post about it.

Facebook using people’s phones to listen in on what they’re saying, claims professor

At the moment, the feature is only available in the US.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/technology/facebook-using-peoples-phones-to-listen-in-on-what-theyre-saying-claims-professor-34761450.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 bandwagonesque

Incognito mode isn't the cloak of invisibility people think it is. If someone wants your info, they can get it.

I love how people go on about privacy when it comes to google yet they're always posting stuff on Facebook.

Google offer great services for access to my info. I'm good with that because they do services better than anyone.

The 'you are the product' is rubbish too. It's an oversimplification of a broader set up. The product is google's ad network, which is used to target ads to me for info I allow Google to gather.

How many hidden trackers on boards? About 12 on this page alone.

I love when I book a flight, Google scans that email and its auto added to calendar with flight details. I've recently found Google photos to be by far the best solution for backing up and searching through photos.

Amazon, Apple, Microsoft are all tracking and gathering info about you. At least with Google, you get something back.

If you're concerned about privacy, set up your own mail server and browse only using Tor. Don't use Apple/Google maps, search etc because otherwise you're wasting your time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

If you are a naughty person the Gardai will do the same.
    So will the Yanks. So will Mosad .And anyone who thinks you are a threat.
    So will Boards if you cause a nuisance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

lc180 wrote: »
    Can you imagine doing an interview at Google and the HR representative says to you

"We think you are a great candidate but if you wouldn't mind answering one more question, last July 7th you goggled 'Danger **** at work'.... can you explain that?"
    Imagine just getting a job offer from Google based solely on all the data they collect from you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Companies have been doing it for years. Loyalty cards are just another tracking system and they have it so good that some know about pregnancies by what you purchase.

Even disabling it on Google or Apple doesn't matter as the phone company has to keep your phone records and your car is tracked by the registration plate.

I enjoy some of the random stuff it sticks up and unless it's intentionally dumbed down it's no idea when I'm in work, which after all the years I've had Android it should know by now and it still doesn't know what route I take to work.